SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8659 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Tunic,)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1033 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/10 9:19 PM
Last Updated:5/7/10 9:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LSG said...
Very creative - especially the neckline - I wouldn't have thought of it! Thanks for the inspiration.
8/16/11 11:52 AM
carnelian said...
The thing I like best about this pattern is the lovely priviledge of seeing Karen Jorgensen ( I hope I have her name right) modeling Vogue patterns again. She was an inspiring manniquen and a radiant, intelligent woman of style in the Vogue pattern books of the later 1960's and '70s...and now the two thousand teens. She embodies a complex truth and beauty in women that invites individual expression in self presentation, which is the reason many women choose to sew.
5/9/10 5:28 PM
sewsewboy said...
Like the dress. If the volume is an issue, use a wide rope or macrame or woven leather belt. Trap some of the volume or sling it low. Gives you an option. This looks very Issey Miyake, Rei Kawabuko or Yohji Yamamoto. Very Japanaese 1980s Post Industrial Chic
5/9/10 3:37 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this. Knit is the way to go. I can't wait to make it myself.
5/9/10 12:49 PM
sfshaza said...
Very nice! I also bought this pattern after Auntie Allyn's review. I was thinking about a knit, so thanks for testing it out!!
5/9/10 0:18 AM
JodieT said...
I would have never picked out this pattern with out reading you Aunti Allyns review. This dress looks great on you all. It would make a great dress to kick around the lake in, in the summers in Arkansas. Thanks for review.
5/8/10 7:36 PM
Winifred said...
I'm thrilled to see this made up Anne, so much better than the pattern view.Its very very striking but also wearable and looks fab ! As for the nightgown, well I think you are Wendy in Peter Pan - how about an audition ?!! Stunning.
5/8/10 5:56 PM
SueV said...
so cute! I think I gotta make this one now... it says "summertime, and the livin' is easy..."
5/8/10 1:29 PM
MNBarb said...
I like your dress better than the pattern illustration. The neckline and armhole finishing add much to the design, very cleaver. I think you will find yourself slipping into this dress many times in the summer. Very comfy. I could double as a swimsuit cover-up.
5/8/10 7:58 AM
Rebecca D said...
You look stunning in this.
5/8/10 7:55 AM
no7262 said...
Ann, LOVE seeing your reviews! You always are making such interesting clothing! This looks wonderful in the knit! I think that I have about 10 yards of green in my stash.....Do you know where I could find a tut on the way you did the bindings? Nora :)
5/8/10 7:32 AM
susiestitcher said...
Wow! I also love unusual styles, at least to dream about, so seeing yours is quite inspiring. Beautiful color and neat binding technique. You look super in this dress!
5/8/10 7:10 AM
hmacski said...
Ann: I love the dress and think the knit version w/ bias trim is a terrific idea. Beautiful (amazingly beautiful) necklace is the perfect accent. I think you have THE BEST sense of style.
5/8/10 6:47 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute and original dress. I like the curled bands at the neck, and the way the front seems to be long enough to cover your knee, unlike the pattern illustration.
5/8/10 1:59 AM
Kayseri said...
Lovely summer dress, relaxed but stylish.
5/8/10 1:50 AM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress!
5/8/10 1:12 AM
Izzie said...
Love this dress in knit! Your reviews are always inspiring!
5/7/10 11:04 PM
Barbara V said...
This looks terrific on you! Love the knit too and how it changes the look into as you say more weighted and drapey.
5/7/10 10:49 PM
kcstarr49 said...
Cute! Not many people can rock it but you definitely are!
5/7/10 10:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous dress. Very striking.
5/7/10 9:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118B

photo
by: grays08

Review