Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-120 (five-pocket jeans) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 485 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo
About inkstainstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/10 7:16 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
Your story is quite interesting! To this point, I have refused to do any pattern tracing. I just don't have the patience and admire anyone willing to do this (p.s AND I use to be a 1st Pattern maker)
5/10/10 7:28 AM
Dianna Cardwell said...
Great jeans, & great review. I, too am trying to learn the "whole center back seam" thing. I'm getting better at it. I like the way you can fit if you use this method. Thanks for posting your reiview, congrats.
5/10/10 7:54 AM
Kay Y said...
Congratulations on a great-looking pair of white jeans. And welcome to the Burda pants fan club!
5/10/10 8:37 AM
SewSho said...
Great pants and enjoyed reading your review!:)
5/10/10 8:49 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hey Great Job and excellent review... I clicked on your thumbnail... and then scrolled down and enjoyed looking at your 'work'... I have fallen in love with your cape... it is just lovely. If you reviewed it here, I am sorry I missed it... I would have gushed in the review there too. Thanks!
5/10/10 8:57 AM
beth5646 said...
That's a great looking pair of jeans. Thanks for the very helpful review and I love your website. You have made some gorgeous clothes.
5/10/10 9:11 AM
inkstain said...
Dear Nancy Rhodes, The cape review is accessible by clicking above on Inkstain for all my reviews, or directly here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=37704
5/10/10 9:12 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic jeans, the detailing and fit are superb. I confess to being somewhat envious you need to lengthen them by 9cm! At least Burda is pretty consistent sizewise so now you have your adjustments figured out future pants should be easy!
5/10/10 10:01 AM
Re Becca said...
I was just looking at this pattern for new jeans. How far below your waist do they sit, or how long is the rise on these?
5/10/10 10:11 AM
inkstain said...
Dear Re Becca, They sit right on the waist, which is why I call them Mom Jeans. I'm of a "certain age," but even I wish they were an inch below the waist. Still, Burda delivered what they promised on the lidóclassic jeans that go with the polo shirts, etc., Ralph Laurenesque Long Island clothes they feature in the whole section of the magazine. So dorky, they're cool?
5/10/10 10:38 AM
inkstain said...
Uh, Allie, let's see, I envy your holiday in the Philippines, your cool Midlevels apartment with the Buddhas, your ability to jog right over to Lan Kwai Fong and eat Thai with Marc Faber and yes, your fortieth birthday. You are a Kid, kid! About the only thing that doesn't fall apart when you hit my age is your lifetime membership to the FCC and the length of your legs.
5/10/10 10:40 AM
persevering said...
Thank you for your inspiring review! I like the fit of your jeans compared to skinny jeans, which are suitable quite frankly for the young and skinny, which is not me either, though I am a quite fit looking over 50. And I love your jeans in white with the white shirt - a beautiful classic look - which is my absolute favorite.
5/10/10 10:59 AM
GlobalMom said...
Your jeans look great! I'm getting ready to start sewing jeans too instead of fighting at the stores to find some that fit. I find that the "mom style" jeans actually fit me best, and it's good to know that this issues (which I already have) has a good set.
5/10/10 11:33 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Great looking pair of jeans!! I love reading your reviews they are always so informative.
5/10/10 3:46 PM
Janiki said...
Thanks for the info. I was thinking of making these too, but your description of mom jeans says it all. Think I'll look for another pattern for myself. But nevertheless, you made those mom jeans real nice.
5/11/10 3:07 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your white jeans look fantastic.
5/11/10 8:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2767 nightgown
photo
Review by MaryLynn i... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5283
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 1/2/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us