Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 7945 (Alexis Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 338 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/10 10:33 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
I love this on you! A lot of trial and error, but the end result was so worth it.
5/11/10 11:11 AM
dingyadi said...
Really cute skirt, and glad you stuck to it as it looks really nice on you. I love your amortisation of costs too. It is clear from your comments though, that the great result on the skirt is due to your efforts, not the pattern drafter. I have to say, as an Australian, hearing that here is such a thing as a 'kangaroo pocket' is a bit freaky - what is it? A front pouch? Please tell me that pattern makers aren't expecting women to make clothes with tummy pouches!
5/11/10 11:22 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Well done . . . looks terrific!
5/11/10 12:04 PM
Mufffet said...
I think this is by far the best looking skirt on you that you have made recently. GREAT fit and it flatters you very much. Nice work and nice color too!
5/11/10 2:14 PM
MNBarb said...
I know this skirt was more work than you ever expected but it looks very nice on you. I agree, a pouch pocket on a skirt is just weird and those pleats had to go. Maybe they would work with a very drapey fabric.
5/11/10 6:50 PM
Schnauzer said...
Really lovely skirt!
5/11/10 7:01 PM
sew2little said...
In spite of your having to fiddle with this, it is so becoming. It should become a TNT--as you look fabulous in it and it's such a classic shape.
5/11/10 8:47 PM
Kayseri said...
Your finished skirt is lovely but I see what you mean about those pleats. Good riddance I say.
5/11/10 11:53 PM
Mushywear said...
I love the color of this one and it fits you really nice. Glad you got it all worked out!
5/12/10 1:24 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Good save. You have a very pretty skirt.
5/12/10 2:44 AM
carolynw said...
Looks great on you - sometimes it takes more work than expected but if it turns out as nice as this - then it was worth it!!
5/12/10 9:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7942
photo
Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5144
photo
Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us