SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-110 (grandfather shirt with tucks)

2 more reviews
Viewed 361 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews: 57 (patterns: 57)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/10 12:17 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
valerie sews said... (7/24/10 5:13 PM) Reply
Everything you sew is beautiful! I'm thinking of making this shirt and I thank you for reviewing it.
Ellenatlga said... (5/9/10 8:28 AM) Reply
I'm in 100% agreement with your protests! I go cross-eyed every time I trace those patterns! Your shirt is beautiful!
MichelleE said... (5/9/10 0:49 AM) Reply
I love this shirt, looks very comfortable! I agree with you completely about the new Burda eye strain. I use a highlighter on the pieces I'm cutting.
Heidi Ho said... (5/8/10 10:13 PM) Reply
Nice shirt! It looks very nice with the pants.
moushka said... (5/8/10 6:42 PM) Reply
Wonderful shirt, love the pleating and the collar. The outfit looks very chic. I agree that pleating first makes the most sense, a technique from heirloom sewing. Can't imagine why so many pattern instructions use the other method. Great review.
inkstain said... (5/8/10 3:43 PM) Reply
I cut a 38 in the shoulder area and graded out to a 40. Normally that would be a 42-43 around the hips, but obviously here, it wasn't necessary at all. Yes, good idea, Zazzie, I think I'll wear it with a belt to bring in the volume.
zazzie said... (5/8/10 1:11 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review - It looks great on you. I want to make the shirt too, I was looking for a "basic" ovesize shirt which I love to wear belted over a pair of jeans. May I ask you what size you cut ?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2014-32

photo
by: Rairscat

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Other Lady Skater -Nettie Dress

photo
by: CameoOfKar...

Review