SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-110 (grandfather shirt with tucks)

2 more reviews
Viewed 356 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews: 53 (patterns: 53)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/10 12:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said... (7/24/10 5:13 PM) Reply
Everything you sew is beautiful! I'm thinking of making this shirt and I thank you for reviewing it.
Ellenatlga said... (5/9/10 8:28 AM) Reply
I'm in 100% agreement with your protests! I go cross-eyed every time I trace those patterns! Your shirt is beautiful!
MichelleE said... (5/9/10 0:49 AM) Reply
I love this shirt, looks very comfortable! I agree with you completely about the new Burda eye strain. I use a highlighter on the pieces I'm cutting.
Heidi Ho said... (5/8/10 10:13 PM) Reply
Nice shirt! It looks very nice with the pants.
moushka said... (5/8/10 6:42 PM) Reply
Wonderful shirt, love the pleating and the collar. The outfit looks very chic. I agree that pleating first makes the most sense, a technique from heirloom sewing. Can't imagine why so many pattern instructions use the other method. Great review.
inkstain said... (5/8/10 3:43 PM) Reply
I cut a 38 in the shoulder area and graded out to a 40. Normally that would be a 42-43 around the hips, but obviously here, it wasn't necessary at all. Yes, good idea, Zazzie, I think I'll wear it with a belt to bring in the volume.
zazzie said... (5/8/10 1:11 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review - It looks great on you. I want to make the shirt too, I was looking for a "basic" ovesize shirt which I love to wear belted over a pair of jeans. May I ask you what size you cut ?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: ehumphrey

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Pattern Details