SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6410 OOP (Retro 1935 dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 472 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/10 8:53 AM
Last Updated:5/10/10 8:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress! I especially like the color combo.
5/10/10 9:12 AM
Sondra Leigh said...
I just wrote a long comment and somehow lost it! UGH! Which is funny because I just read your blog and saw how you'd lost your entry about the shoulder pads. I LOVE the dress and pattern. It is very flattering on you. I found your blog very educational as we seem to have the exact same fitting issues (minus the FBA which I never need). I also LOVE the vintage patterns, especially for evening wear. Great job!
5/10/10 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - love the color combo
5/10/10 10:07 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Love Love this dress. It is stunning and so are you in it. Now why did you review a pattern that you're gonna make me search for. Fabulous.
5/10/10 10:10 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Nice! I love the sleeve/bodice design and the colors.
5/10/10 10:51 AM
Paris75008 said...
I just love this dress and the way it looks on you. I couldn't agree with you more about today's formalwear patterns. Personally, I go for vintage / retro every time. The designs are just so much more special. Now I'm going to have to scour EBay for that pattern!
5/10/10 11:06 AM
RachelEsq said...
The color combination is what really makes it. Love!
5/10/10 11:36 AM
SewSho said...
Great colour combo! Nice work:)
5/10/10 12:05 PM
sewtime said...
WOW! beautiful dress and you look so pretty!!
5/10/10 12:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
Love your colors and great commentary.
5/10/10 1:37 PM
Karen6790 said...
Agreed that there aren't many good current formal patterns, but these reissues are wonderful. Love the colors, both in general and on you.
5/10/10 1:41 PM
JanieBee said...
Love the colors! It's really unique and flattering!
5/10/10 2:05 PM
Terri A said...
Really lovely and so special!
5/10/10 2:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Pure elegance! And you have the figure for it. Joan Crawford never looked this good.
5/10/10 10:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes, but where did you wear it??? it looks beautifully sewn! you look all skinny too!
5/11/10 0:35 AM
drsue said...
Wow! Do tell where you wore it too!
5/11/10 1:17 AM
petro said...
Looks lovely on! (hanger appeal low) Its elegant, and has impact as a design in the colours you chose.
5/11/10 2:42 AM
sugarduck said...
Beautiful. That turquoise color is SUPER flattering on you. And your seams look great, despite the devil fabric (photos tend to magnify little puckers...I imagine they look perfect in "real life"). Amazing work!
5/11/10 2:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous dress, very flattering fit.
5/11/10 6:49 AM
Jea1978 said...
What a great job! I would never have thought of using shoulder pads.
5/11/10 9:24 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Love, love, love it. I agree about today's gowns.
5/12/10 8:00 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous dress on you! Actually, just to prove I mean it, I love your version so much I've just bought the pattern from www.fabricsonthefarm.co.uk in England! Doesn't matter about photos as long as you look wonderful in it in real life and enjoy wearing it......
5/12/10 8:34 AM
Jatman said...
Wow! Beautiful dress and I love your color choices!
5/15/10 9:22 AM
Re Becca said...
I think that you seams look fabulous! i agree with everyone else about your color choices.
5/15/10 9:34 PM
EyeSew1 said...
You did a great job on color choices. You look absolutely radiant in this dress. Well sewn!
5/17/10 1:00 PM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful work. I agree with you that there is an unseen elegance of the vintage patterns that are just not found today. Love the colors
5/19/10 4:38 PM
AnneM said...
Love it! Great colors, nice style, wonderful fit. And you definitely don't look like a football player!!!
6/5/10 9:55 PM
3HoursPast said...
I love this dress. It's so interesting and different and utterly gorgeous on you.
6/8/10 6:54 PM
Kaelha said...
I love the color combinations. It looks lovely on you.
6/9/10 12:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Marfy 1903

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
McCall's 6112

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now