Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6085 (Misses' Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 343 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:rrswife
photo
About rrswifestar
MO USA
Member since: 3/8/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/10 8:45 PM
Last Updated:5/11/10 1:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A pity it doesn't fit - it looks nice, so I hope it goes to a good home! It is wise to check the actual measurement of a finished garment, usually given on the tissue, and compare it with your own measeurements. Sometimes if there is little ease in a garment, I feel I might as well go up a size. In other cases, you might just need to alter the tissue in some way. You might find McCall's Palmer/Pletsch range helpful as each pattern contains detailed advice on getting the fit right.
5/10/10 4:53 AM
JudiBee2 said...
It really looks nice. Nancy Zeiman has a book, Fitting Finesse, about fitting with pivoting or adding tissue. If thid fits the neckline, I would give it another go. Just don't sew body , fitting darts
5/11/10 8:58 AM
rrswife said...
THANK YOU for the tips.... I'm VERY new to sewing clothing... trying to learn more about it so I can make clothes that fit and not just the big loose gathered stuff. ha! I didn't even realize there were measurements on the pattern itself... (embarrassed face) I look for that book by Nancy Zeiman, too. Thanks! I did edit the review and add some pics of me wearing it (at the end of the review). I found some more room in a few seams so I can wear it now. It sort of lost it's shape -- but, I guess the shape wasn't fitting me. Ok.... I'll accept this as a noble effort. ;) Now to make strides to improve on the next one. :)
5/11/10 1:29 PM
psgates said...
I don't know about you - but I learn best when I have to "Fix" things
5/11/10 1:52 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think this top looks so nice after you got it let out and fixed. Just trace the pattern and draw/slash in the changes you need and the next one will be a fun sew. Keep reading on here as there is a lot of info given on adjusting the patterns in reviews and on blogs. Lots on here make muslins before the garment is cut and sewn to work out fit changes. You are sewing some great looking pieces. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
5/12/10 8:29 AM
carolynw said...
I think it looks quite nice - there are a lot of good books that will help you get the perfect fit - my particular fave is Palmer/Pletch "Fit For Real People" - your local library may have this and other books on fitting? It does take a while to get the fit you want and feel good about so just hang in there - this shirt is a great start!!
5/12/10 9:24 AM
Debby Ebby said...
You are so cute. You remind me of myself. I like to just take the pattern out of the envelope, sew it, and hope for the best. However, I am learning to read the measurements on the pattern pieces, too. I like sewing with knits because they are forgiving when it comes to fit. Your shirt (after the adjustments) looks very nice on you.
6/23/10 10:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-112B Trousers
photo
Review by Squeezylem... on 8/31/08
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3535
photo
Review by born2bead on 4/2/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us