Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6410 OOP (Retro 1935 dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 470 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/10 8:53 AM
Last Updated:5/10/10 8:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress! I especially like the color combo.
5/10/10 9:12 AM
Sondra Leigh said...
I just wrote a long comment and somehow lost it! UGH! Which is funny because I just read your blog and saw how you'd lost your entry about the shoulder pads. I LOVE the dress and pattern. It is very flattering on you. I found your blog very educational as we seem to have the exact same fitting issues (minus the FBA which I never need). I also LOVE the vintage patterns, especially for evening wear. Great job!
5/10/10 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - love the color combo
5/10/10 10:07 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Love Love this dress. It is stunning and so are you in it. Now why did you review a pattern that you're gonna make me search for. Fabulous.
5/10/10 10:10 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Nice! I love the sleeve/bodice design and the colors.
5/10/10 10:51 AM
Paris75008 said...
I just love this dress and the way it looks on you. I couldn't agree with you more about today's formalwear patterns. Personally, I go for vintage / retro every time. The designs are just so much more special. Now I'm going to have to scour EBay for that pattern!
5/10/10 11:06 AM
RachelEsq said...
The color combination is what really makes it. Love!
5/10/10 11:36 AM
SewSho said...
Great colour combo! Nice work:)
5/10/10 12:05 PM
sewtime said...
WOW! beautiful dress and you look so pretty!!
5/10/10 12:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
Love your colors and great commentary.
5/10/10 1:37 PM
Karen6790 said...
Agreed that there aren't many good current formal patterns, but these reissues are wonderful. Love the colors, both in general and on you.
5/10/10 1:41 PM
JanieBee said...
Love the colors! It's really unique and flattering!
5/10/10 2:05 PM
Terri A said...
Really lovely and so special!
5/10/10 2:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Pure elegance! And you have the figure for it. Joan Crawford never looked this good.
5/10/10 10:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes, but where did you wear it??? it looks beautifully sewn! you look all skinny too!
5/11/10 0:35 AM
drsue said...
Wow! Do tell where you wore it too!
5/11/10 1:17 AM
petro said...
Looks lovely on! (hanger appeal low) Its elegant, and has impact as a design in the colours you chose.
5/11/10 2:42 AM
sugarduck said...
Beautiful. That turquoise color is SUPER flattering on you. And your seams look great, despite the devil fabric (photos tend to magnify little puckers...I imagine they look perfect in "real life"). Amazing work!
5/11/10 2:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous dress, very flattering fit.
5/11/10 6:49 AM
Jea1978 said...
What a great job! I would never have thought of using shoulder pads.
5/11/10 9:24 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Love, love, love it. I agree about today's gowns.
5/12/10 8:00 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous dress on you! Actually, just to prove I mean it, I love your version so much I've just bought the pattern from www.fabricsonthefarm.co.uk in England! Doesn't matter about photos as long as you look wonderful in it in real life and enjoy wearing it......
5/12/10 8:34 AM
Jatman said...
Wow! Beautiful dress and I love your color choices!
5/15/10 9:22 AM
Re Becca said...
I think that you seams look fabulous! i agree with everyone else about your color choices.
5/15/10 9:34 PM
EyeSew1 said...
You did a great job on color choices. You look absolutely radiant in this dress. Well sewn!
5/17/10 1:00 PM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful work. I agree with you that there is an unseen elegance of the vintage patterns that are just not found today. Love the colors
5/19/10 4:38 PM
AnneM said...
Love it! Great colors, nice style, wonderful fit. And you definitely don't look like a football player!!!
6/5/10 9:55 PM
3HoursPast said...
I love this dress. It's so interesting and different and utterly gorgeous on you.
6/8/10 6:54 PM
Kaelha said...
I love the color combinations. It looks lovely on you.
6/9/10 12:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by jmwaddoups on 12/20/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1205 Cordova Jacket
photo
Review by carrie1858... on 8/27/13
Read Review

Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us