SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-110 (grandfather shirt with tucks)

1 more reviews
Viewed 346 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/10 12:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zazzie said...
Thanks for the review - It looks great on you. I want to make the shirt too, I was looking for a "basic" ovesize shirt which I love to wear belted over a pair of jeans. May I ask you what size you cut ?
5/8/10 1:11 PM
inkstain said...
I cut a 38 in the shoulder area and graded out to a 40. Normally that would be a 42-43 around the hips, but obviously here, it wasn't necessary at all. Yes, good idea, Zazzie, I think I'll wear it with a belt to bring in the volume.
5/8/10 3:43 PM
moushka said...
Wonderful shirt, love the pleating and the collar. The outfit looks very chic. I agree that pleating first makes the most sense, a technique from heirloom sewing. Can't imagine why so many pattern instructions use the other method. Great review.
5/8/10 6:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice shirt! It looks very nice with the pants.
5/8/10 10:13 PM
MichelleE said...
I love this shirt, looks very comfortable! I agree with you completely about the new Burda eye strain. I use a highlighter on the pieces I'm cutting.
5/9/10 0:49 AM
Ellenatlga said...
I'm in 100% agreement with your protests! I go cross-eyed every time I trace those patterns! Your shirt is beautiful!
5/9/10 8:28 AM
valerie sews said...
Everything you sew is beautiful! I'm thinking of making this shirt and I thank you for reviewing it.
7/24/10 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6255

photo
by: rooskie

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6924

photo
by: junethstar

Review