SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8998 (T-Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2494 times 
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/04 9:53 AM
Last Updated:4/15/04 9:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Needs More Info by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 $8.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 $8.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
I've had this pattern for a while and thought it would be my perfect T-shirt pattern. I haven't sewn it up yet, though. I really appreciate your comments in the review. I think I'll go ahead and make it up and I'll probably like it just fine, since I'm a plus size. I think you look great in your T-shirt and it looks like you did a great job. No puckers, etc.
5/22/06 4:57 PM
babydoll said...
hello there i love the fit of this t on you - but i like body skimming styles, not closely fitted. the formula for the neckband is useful and i will try this when i make my next t shirt. ruth
12/30/04 9:14 AM
CycleGal said...
Now that my class is underway, we are learning a lot about fit, and I probably should have just waited till class was underway! We are covering all aspects of good fit on the t...so far a great class!
4/24/04 8:51 AM
Julie said...
I made this pattern and really liked the result. It is a bit loose fitting but that's fine with me. The neck is too wide and too low for me so I adjusted the pattern - once I added the band ( I used 3/4 x length of revised neck line) it looked great. I did not find the printed instructions much use - the sleeves can be serged on very easily
4/23/04 11:12 AM
CycleGal said...
I measured out about 9 inches of ease at the bust
4/17/04 4:33 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your t-shirt looks good. Fit is always a personal preference. At least you from this you learned more about how you want the neck binding to be and you have a good formula that will work for most all t=shirt patterns. Good job and thanks for sharing.
4/16/04 6:06 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for your review! I have been debating between this pattern and the Jalie t shirt pattern. I think that your shirt looks great! Good luck with the Jalie pattern. By the way, how much ease would you say is in this shirt? The Jalie ease is pretty minimal.
4/15/04 7:58 PM
CycleGal said...
Mini, I saw and appreciated your review. Here are the t shirt patterns reccomended for the class:This class requires that you have a T-shirt pattern with a bust dart. Patterns recommended include Petite Plues Short Sleeve Shell, Burda 8998, Neue Mode 22911, Click and Sew Classic Blouses or Pattern Master Boutique. It may be necessary to have a loose shirt b/c you will be altering the pattern for design change. Class description is at www.mysewingclasses.com. I will write a review on the class, which I am really looking forward to taking.
4/15/04 3:05 PM
stripey said...
Runrover, hey, that makes two of us! I prefer v-necked and roomy and drapey -- but that's just my personal preference. I think this pattern is meant to be loose. That's the strength of it. A person would have to completely redraft it to make it fitted, and that would be a source of frustration -- especially since there are already so many other t-shirt patterns out there for fitted styles. For instance, the Jalie "Choice of Shirts" pattern -- it's drafted to be skin-tight already, so you wouldn't have to make any alterations at all Cyclegal! Also, Jalie has a men's t-shirt pattern that has a higher neck than their woman's t-shirt and it is very fitted. The fitting for that shirt is geared to the male body, but I think it would still be easier to modify that than it would be to "shrink to fit" this Burda pattern. If the Jalie patterns don't work out for you, look at some of the "t-shirt dress" patterns. These dresses can easily be turned into t-shirts by adjusting the hem. Good luck on your class! :)
4/15/04 11:30 AM
Mini said...
This is kind of an old pattern. It has the extended shoulder line and looser sleeve draft of the 90's, so it will not look like more the current patterns for a close fitted armscye and shoulder. I made this a long time ago and didn't have a problem, but I was looking for a straight and body skimming rather than fitted style. It does not look at all unflattering on you, although it may be disappointing if you wanted a close fitted top.
4/15/04 11:26 AM
LBJ said...
It looks nice but you're right, it is a lot of trouble for a T-shirt.
4/15/04 11:15 AM
JAS said...
Please keep us posted on how the class goes and how you like it. I'm interested in this and the pants class myself. Also, was Burda 3197 recommended for the class? It seems to be more popular here at PatternReview.
4/15/04 11:09 AM
Runrover said...
I really like your t-shirt CycleGal. I'm probably in the minority here, but I like loose fitting knit tops. Thanks for the tip/suggestion on the neckline. I definitely don't like droopy necklines.
4/15/04 10:38 AM
PVA said...
I agree with Lisette, but I don't think I'm too inclined to work that hard at making a loose-fitting t-shirt. Yours looks really good, especially the shoulder area! I certainly appreciate this review, since I know now what to do to make it work if I decide to use this pattern!
4/15/04 10:13 AM
Lisette said...
I think your t-shirt looks like the envelope. Of course if you wanted a more fitted look I can see why you are disappointed. I just think that this pattern is meant to be loose. As a loose fit t-shirt yours looks good.
4/15/04 9:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew Baby Twirly Dress

photo
by: treesaf

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now