SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3790 (Asymmetric Tops)

14 more reviews
Viewed 867 times 
Reviewed by:homejewel
photo

 
 
About homejewelstar
OR USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/10 10:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
I think your top looks fabulous on you! Facings in knit tops = PITA for me. You were brave enough to give it a go...I chickened out, lol! I didn't think I'd like this pattern in the sleeve version, but seeing yours, I like it more than the sleeveless! :)
5/23/10 12:46 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the first review of this pattern! I was thinking of getting it, very useful to know how it runs. When I saw your photo, I didn't spot any of the gaping or drooping problems until you pointed them out - it looked like a great top! (Sorry I don't know how to fix the niggles, but please do update us with any progress).
5/11/10 5:41 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern, it is a very cute top and the style is super flattering. I know we are all waiting in suspense to see your next one. I have found that back neck gaping to be a problem in quite a few patterns. Facings can be tricky in knits too.
5/10/10 11:31 PM
cabinbaby said...
I find with KS that they tend to be wider than other pattern companies. I usually make a small and then take out a 1/2" from center front and back. That might help with your gaping neck and extra front room.
5/10/10 2:49 PM
Big in Japan said...
I like your top and the problems seem fixable. Ah, stewing, this is an important step in all of my sewing projects!
5/10/10 12:19 PM
MarshaG. said...
I really like your first attempt at this top. It is a great style and one that I'll need to add to my wish list. I agree with SuePer on the facing issue. Another idea might be to cut the facing as one with the neckline - if that is possible - and then just fold it over to the underside, catching it in the seams. I hope that makes sense. I don't think the drooping of the ruching is a big deal, but I think that perhaps you could go a bit smaller in the front, keeping the grading out to a larger size just in the back of the top.....Thanks so much for biting the bullet and trying it out for the rest of us!
5/10/10 10:33 AM
sewbehind said...
Is it possible to cut and sew this top without a facing? Most of us who love sewing with knits eliminate facings on most items. Just turn and use clear elastic or whatever your favourite way to try this out. Just a thought. Not sure if it would work.
5/10/10 10:05 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute top and I agree with the others that it is definitely worth tweaking. As for the facing flipping out, you might try some loose tack stiches from the underside. (not tight ones) or try stitching in the well of that seam, pulling the seam to the underside so that it doesn't show. It does seem to be a larger facing than it needs to be. I love the neckline on your top. Thanks for the review.
5/10/10 9:57 AM
Andreahg said...
This is such a beautiful design and seems to suit your figure. It looks like it will be well worth the effort to get all the kinks worked out.
5/10/10 8:46 AM
MNBarb said...
PS You are not the only one who stews about the fitting of garments. I still have a pair of linen capri's front and center on the kitchen table waiting for a fix to make them wearable. Who knows, you might come up with a solution on your way to work, or in your sleep.
5/10/10 7:44 AM
thirteenstitches said...
This top is different, I LIKE different: ) It looks very nice on you. A good fit. Nice work!!!
5/10/10 7:38 AM
MNBarb said...
I think when you make the smaller size adjustment on the side seams that will fix the problem of the front being longer than the back. As the top gets more fitted the extra length with be up at the gathered part through the torso where it's supposed to be. I don't know about the facing. Post the fix when you find it. I like this top and think it would work for me. Thanks for posting your not-quite-perfect garment to help all of us.
5/10/10 7:28 AM
Lori V said...
Your top looks very cute. I have the same suggestion as others, cut the facing a bit smaller.
5/10/10 7:25 AM
AuntieShel said...
I think your top looks fabulous. I have had the same problems recently with the backs of things gaping a little at the neck. Like you said, easy fix. You could take a little off the front, but I think you are noticing that where no one else would. Wish I could help with the front facing, not sure about that one, but maybe stabilizing, as you suggested, would help.
5/10/10 7:21 AM
jennhpiper said...
Thanks so much for your review. I sewed this pattern last week and had all of the exact same problems you did! I used an interlock which was also a mistake. This pattern requires a fabric with more recovery. My muslim is in the trash but I did love the style and design of the pattern just not the gaping and facing issues! I will be using facing on the neckline and a cotton lycra blend on my second try!
5/10/10 6:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just ordered this top. Your review is most helpful.
5/10/10 5:23 AM
Paris75008 said...
Cute top and thanks for posting. Sorry, I don't have any ideas on how to tweak it but I'd love to hear about how you resolve the issues. I sometimes have the same problem of a gaping back which I usually resolve by putting two small darts in the neckline at the back shoulders on the pattern piece.
5/10/10 5:05 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review - this pattern is due to arrive in the post soon so I am glad someone has tried it first! Sorry cannot give advice on the facing.
5/10/10 4:16 AM
sewing for fun said...
Very helpful review - I have this pattern on order. It is very pretty. As for the neckline, I often stabilze with elastic - RTW often has clear elastic on knit necklines in SA. I agree the sagging would be helped by taking in the front, but the top is very pretty anyway - more of a drape effect.
5/10/10 2:07 AM
LuceLu said...
Did you use a straight stitch when you understitched? Try a 3 step zig zag as close as you can get to the seam and then press/steam the heck out of it, hit with the clapper a few times (beat it into submission). I just picket this pattern up and was going to run up a muslin this week. How timely! In regards to the back--maybe a forward shoulder adjustment or just go a little smaller in size in that area. Kwick Sew tends to run big in the shoulders. The ruching looks good to me. I think you did a good job on it.
5/10/10 1:55 AM
Mushywear said...
Yes, thank you for the review. I agree that a little tweaking will make this look just right and will be so worth it. It is a very cute blouse and agree with Sueper's line of thinking on how to fix front facing.
5/10/10 1:26 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
I like! thx for the review
5/10/10 0:24 AM
marec said...
I love this style on you! It looks great as is, but I'm sure you'll be able to tweak a bit more on the facings and back neck (as you said). :-)
5/10/10 0:15 AM
AquariJenn said...
Cute top! This pattern is on my wishlist. Thank you for the review.
5/10/10 0:02 AM
JudiBee2 said...
Considering the urge to open the sides, it's a good thing you didn't serge it. It is very stylish and nice for a gal with a long torso and no abdominal issues. Maybe s lightwreght lining insread of a facing would work, like tricot.But it would be hot. (temperature). It sure looks good to me! please excuse typos. Phone message. J
5/9/10 11:59 PM
SuePer said...
Regarding the front facing issue...I wonder if all that stitching and understitching is just stretching things out? I would try cutting the facing a little shorter (by pinching out a bit of the pattern piece), with the seam edge on the cross grain. Then attach it with facing on top, stretching it slightly as you would a neckband, to ease the bodice front to the facing. Maybe you could also tack it down on the inside at the shoulder seam. It is a great top, and definitely worth the tweaking!
5/9/10 11:58 PM
homejewel said...
Sewrelaxed -it's not curved. And there's really nothing to clip because they only allow 1/4-inch seam, then you understitch, and clip away the remaining seam allowance beyond the understitching. The seam and remaining seam allowance (with understitching) is very minimal. I think the bulk from the fabric is causing it to come forward, but I'm no expert, that's for sure.
5/9/10 11:21 PM
homejewel said...
oops - double post. No way to delete this, sorry!
5/9/10 11:21 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thanks for this review! I think the top has very lovely "bones", and a tiny tweak or two will give you the perfect fit. It really looks so much nicer on you than it does in the pattern photo.
5/9/10 11:18 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh, I think it looks great!
5/9/10 11:18 PM
sewrelaxed said...
Cute top. It's hard to tell from the photos, is the front neckline seam straight or slightly curved? If it's curved even just slightly, clipping it before understitching will help it lay nicely.
5/9/10 11:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

McCall's 6442

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

More Info
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

More Info
Mimi G Pencil Skirt

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review