Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2909 (Women's Classic Trousers) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Lynn67
photo
Friend of PR
About Lynn67star
AL USA
Member since: 7/21/09
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/10 2:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudiBee2 said...
thanks for all the info. I don't think those would ever fit me what with the small thigh area. I love your final paragraph. You have really put a lot of thought and work into making these pants work correctly. With pants, you have to be able to walk and ultimately sit. So somehow, there has to be a happy medium.
5/10/10 4:39 PM
MNBarb said...
Speaking from someone who has been fine tuning pants for the past month I know the issue with the dent on the side. It's that we don't have "hourglass" figures. You just need to sew the curve out of the hip area. Problem solved. You might notice this happens on some of your RTW pants, too. The good thing about working on the fit is you will come up with the "perfect" fit for you. Hopefully this will happen before the styles change.
5/10/10 6:56 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great pants! I had the same 'jumping for joy' feeling you wrote about on your blog when I made this pattern. Re the panty-line thing. I had the same issue until I changed to boy-leg underwear. Comfortable, no panty-lines and no side seam indents. HTH
5/10/10 7:33 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice looking pants!! I have had those indents in the hip area with most RTW pants. In my case I have slim hips but full thighs. I don't know if that is the case with you but I think that has been the cause of this for me.
5/10/10 11:20 PM
Kayabunga said...
I'm on a pant fitting/great TNT pattern quest too and some of what I discovered that has really helped me is ... 1. Cutting a size smaller than the actual hip and then enlarging the hip area only made a huge difference to the fit (in the back particularly). 2. Making a tracing of one's crotch is very helpful in discovering that things may have moved a little southward while you weren't looking. This will give some insight in regards to shaping the crotch curve in line with your shape. 3. In regards to the hip indentation on your pants, I've had that too. Try pinching out some of the length on the hip curve by making a dart from hip side seam and tapering to nothing towards CF/CB. Experiment with different places below high hip, it all seems to make a difference. 4. Even if you have no interest in drafting your own pant pattern, Kenneth King's CD book on pant drafting is an excellent reference for addressing fitting ... so far it's been the most helpful to me. Everyone is shaped differently so a pattern that works for me may not be so good for you but I've been working with Hot Pattern's Razor Sharp Pants and they've been the best so far (you would not believe how many I've tried thus far). Since they're more of a trouser silhouette than what you're working on you may be more interested in the Plain & Simple model which is next on my list. Anyway, hope this helps. Pant fitting is a real bugger but once you get that pattern perfect a gazillion pants are yours! At least that's my dream. :)
5/11/10 9:12 AM
Lynn67 said...
Thank you guys for all the awesome tips - they're extremely helpful! I definitely have a saddlebag problem (I refuse to call them pones!) and another reviewer said these weren't great if you had them. I'll look into those other ones you recommended, Kayabunga.
5/11/10 6:23 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I was looking thru the reviews for this pattern as I am about ready to cut it out, I noticed the problem with the undergarment peeping thru problem, THANK YOU(!) for helping me to solve this problem , I love the pattern and I think you found the most clever way to use it! Your pants are great and I will be copying your lining as Xtra security!
5/7/11 12:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/22/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Melwyk on 9/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us