SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1181 (Misses' Caftan)

3 more reviews
Viewed 818 times 
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo

 
 
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/10 5:33 PM
Last Updated:5/5/10 5:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maia B said...
Helpful review. Gotta say that this is no original design. It's a bisht abaya, a standard Arabian peninsula garment. $30 seems steep for just the pattern, IMO.
6/6/12 2:07 AM
Aliyah said...
Thank you reviewing this pattern, even though it didn't end up as you'd hoped! At least you can make the fabric into something else. To make this caftan elegant the fabric must be supple, lightweight and flowy. But the key to making this elegant: the length must be LONG! Should be worn with super-high heels, stunning bracelet and chandelier earrings and elegant clutch. Elegant up-do or long, long hair. A long voluminous caftan such as this must be worn with caution - don't walk/stand/turn too quickly!
2/13/11 2:10 AM
Leezway said...
With your comment about liking to make "arty" garments, I had to see your photo gallery. You have a terrific sense of style! Obviously, you have a pretty good sense of humor, too. Thanks for an honest review!
2/3/11 9:21 AM
Therisa said...
I read your review with interest, and really believe it was helpful, to know what sort of fabric to use or not to use. I'm a caftan-wearing human being, so I'm working on interpreting this pattern myself.
6/7/10 10:17 PM
Annika said...
Man, that is one helluva good lookin' martini! Bravo on the review - this pattern's results would be best attached to ropes and a basket, filled with hot air and rented out to people wanting hot air balloon rides.
6/7/10 12:44 PM
AnneM said...
I love it! The picture background and the martini, that is. 6 yards of 60" fabric is way too much to devote to this garment. Your great pose almost makes it looks good. But yeah, I think you are better off moving on. If you have 6 yards of silk jersey you don't mind wasting, maybe it's worth trying again. (Love Skymom's description - summer snuggy.)
6/6/10 7:52 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Thanks for showing us this gem of a garment! Your review is a perfect example of the importance of fabric selection. The fabric used on the model garment looks like charmeuse, which is extremely drapey. Looks like that's what the pattern requires - draping to the max. I appreciate your taking a risk for the rest of us!
5/23/10 10:21 AM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you so much--at least we got to read your fabulously funny review!!
5/8/10 8:45 AM
DorothyK said...
LOL. Great review. You win a few - you lose a few. It may have been a losing project, but it's a winning review. Thank you for taking the time to do it.
5/7/10 12:28 PM
carolynw said...
I so love you for reviewing this - just knocked it off my "must do" list. Well the plus side is the pieces are so large you can probably re-cut to something you feel happier in. Love the photo and the props and love - love your attitude.
5/6/10 9:39 PM
JillyBe said...
You absotively get major props for the pic and the review!!! And thank for the warning about drinking coffee b/4 looking at the pic ;D. Now, go make a muslin using that material, have another martini, and make a great looking caftan out of something floaty & exotic...... (not necessarily in that order....)
5/6/10 8:19 PM
MissCelie said...
LOL. I am breathless. Thank you for a fabulous review.
5/6/10 4:00 PM
Jeannine1976 said...
LOL Awesome. The martini really makes the outfit. And on the plus side, it must be very comfortable...
5/6/10 11:24 AM
mastdenman said...
Thanks for the review. I actually looked at that pattern and wondered what having a vintage style caftan would be like. Hmmm. Not so good, I guess.
5/6/10 9:59 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Well Adell....I've never had luck with RRucci designs..I think he hates women ;) ..and at 4'11" tall, I don't think this design is for me. But props to you for wearing it !!!!
5/6/10 7:56 AM
no7262 said...
I think if you change the fabric you'll have a really nice flowy feel good dress. Nora :)
5/6/10 7:16 AM
Athene said...
Thank youf for posting. I had to buy this pattern when it first came out and I have faith that in some very floaty sheer chiffon over a slim silk slip it can look great. But I have yet to actually make it. The drapey jersey is also a great suggestion. Always love your reviews and a great picture
5/6/10 6:44 AM
Ann Smith said...
This is so hysterical. What a great photo! I agree with Skymom....its the summer Snuggy. Perhaps the gauze or chiffon that others suggest could work but you are right to abandon this amazing garment.
5/6/10 2:33 AM
Sandi S said...
I like the picture - even if the garment didn't turn out to be what you'd hoped.
5/6/10 0:37 AM
sfshaza said...
Wow.... yeah, um... wow. Thanks so much for reviewing this, Auntie Allyn! Your devil-may-care pose reminds me of the Statue of Liberty... "Give us your notions, your fabric, your puzzling patterns, yearning to be made..." If you can't make this pattern work, I don't think anyone can, because you always look great in your creations!!! :)
5/5/10 11:33 PM
1SewSweet said...
Great review of this pattern and I agree with Mollyshark, on the bright side...you have enough fabric to make a cool summer vacation outfit fit for Hawaii!!
5/5/10 9:07 PM
Skymom said...
Maybe you can start a new trend, with this spring/summer version of the Snuggy! I can see exactly the effect you were hoping to achieve, though, and it would be wonderful to lounge in yards of silk charmeuse--sorry it didn't work out for you. I agree with others--recycle the fabric into something more tailored, and find a fabulous peacock-print chiffon for your next go-round with Ralph Rucci.
5/5/10 8:40 PM
marec said...
oh, what can I say? That is just so much fabric that I worry about you tripping over it after drinking your martini. Your red caftan was gorgeous and I salute you for trying this one.
5/5/10 7:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for an interesting review; I'm sorry the result was disappointing. If you want to make caftans, there are other current patterns in the Butterick and McCalls catalogues, and lots of vintage patterns available from eBay, Etsy, Lanetz Living and other secondhand sources.
5/5/10 6:27 PM
poplin said...
Maybe it's just me... but honestly, I think you looked great in your caftan, especially since you're wearing it at a beach and holding a drink. It just looks so appropriate.

But I'll have to agree with you on your fabric choice.

When I spent a month in Hawaii doing whatever came to fancy, I spent a lot of time at very quiet beaches. I saw local women (not many, mind you) wearing caftans in wovens that looked to be very gauzy. It flowed with the wind. I thought they looked very elegant and yet comfortable. The fabric indeed covered the entire body, but when the wind blew, the woman's curves were defined. And I thought it looked sexy in a very subtle way.

I don't understand why Vogue decided to use satin for their cover shoot. It just looks like satin bedsheets were used for the project. Where's the sexy in that? The model looks like she's headed to church choir.
5/5/10 6:22 PM
dfr2010 said...
You get props for actually posting the pic ... that is a LOT of fabric, and can certainly be repurposed into something more appropriate for that particular fabric? Very nice accessorizing though. ;-)
5/5/10 6:06 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
Well, at least the pieces in this garment are big enough that you could still recut it to make another pattern more appropriate for your fabric, which is lovely in its own right. I agree this pattern would be nice in a drapey jersey or even a sheer! Vavoom!
5/5/10 6:03 PM
kittykate said...
I LOVE that you reviewed this garment. I saw somewhere else on PR that it was referred to as a "stashbuster" and I see that, 6 yrds of 60! The martini, and exotic location certain give it the best treatment for photos, but I'm sad to say, the tentmaker might be calling you competition!!!! Definitely great advice on the fabric choice. The pattern photo makes it look great with the shiny satin, but a 1970's jersey is going to be the best choice. Again, thank you for being brave and posting this!
5/5/10 6:01 PM
mollyshark said...
The plus of this project is you have SO much fabric here, you can easily recut it into something else! See..the silver lining.
5/5/10 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 140907-1003

photo
by: Sharon1952

Review