Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3790 (knit top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1970 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR
About LynnRowestarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/10 11:35 PM
Last Updated:5/31/10 0:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I can't wait to see pics of your modifications. Please, please - can you try to get a close-up of the neck? I'm a little hesitant to try it again with facings - although I think a lighter weight fabric might have been a lot of my problem. I thought it was quite long, too (and I'm 6'3") - lol. I was also thinking it would make a nice dress. As far as cameras - I'd definitely check reviews before purchasing. I find Amazon reviews to be helpfull. Good luck in your search (and hurry, please - lol).
5/11/10 1:30 AM
elsew said...
Again, there should be another category withing the rating system entitled "Extremely Helpful" as this review certainly deserves it. What a great help this one is!
5/11/10 8:55 AM
Diane333 said...
can't wait for pictures
5/11/10 9:40 AM
cabinbaby said...
I can't wait to see your finished top. This pattern really caught my eye. I think I understand how you modified the top but I would like to see it with my eyeballs. :)
5/13/10 4:47 PM
LynnRowe said...
I'm trying to get a camera & fixins', so hopefully photos soon(ish)! Another way to do the modification I did is to follow the KS instructions for the facing...and then topstitch the facing down with the coverstitch machine. The look and effect would be the same. I've also been musing over my next top, and I think I'll turn in the gathered-shoulder seam allowance (closest to the neck), then turn in the neckline seam allowance, baste the neckline and gathered shoulder together, and coverstitch it all in the round (instead of stopping the coverstitching halfway thru to baste the neckline & shoulder). The lengths some of us will go to to avoid facings in knits...! :D
5/13/10 10:13 PM
homejewel said...
Hi Lynn - thanks so much for the photos - I've been waiting for this! Everything makes perfect sense except this and it's probably my brain shutting down on me. What exactly are you sewing here if the stitching is not going through to the front?: "Once basted in place, flip the garment front up and over, exposing the gathered shoulder seam allowance, and the binding. Sew across all thicknesses, making sure you don't catch the garment front. No stitches should show on the right side of garment front."

Did you by any chance get any closeups of the coverstitched neckline? I saw the underside, but not the finished side. I'm still trying to decide if adding the coverstitch makes it look more casual than not. It might be worth it just so it can lay better. How does it look on you? Did you have any gaping issues? Your fabric looks a lot thinner than mine and was a better choice. Thanks again!

Edited to add: Thanks, Lynn for the new neckline closeup. I definitely can live with a coverstitched neckline - that looks great. I'm going to print out your notes for next time. I still need to fix the wonkiness of my first attempt (the sagging front) and then I'll tackle a new one with lighter-weight knit. Love this top!
5/22/10 5:18 PM

LynnRowe said...
Hi homejewel! When you flip the garment front up & over, you'll see the binding strip, the garment front neckline seam allowance and the seam allowance of the gathered shoulder inset piece. You sew through those thicknesses; this is just to secure the shoulder to the binding strip, so you're not relying only on the coverstitching to prevent wardrobe malfunction, lol! Basically, you're just sewing the binding strip, garment front neckline seam allowance & the shoulder inset right sides together, BUT you want to sew *below* where the binding seamline is; above that seamline is the front (visible) garment neckline. It will make sense the minute you do it. I can take closeups of the right side of the neckline (or I'll try, at least, lol!) I don't think it makes it look more casual, but I've used thread that is a very close match and isn't very visible unless you're quiteclose. I snugged my binding when I sewed it to the neckline, so shouldn't be any gaping at all, but as I've not yet sewn the sideseams I haven't actually tried it on. (My first top was a very snappy-recovery knit that didn't gape at all; this one is much softer recovery). ETA: sideseams sewn, tried it on, LOVE it! And no gapping whatsoever, front or back. I touched my toes with a handmirror on the floor, and the neckline hugged my chest & didn't budge. Whew!
5/22/10 5:41 PM
LynnRowe said...
Close-up added at bottom of review. :)
5/22/10 5:51 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love it~
5/22/10 5:51 PM
sewing for fun said...
GREAT and detailed tutorial on the neckline! Thanks SO much - I hate facings, too and just bought this pattern. I will use your technique!
5/22/10 6:07 PM
Twinset said...
Love this top. Need this pattern. Mmm, I have a feeling that it is going to be a favorite on PR. Thanks for all the detailed info!
5/22/10 6:46 PM
Paris75008 said...
what a very lovely top and thanks for the tutorial on eliminating facings. Very useful. Not sure I quite understand the "flip garment front up and over" part, but that could be due to my being brain dead due to the late hour...
5/22/10 6:52 PM
LynnRowe said...
Hi Paris, it's not you; it's one of those things that is easy to understand when you see/try it, but tough to describe, lol! If you look at the photo where the garment front is basted into position over the gathered sleeve inset. Now if you lifted up the garment front piece, and flipped it over so it was face to face on top of the gathered shoulder inset, at the bottom you'd have the exposed seam allowance of the gathered inset, and the garment front neckline, and the binding strip. If you sew along those thicknesses, your stitching won't show on the garment front, coz it's flipped up out of the way. Hope that helps! :)
5/22/10 7:01 PM
julie w said...
Love your top. This pattern is on my want this and thanks to your excellent tutorial on omitting the facings it is now on my shopping list! Love the colour of your fabric too, from another teal fan.
5/22/10 7:08 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Beautiful! Thanks for the info on the facing or lack thereof. I'll have to give it a whirl.
5/22/10 9:52 PM
DaisyEsq said...
I'm going to print your review because it's extraordinarily helpful. The top is beautiful and the color is great.
5/22/10 10:42 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty top.
5/22/10 10:50 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty top. I really like the color too.
5/22/10 10:51 PM
Lisa p said...
Thankyou for this very helpfull review . I also hate neckline facings so I would copy what you have done here . I have never noticed this pattern before but yours looks 100% nicer than the pattern envelope.
5/23/10 2:13 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Thanks for the detailed review. Facings are part of what I detest about knits. Good info to have. Wish we could see the top on a person.
5/23/10 8:29 AM
Nancy K said...
Great top, and I love your technique. am I correct in seeing that you used a single layer binding?
5/23/10 9:04 AM
MarshaG. said...
BEAUTIFUL top, and I am so happy to see how you did the neckline, because I also am not too fond of neck facings, particularly in knits! I've bookmarked this page for future reference, once I get around to trying this pattern. I am always drawn to asymmetry, so this neckline is right up my alley! Thanks so much for sharing your neckline treatment.
5/23/10 9:54 AM
LynnRowe said...
Hi Nancy K, yes you're correct, I used a single binding layer. :)
5/23/10 11:23 AM
Raye Ann said...
Lynn, this is really, really beautiful! thank you so much for the helpful instructions. i was not impressed with the pattern envelope, but have liked your version as well as homejewel's. if i do get this pattern (likely), I will definitely use your finishing methods! thanks again.
5/23/10 1:00 PM
MichelleE said...
Thanks for the detailed review and I love how your top turned out. I love using my coverstitch for the same purpose - bleh to facings! I would not have thought much of this pattern until I saw your review, now I will have to get it!
5/23/10 2:20 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks so much for your great review on your beautiful top. I have this pattern on my cutting table right now so you have led me by the hand.
5/23/10 2:38 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your review should be REVIEW OF THE YEAR! Let me head up the nominating committee now... Great topper can't wait to see your 'dress' version. thank you SEW very much!
5/26/10 10:51 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a must-try pattern. Thanks for your great review.
5/31/10 0:32 AM
Kath in ON said...
This pattern has been on my wish list since the day I saw it. I'll definitley pick it up now. Thanks for the very helpful review.
5/31/10 7:37 AM
no7262 said...
Lynn, It looks beautiful! You really did an great job! Nora :)
5/31/10 10:24 AM
Robin Denning said...
Thanks for the great review - cute top!
5/31/10 3:51 PM
loti said...
I must have this, what a great color, and I love the non facing version (I don't like facings in knits either).
6/2/10 7:45 PM
tbugg said...
Can I just give you my size and you make it for me...ha ha ha! I love how it turned out!
2/2/12 9:07 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I just reread this because of Debbie Cooke's thank you thread. I guess PR will not let me rate it "very helpful" twice, oh well. I always wonder why pattern companies are so far behind ready to wear when it comes to knits. A facing? Really? Your solve is elegant.
9/22/13 12:24 PM
Elona said...
What a genius improvement on the Kwik Sew Klunky facing!
9/22/13 1:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Vogue Patterns 8469 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by andread on 4/10/11
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1042
photo
Review by arianamani... on 3/4/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1434 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1434 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2451 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 2451 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us