SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-110 (grandfather shirt with tucks)

1 more reviews
Viewed 346 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/10 12:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zazzie said...
Thanks for the review - It looks great on you. I want to make the shirt too, I was looking for a "basic" ovesize shirt which I love to wear belted over a pair of jeans. May I ask you what size you cut ?
5/8/10 1:11 PM
inkstain said...
I cut a 38 in the shoulder area and graded out to a 40. Normally that would be a 42-43 around the hips, but obviously here, it wasn't necessary at all. Yes, good idea, Zazzie, I think I'll wear it with a belt to bring in the volume.
5/8/10 3:43 PM
moushka said...
Wonderful shirt, love the pleating and the collar. The outfit looks very chic. I agree that pleating first makes the most sense, a technique from heirloom sewing. Can't imagine why so many pattern instructions use the other method. Great review.
5/8/10 6:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice shirt! It looks very nice with the pants.
5/8/10 10:13 PM
MichelleE said...
I love this shirt, looks very comfortable! I agree with you completely about the new Burda eye strain. I use a highlighter on the pieces I'm cutting.
5/9/10 0:49 AM
Ellenatlga said...
I'm in 100% agreement with your protests! I go cross-eyed every time I trace those patterns! Your shirt is beautiful!
5/9/10 8:28 AM
valerie sews said...
Everything you sew is beautiful! I'm thinking of making this shirt and I thank you for reviewing it.
7/24/10 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8791

photo
by: KatC83

Review
Butterick 5557

photo
by: galtekruse

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now