Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1181 (Misses' Caftan) - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 816 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/10 5:33 PM
Last Updated:5/5/10 5:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
The plus of this project is you have SO much fabric here, you can easily recut it into something else! See..the silver lining.
5/5/10 5:57 PM
kittykate said...
I LOVE that you reviewed this garment. I saw somewhere else on PR that it was referred to as a "stashbuster" and I see that, 6 yrds of 60! The martini, and exotic location certain give it the best treatment for photos, but I'm sad to say, the tentmaker might be calling you competition!!!! Definitely great advice on the fabric choice. The pattern photo makes it look great with the shiny satin, but a 1970's jersey is going to be the best choice. Again, thank you for being brave and posting this!
5/5/10 6:01 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
Well, at least the pieces in this garment are big enough that you could still recut it to make another pattern more appropriate for your fabric, which is lovely in its own right. I agree this pattern would be nice in a drapey jersey or even a sheer! Vavoom!
5/5/10 6:03 PM
dfr2010 said...
You get props for actually posting the pic ... that is a LOT of fabric, and can certainly be repurposed into something more appropriate for that particular fabric? Very nice accessorizing though. ;-)
5/5/10 6:06 PM
poplin said...
Maybe it's just me... but honestly, I think you looked great in your caftan, especially since you're wearing it at a beach and holding a drink. It just looks so appropriate.

But I'll have to agree with you on your fabric choice.

When I spent a month in Hawaii doing whatever came to fancy, I spent a lot of time at very quiet beaches. I saw local women (not many, mind you) wearing caftans in wovens that looked to be very gauzy. It flowed with the wind. I thought they looked very elegant and yet comfortable. The fabric indeed covered the entire body, but when the wind blew, the woman's curves were defined. And I thought it looked sexy in a very subtle way.

I don't understand why Vogue decided to use satin for their cover shoot. It just looks like satin bedsheets were used for the project. Where's the sexy in that? The model looks like she's headed to church choir.
5/5/10 6:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for an interesting review; I'm sorry the result was disappointing. If you want to make caftans, there are other current patterns in the Butterick and McCalls catalogues, and lots of vintage patterns available from eBay, Etsy, Lanetz Living and other secondhand sources.
5/5/10 6:27 PM
marec said...
oh, what can I say? That is just so much fabric that I worry about you tripping over it after drinking your martini. Your red caftan was gorgeous and I salute you for trying this one.
5/5/10 7:02 PM
Skymom said...
Maybe you can start a new trend, with this spring/summer version of the Snuggy! I can see exactly the effect you were hoping to achieve, though, and it would be wonderful to lounge in yards of silk charmeuse--sorry it didn't work out for you. I agree with others--recycle the fabric into something more tailored, and find a fabulous peacock-print chiffon for your next go-round with Ralph Rucci.
5/5/10 8:40 PM
1SewSweet said...
Great review of this pattern and I agree with Mollyshark, on the bright side...you have enough fabric to make a cool summer vacation outfit fit for Hawaii!!
5/5/10 9:07 PM
sfshaza said...
Wow.... yeah, um... wow. Thanks so much for reviewing this, Auntie Allyn! Your devil-may-care pose reminds me of the Statue of Liberty... "Give us your notions, your fabric, your puzzling patterns, yearning to be made..." If you can't make this pattern work, I don't think anyone can, because you always look great in your creations!!! :)
5/5/10 11:33 PM
Sandi S said...
I like the picture - even if the garment didn't turn out to be what you'd hoped.
5/6/10 0:37 AM
Ann Smith said...
This is so hysterical. What a great photo! I agree with Skymom....its the summer Snuggy. Perhaps the gauze or chiffon that others suggest could work but you are right to abandon this amazing garment.
5/6/10 2:33 AM
Athene said...
Thank youf for posting. I had to buy this pattern when it first came out and I have faith that in some very floaty sheer chiffon over a slim silk slip it can look great. But I have yet to actually make it. The drapey jersey is also a great suggestion. Always love your reviews and a great picture
5/6/10 6:44 AM
no7262 said...
I think if you change the fabric you'll have a really nice flowy feel good dress. Nora :)
5/6/10 7:16 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Well Adell....I've never had luck with RRucci designs..I think he hates women ;) ..and at 4'11" tall, I don't think this design is for me. But props to you for wearing it !!!!
5/6/10 7:56 AM
mastdenman said...
Thanks for the review. I actually looked at that pattern and wondered what having a vintage style caftan would be like. Hmmm. Not so good, I guess.
5/6/10 9:59 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
LOL Awesome. The martini really makes the outfit. And on the plus side, it must be very comfortable...
5/6/10 11:24 AM
MissCelie said...
LOL. I am breathless. Thank you for a fabulous review.
5/6/10 4:00 PM
JillyBe said...
You absotively get major props for the pic and the review!!! And thank for the warning about drinking coffee b/4 looking at the pic ;D. Now, go make a muslin using that material, have another martini, and make a great looking caftan out of something floaty & exotic...... (not necessarily in that order....)
5/6/10 8:19 PM
carolynw said...
I so love you for reviewing this - just knocked it off my "must do" list. Well the plus side is the pieces are so large you can probably re-cut to something you feel happier in. Love the photo and the props and love - love your attitude.
5/6/10 9:39 PM
DorothyK said...
LOL. Great review. You win a few - you lose a few. It may have been a losing project, but it's a winning review. Thank you for taking the time to do it.
5/7/10 12:28 PM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you so much--at least we got to read your fabulously funny review!!
5/8/10 8:45 AM
whistlin dixie said...
Thanks for showing us this gem of a garment! Your review is a perfect example of the importance of fabric selection. The fabric used on the model garment looks like charmeuse, which is extremely drapey. Looks like that's what the pattern requires - draping to the max. I appreciate your taking a risk for the rest of us!
5/23/10 10:21 AM
AnneM said...
I love it! The picture background and the martini, that is. 6 yards of 60" fabric is way too much to devote to this garment. Your great pose almost makes it looks good. But yeah, I think you are better off moving on. If you have 6 yards of silk jersey you don't mind wasting, maybe it's worth trying again. (Love Skymom's description - summer snuggy.)
6/6/10 7:52 PM
Annika said...
Man, that is one helluva good lookin' martini! Bravo on the review - this pattern's results would be best attached to ropes and a basket, filled with hot air and rented out to people wanting hot air balloon rides.
6/7/10 12:44 PM
Therisa said...
I read your review with interest, and really believe it was helpful, to know what sort of fabric to use or not to use. I'm a caftan-wearing human being, so I'm working on interpreting this pattern myself.
6/7/10 10:17 PM
Leezway said...
With your comment about liking to make "arty" garments, I had to see your photo gallery. You have a terrific sense of style! Obviously, you have a pretty good sense of humor, too. Thanks for an honest review!
2/3/11 9:21 AM
Aliyah said...
Thank you reviewing this pattern, even though it didn't end up as you'd hoped! At least you can make the fabric into something else. To make this caftan elegant the fabric must be supple, lightweight and flowy. But the key to making this elegant: the length must be LONG! Should be worn with super-high heels, stunning bracelet and chandelier earrings and elegant clutch. Elegant up-do or long, long hair. A long voluminous caftan such as this must be worn with caution - don't walk/stand/turn too quickly!
2/13/11 2:10 AM
Maia B said...
Helpful review. Gotta say that this is no original design. It's a bisht abaya, a standard Arabian peninsula garment. $30 seems steep for just the pattern, IMO.
6/6/12 2:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Decades of Style 4002
photo
Review by Tea and Cr... on 9/20/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Deer&Doe Veste Pavot Veste Pavot
photo
Review by punkmik on 3/5/13
Read Review

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us