SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2694 (Wrap top)

106 more reviews
Viewed 721 times 
Reviewed by:homejewel
photo

 
 
About homejewelstar
OR USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/10 9:28 PM
Last Updated:5/2/10 9:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Your dress turned out really well-thanks for the tips!
11/23/10 10:17 AM
GinormicaMG said...
Loved your feedback on this pattern; at 6'3" I have to lenghten everything I make. I especially love when I can quickly whip up an incredible outfit for next to nothing. Great Job!
7/9/10 12:17 PM
Steffani said...
beautiful!!!! Talk about a great dress, especially for 4 dollars!
5/9/10 10:58 PM
nicegirl said...
Excellent modification! This is very flattering on you.
5/4/10 9:48 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Oooh, la-la! What a lovely dress!! And economical, too. I love how you altered this pattern. I have been dying to make this (its on a long list) and now you have shown me even more possibilities. Thanks for all the tips and the great review!
5/4/10 3:12 PM
Terri Smith said...
Thanks for the tips, and your dress looks great.
5/3/10 8:58 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely dress, you got the skirt fullness just right.
5/3/10 7:50 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That dress is so good looking. I am really happy that I have this pattern in the stash already or I would have to hit the buy button after seeing your version.
5/3/10 6:22 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks amazing!
5/3/10 5:22 PM
homejewel said...
Wow - thanks everybody for the kind comments. You all are great cheerleaders :) I have had this pattern on my wishlist ever since I saw HeidiHo's dress version of this pattern. She deserves all the credit. I hope to see others try this easy modification - it is so gratifying to have something made that fits nicely in such a short period of time!
5/3/10 3:34 PM
KatiCo said...
Agree with Elsew, an extremely helpful rating would be right. I learned a lot and really appreciated your tips on the different tapes. The dress looks great on you, and looks both and casual--very versatile and rtw professionally finished. If your daughter doesn't make jewelry, I live in Salem and can help fix the necklace if you're in the area. (I read your comment on the weather on the jacket review--it's even windier today and feels and looks more like fall than spring. Hard to dress for this.)
5/3/10 2:45 PM
bconky said...
Cute dress, I sew for my 5' 10" daughter so know all about adding lots of length.
5/3/10 11:39 AM
21wale said...
Lovely! It suits you well.
5/3/10 10:53 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Very cute! I love the choice of fabric as well.
5/3/10 10:50 AM
marec said...
Nice dress!!
5/3/10 10:03 AM
elsew said...
There should be another category EXTREMELY Helpful in the review rating.....as this one would surely qualify. Gleaned much information and inspiration from this review. Thanks so much for the tips about the fusible tape (especially with the cover stitch!) What a beautiful example of your creativity - turning a top into a dress. Excellent !
5/3/10 8:56 AM
Paris75008 said...
What a lovely dress and a very helpful review. Great idea to convert a knit top pattern into a dress.
5/3/10 8:55 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful dress! It fits you perfectly and the fabric is great, too. Thanks for the photos of the fuse tape. I have read about it but had never seen it in action. Great dress! Love the necklace, too! Talent runs in your family.
5/3/10 6:40 AM
1SewSweet said...
Adorable dress! I really like the pattern on the fabric a lot! Great job on transforming the top to a dress...it was so worth any extra effort!!!
5/3/10 6:10 AM
Mushywear said...
Very nicely fitted. Love the print!
5/3/10 4:32 AM
Barbara V said...
Love your dress...the color and horizontal pattern look great on you!
5/3/10 0:19 AM
busymomof3 said...
This looks great!!! Great review too!
5/3/10 0:08 AM
Aroura said...
WOW! I love this dress on you, and the fabric choice is bold and beautiful. You did wonderfully modifying this top into a dress, it looks fantastic!
5/2/10 11:07 PM
TallBean said...
love your new dress! The fabric you chose is beautiful! That's pretty funny about your son lassoing things with your jewelry...what a 'boy' thing to do!
5/2/10 10:52 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I LOVE IT!!! I guess I would ha ha. I think I need a sleeveless one in my collection too. I love that fabric too and the fit is perfect!!
5/2/10 10:49 PM
Mazzygirl said...
that's a lovely dress, not to mention lovely fabric! fits very nicely.
5/2/10 10:17 PM
lynne1nor said...
That looks totally fabulous! What a nice job on the dress!
5/2/10 10:08 PM
Christas said...
Very cute dress! Nice review!
5/2/10 10:04 PM
cindysewsaz said...
So very pretty and looks great on you!
5/2/10 10:03 PM
addicted2fabric said...
What a great idea to change the top into a dress, the result looks very rtw. I love your fabric choice too.
5/2/10 9:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9384

photo
by: aileeoops

Review