SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5982 

5 more reviews
Viewed 1170 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeO
photo

 
 
About ReneeO
Member since: 10/20/03
Reviews written: 3
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/04 4:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clare said...
They are SO CUTE!
4/15/04 4:24 PM
Gina Marie said...
As the soon to be Mother of a little boy and the proud wife of a US Sailor I have to say that these little outfits came out WONDERFULLY !! I hadn't seen this pattern and I am going to get it ASAP. Thanks for the heads up on construction !!
4/15/04 4:28 PM
mickisews said...
Sooo Cute. I am going to have my first grandson in July, and have been kidding the new father to be, that I would make him a sailor suit (a I did for his father :>) Glad to see that there are still sailor suit patterns availible. Michele
4/15/04 5:40 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So precious!!! The beach pic made me smile. So sweet. :-)
4/15/04 5:59 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Too cute!! Great review with lots of great tips! You have to update later with a pic of them IN the suits ;-), bet they look adorable!!!
4/15/04 9:56 PM
SandraB said...
Renee, these suits are absolutely gorgeous. Great job and great review. I have been looking for a sailor collar kids pattern for a long time, because my daughter's school uniform has a sailor collar and I had to draft my own pattern when I made them the first time. Now that you have pointed me in the right direction, I won't have to draft from scratch again when my second daughter starts school. Thanks.
4/15/04 10:20 PM
ReneeO said...
Thank you all for the sweet comments. I should probably be *ashamed* I'm so proud of these! I always wonder, as inexperienced as I am, if it will be helpful to anyone to post a review. I guess the drive to show off my hard work is the greatest motivator. I partake of the fruits of this site daily and feel a little guilty for not having much to give back. Maybe one day I will sew as well as the Gigi's and Ann's of this world... Until then, I appreciate the encouragement, It does the heart good.... :) Thanks
4/15/04 10:43 PM
Joos said...
These are so cute!
4/15/04 11:28 PM
Lou. said...
OH my word, they are adorable. I have a similar oop pattern in Kwiksew that I really want to try now!
4/16/04 9:13 AM
Sew it seams said...
Renee you did a wonderful job. No one would know you are a "beginner"! I love the beach photo. :)
4/16/04 9:21 AM
PVA said...
Great job, Renee! That v-neck and sailor collar is a challenge for any and all of us. (Looks like that little guy would just as soon be naked.)
4/16/04 10:28 AM
moushka said...
Cute, cute, cute! I love sailor suits on little boys! Now to get busy on one for my new DGS who is due July 6th. Thanks for the inspiration. You did a great job.
4/16/04 6:55 PM
drsue said...
These outfits are adorable!!! Your experience with this pattern shows there is more than one way to skin a cat. I used steam a seam when I attached some trim reacently and it made it so much easier than it had ever been in the past. You might consider it for trim attachment in the future. BTW, V-necks are a pain, takes a lot of practice to really get them down. You really did a very, very nice job. You should be very proud.
4/17/04 11:57 AM
JDpenelope said...
Renee, I would be *bursting* with pride had I made these darling outfits. Love your embellishments and your stick-to-it-ive-ness. I'm a beginner, too, and enjoy reading experiences like yours--the struggles sound *so familiar*, and make me feel more "normal" somehow, while spurring me on to greater adventures!
4/21/04 9:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2584

photo
by: karen n

Review
Go To Patterns Go To Leggings

photo
by: kidmd

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now