SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2589 (Misses Tudor Costume)

10 more reviews
Viewed 389 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/10 11:13 AM
Last Updated:5/7/10 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/6/10 3:14 PM
Maggiedoll said...
Looks great! I actually did do the cartridge pleating the way the pattern instructs, and it wasn't nearly as bad as you make it sound. They're meant to be fairly large pleats, and the gingham is partly to make the stitches even and partly as a finish and to make the pleats have more substance. Attaching only the tops of the pleats to the bodice is what makes it spring out so much, so you're also taking about a relatively small amount of hand sewing compared to the amount of fabric that you're attaching. It definitely didn't take me all day.
5/6/10 3:53 PM
timetravelcostumes said...
maggiedoll, I'd love to see photos or construction details on how you did the cartridge pleats! Perhaps I misunderstood the intent on them, since it sounds like you had success with it.
5/6/10 5:14 PM
heapha said...
with there elizabethan I found that i had to hand sew skirt and bodice as the materials were too think to put through a machine, I went through no less than 3 leather strength needles to get through the tapistry, cavas and cotton before giving up and doing a bodgy hand stitch to join them - however they still are attached and the hand stitching was very fast (took about 10 minutes all up)
5/6/10 8:43 PM
MCBurbage said...
I don't think you can cartridge pleat by machine, and I think you'll find that most of the very full skirted gowns through history have the skirts cartridge pleated to either a waistband or a bodice. Did you make the Simplicity undergarments that go with this? If so, how did the neck edges line up? I've had trouble with their gown neck edges being wider than their stays neck edges in the past and wondered how you found this gown to be.
5/7/10 5:25 AM
timetravelcostumes said...
MCBurbage, I didn't make the underpinnings for this gown because the gal I made it for already had her underpinnings. I would like to make them, however, for my own Tudor gown that I made from this pattern. I'm glad you warned me about the necklin fit! I did have that problem with the Simplicity Civil War chemise, so I guess it's not surprising. I wonder if the fact that I shortened the shoulder straps will help?
5/7/10 10:24 AM
JEF said...
This is so impressive and beautiful. Can someone define cartridge pleating for me?
5/7/10 10:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Simplicity 2151

photo
by: beginagain

Review