Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3790 (Asymmetric Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 848 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:homejewel
photo
About homejewelstar
OR USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/10 10:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewrelaxed said...
Cute top. It's hard to tell from the photos, is the front neckline seam straight or slightly curved? If it's curved even just slightly, clipping it before understitching will help it lay nicely.
5/9/10 11:17 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh, I think it looks great!
5/9/10 11:18 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thanks for this review! I think the top has very lovely "bones", and a tiny tweak or two will give you the perfect fit. It really looks so much nicer on you than it does in the pattern photo.
5/9/10 11:18 PM
homejewel said...
oops - double post. No way to delete this, sorry!
5/9/10 11:21 PM
homejewel said...
Sewrelaxed -it's not curved. And there's really nothing to clip because they only allow 1/4-inch seam, then you understitch, and clip away the remaining seam allowance beyond the understitching. The seam and remaining seam allowance (with understitching) is very minimal. I think the bulk from the fabric is causing it to come forward, but I'm no expert, that's for sure.
5/9/10 11:21 PM
SuePer said...
Regarding the front facing issue...I wonder if all that stitching and understitching is just stretching things out? I would try cutting the facing a little shorter (by pinching out a bit of the pattern piece), with the seam edge on the cross grain. Then attach it with facing on top, stretching it slightly as you would a neckband, to ease the bodice front to the facing. Maybe you could also tack it down on the inside at the shoulder seam. It is a great top, and definitely worth the tweaking!
5/9/10 11:58 PM
JudiBee2 said...
Considering the urge to open the sides, it's a good thing you didn't serge it. It is very stylish and nice for a gal with a long torso and no abdominal issues. Maybe s lightwreght lining insread of a facing would work, like tricot.But it would be hot. (temperature). It sure looks good to me! please excuse typos. Phone message. J
5/9/10 11:59 PM
AquariJenn said...
Cute top! This pattern is on my wishlist. Thank you for the review.
5/10/10 0:02 AM
marec said...
I love this style on you! It looks great as is, but I'm sure you'll be able to tweak a bit more on the facings and back neck (as you said). :-)
5/10/10 0:15 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
I like! thx for the review
5/10/10 0:24 AM
Mushywear said...
Yes, thank you for the review. I agree that a little tweaking will make this look just right and will be so worth it. It is a very cute blouse and agree with Sueper's line of thinking on how to fix front facing.
5/10/10 1:26 AM
LuceLu said...
Did you use a straight stitch when you understitched? Try a 3 step zig zag as close as you can get to the seam and then press/steam the heck out of it, hit with the clapper a few times (beat it into submission). I just picket this pattern up and was going to run up a muslin this week. How timely! In regards to the back--maybe a forward shoulder adjustment or just go a little smaller in size in that area. Kwick Sew tends to run big in the shoulders. The ruching looks good to me. I think you did a good job on it.
5/10/10 1:55 AM
sewing for fun said...
Very helpful review - I have this pattern on order. It is very pretty. As for the neckline, I often stabilze with elastic - RTW often has clear elastic on knit necklines in SA. I agree the sagging would be helped by taking in the front, but the top is very pretty anyway - more of a drape effect.
5/10/10 2:07 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review - this pattern is due to arrive in the post soon so I am glad someone has tried it first! Sorry cannot give advice on the facing.
5/10/10 4:16 AM
Paris75008 said...
Cute top and thanks for posting. Sorry, I don't have any ideas on how to tweak it but I'd love to hear about how you resolve the issues. I sometimes have the same problem of a gaping back which I usually resolve by putting two small darts in the neckline at the back shoulders on the pattern piece.
5/10/10 5:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just ordered this top. Your review is most helpful.
5/10/10 5:23 AM
jennhpiper said...
Thanks so much for your review. I sewed this pattern last week and had all of the exact same problems you did! I used an interlock which was also a mistake. This pattern requires a fabric with more recovery. My muslim is in the trash but I did love the style and design of the pattern just not the gaping and facing issues! I will be using facing on the neckline and a cotton lycra blend on my second try!
5/10/10 6:55 AM
AuntieShel said...
I think your top looks fabulous. I have had the same problems recently with the backs of things gaping a little at the neck. Like you said, easy fix. You could take a little off the front, but I think you are noticing that where no one else would. Wish I could help with the front facing, not sure about that one, but maybe stabilizing, as you suggested, would help.
5/10/10 7:21 AM
Lori V said...
Your top looks very cute. I have the same suggestion as others, cut the facing a bit smaller.
5/10/10 7:25 AM
MNBarb said...
I think when you make the smaller size adjustment on the side seams that will fix the problem of the front being longer than the back. As the top gets more fitted the extra length with be up at the gathered part through the torso where it's supposed to be. I don't know about the facing. Post the fix when you find it. I like this top and think it would work for me. Thanks for posting your not-quite-perfect garment to help all of us.
5/10/10 7:28 AM
thirteenstitches said...
This top is different, I LIKE different: ) It looks very nice on you. A good fit. Nice work!!!
5/10/10 7:38 AM
MNBarb said...
PS You are not the only one who stews about the fitting of garments. I still have a pair of linen capri's front and center on the kitchen table waiting for a fix to make them wearable. Who knows, you might come up with a solution on your way to work, or in your sleep.
5/10/10 7:44 AM
Andreahg said...
This is such a beautiful design and seems to suit your figure. It looks like it will be well worth the effort to get all the kinks worked out.
5/10/10 8:46 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute top and I agree with the others that it is definitely worth tweaking. As for the facing flipping out, you might try some loose tack stiches from the underside. (not tight ones) or try stitching in the well of that seam, pulling the seam to the underside so that it doesn't show. It does seem to be a larger facing than it needs to be. I love the neckline on your top. Thanks for the review.
5/10/10 9:57 AM
sewbehind said...
Is it possible to cut and sew this top without a facing? Most of us who love sewing with knits eliminate facings on most items. Just turn and use clear elastic or whatever your favourite way to try this out. Just a thought. Not sure if it would work.
5/10/10 10:05 AM
MarshaG. said...
I really like your first attempt at this top. It is a great style and one that I'll need to add to my wish list. I agree with SuePer on the facing issue. Another idea might be to cut the facing as one with the neckline - if that is possible - and then just fold it over to the underside, catching it in the seams. I hope that makes sense. I don't think the drooping of the ruching is a big deal, but I think that perhaps you could go a bit smaller in the front, keeping the grading out to a larger size just in the back of the top.....Thanks so much for biting the bullet and trying it out for the rest of us!
5/10/10 10:33 AM
Big in Japan said...
I like your top and the problems seem fixable. Ah, stewing, this is an important step in all of my sewing projects!
5/10/10 12:19 PM
cabinbaby said...
I find with KS that they tend to be wider than other pattern companies. I usually make a small and then take out a 1/2" from center front and back. That might help with your gaping neck and extra front room.
5/10/10 2:49 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern, it is a very cute top and the style is super flattering. I know we are all waiting in suspense to see your next one. I have found that back neck gaping to be a problem in quite a few patterns. Facings can be tricky in knits too.
5/10/10 11:31 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the first review of this pattern! I was thinking of getting it, very useful to know how it runs. When I saw your photo, I didn't spot any of the gaping or drooping problems until you pointed them out - it looked like a great top! (Sorry I don't know how to fix the niggles, but please do update us with any progress).
5/11/10 5:41 PM
LynnRowe said...
I think your top looks fabulous on you! Facings in knit tops = PITA for me. You were brave enough to give it a go...I chickened out, lol! I didn't think I'd like this pattern in the sleeve version, but seeing yours, I like it more than the sleeveless! :)
5/23/10 12:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6019 Sadie knit top
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 6/30/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 8108 One Hour Dress
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/24/10
Read Review

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6347 Pattern
New Look 6347 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8536 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8536 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us