SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1169 (Misses' Jacket And Skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2194 times 
Reviewed by:brocadegoddess
photo

 
 
About brocadegoddessstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 5/25/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/10 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
84 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jeannine1976 said...
Wow. Just...wow. It's absolutely stunning. I can't get over the detail. Your thesis didn't NEED a defense with a suit like that, but I'm glad you did so well anyhow! :)
5/11/10 4:26 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Wonderful SUIT.
5/11/10 4:34 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful! I love your topstitching! I hope your thesis defense went well!
5/11/10 4:38 PM
PhoebeMade said...
This is amazing! Beautiful work.
5/11/10 4:51 PM
MissCelie said...
Ummm. Ok. I'm speeechless. This is just jaw dropping. I told myself this year that there was no point in making a suit because it was never going to look good. Yet, here you are making this really amazing ensemble.
5/11/10 5:21 PM
nglalala said...
Wow! I love this pattern pattern since it first came out and have been intimidated by the advance rating. You're so awesome!
5/11/10 6:35 PM
JanieBee said...
Very smart!
5/11/10 7:12 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful. Congratulations on both the suit and the thesis. Well done.
5/11/10 7:18 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Fabulous work! You are rocking that suit!
5/11/10 7:26 PM
amy in mpls said...
im in love with your suit!!! wow, super impressive, you look gorgeous!
5/11/10 7:47 PM
clgangi said...
Gorgeous!
5/11/10 8:26 PM
sew2little said...
Your skill is so apparent in this beautiful jacket, but when I went to your website, I was in awe. No wonder your handwork is so exquisite. I can only guess that your defense went well--as you are so very talented.
5/11/10 8:43 PM
TJSEWS said...
I really don't know what to say. I love everything about your suit. The color. The detailing. You are meticulous and so very talented. Wow!
5/11/10 9:08 PM
blessedtosew said...
That suit is absolutely, positively STUNNING!!!! I have that pattern and has almost decided not to sew it, but you have made me definitely want to.
5/11/10 9:16 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your suit is wonderful, very impressive. Congratulations on the successful defense of your thesis.
5/11/10 9:25 PM
brocadegoddess said...
Oh, thank you so much for all the lovely comments, I'm blushing! And for the congrats on my defense - it was a particularly long road to get there and it's still sinking in. I would really encourage anyone who has/likes this pattern to try it out. Just don't do it in a rush, but take your time with the steps. It's not easy, but it is very rewarding. I can also not stress enough the importance of muslining the jacket first to get the fit right before cutting your fabric.
5/11/10 9:33 PM
HLT said...
Your jacket is stunning! The contrast piping and the hand stitching make it marvelous!
5/11/10 9:55 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous suit!
5/11/10 10:04 PM
Lori V said...
Your jacket is amazing. Fantastic job.
5/11/10 11:09 PM
Steffani said...
You are a knockout in that suit! Beautiful work!
5/11/10 11:14 PM
JanaL said...

5/11/10 11:47 PM
JanaL said...
This suit is just stunning. Beautiful work.
5/11/10 11:47 PM
SeamsFabulous said...
Simply beautiful!
5/11/10 11:56 PM
Mary Nanna said...
piped welt pockets indeed - that is a whole new level of accomplished sewing - well done on passing your thesis and well done for making such an exquisite suit in such a short amount of time.
5/12/10 0:37 AM
manola6176 said...
Areal master piece Hope the jury has been impressed
5/12/10 2:54 AM
Leora said...
Beautiful suit!
5/12/10 3:26 AM
Rosesred said...
Beautiful suit. I love the fit, the colorchoices, everything! Very beatiful, and it looks great on you
5/12/10 3:54 AM
wreninrome said...
You look so lovely! The suit is amazing. Congratulations!
5/12/10 6:22 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, wow, wow, don't know what else to add that hasn't already been said--this is a work of art! Top notch!! What amazes me is you made it to defend your thesis. Holey moley!! First the thesis, then the suit. Unbelievable. Congrats on your thesis defense.
5/12/10 9:08 AM
jaeng said...
very cute, I love it. You picked the best colors for this pattern.
5/12/10 10:13 AM
RLL said...
Incredible!
5/12/10 12:48 PM
Skymom said...
Fantastic suit. They should have given you a PhD--wouldn't that be a great way to advance through grad school, by virtue of great clothes?!
5/12/10 2:05 PM
jent said...
This is such a beautiful garment - it just blows me away! Amazing.
5/12/10 7:33 PM
imsewcrazy said...
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!
5/12/10 7:39 PM
Pixie Helen said...
fantastic. a beautiful beautiful suit, and an MA to boot! whooohoooo!
5/13/10 2:19 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your suit is beautifully sewn and incredibly detailed. Just amazing. Congratulations on your thesis defense, too.
5/13/10 3:33 AM
sunny74 said...
This is just incredible. Congratulations on the defense and the suit!
5/13/10 8:40 AM
Amanda S. said...
Love it! This is definitely on my must-make list, so I'm happy to read about the vintage construction details you added. Great job, and I'm blad your thesis defense went well.
5/13/10 9:35 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful job. A wonderful color too.
5/13/10 8:08 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
OMG!!! Outstanding.
5/14/10 1:31 PM
3HoursPast said...
This is so beautiful, I love how you put so much work into the details.
5/14/10 9:08 PM
3HoursPast said...
I hope you don't mind, I linked to your review in a blog post. You inspire me. http://3hourspast.blogspot.com/2010/05/buttons-belts-bits.html
5/14/10 10:40 PM
Sharon M said...
Stunning! Love the additional "behind the scenes" vintage details you added. Hope the thesis defense went well.
5/15/10 9:07 AM
brocadegoddess said...
Of course I don't mind Bellelass, what a compliment! And thank you again for all the wonderful comments, I really did put a lot of effort into this suit I won't lie, so it feels really good to have my hard work and patience appreciated by fellow sewists. And I kicked butt at my defense! Wish me luck with the PhD one in 4 yrs time, lol!
5/15/10 12:35 PM
Englishstitch said...
Totally fabulous!! An amazing suit you've made and it fits you perfectly. I like the vintage construction techniques you've used and the fabric colour is perfect for you too! Really great! :-)
5/15/10 2:25 PM
Pinkbird said...
Absolutely gorgeous!! Lovely construction details and fantastic color choices-a really fine piece of work that you should be proud of!! Thank you for showing it to us!!
5/15/10 5:57 PM
Scheryka said...
Love this one. Looks like it came off the racks from Stein Mart. A dept store I dare not buy...pricy to me. Gorgeous.
5/15/10 8:13 PM
colorkitten said...
Wow, what an amazing, gorgeous suit! I can't wait to see what you make when it's time for your PhD!
5/16/10 9:49 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful work, lovely color choice for a redhead. Now I think I have to have this pattern! You are truly an inspiration, and congratulations on your defense.
5/16/10 12:36 PM
SueV said...
wow! Beautiful... love it!
5/17/10 5:37 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh my! you are amazing...
5/17/10 10:49 PM
mamaluv2sew said...
Beautiful Work! Well Done!
5/18/10 11:22 PM
cindyann said...
That is just beautiful! Lovely work.
5/19/10 10:34 AM
crazycurlgirl said...
Wow! Love the piping. You look like a smart & naughty Lois Lane.
5/19/10 2:21 PM
Cheryl in Chicago said...
beautiful work. I wish I had a friend with your sewing skills!
5/19/10 4:42 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Wow! You've created a show-stopper of a suit! Stylish, great fit, excellent workmanship, very nice fabrics - an A+, for sure. I love the contrast piping and hand stitching. Wonderful!
5/19/10 9:09 PM
Jea1978 said...
I am in love with this outfit.
5/19/10 10:01 PM
Mazzygirl said...
simply incredible, totally impressive, amazing! I love your fabirc choice (gorgeous colours) & am gob-smacked at all the couture details. I have this pattern & have been looking for the ideal fabric. after seeing your excellent results I can't wait to give it a go! PS. well done on your thesis defence too! What a woman!
5/20/10 4:14 AM
Paris75008 said...
Wowee. That is the most amazing work and the most beautiful suit. You are unbelievably talented. You look absolutely gorgeous wearing that suit and having such amazing skills must have given you the self confidence you needed for your thesis defense
5/20/10 8:33 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous suit - you can really see the time and effort that went into making such a nice garment. Congratulations!!
5/20/10 12:52 PM
ggf2005 said...
absolutely outstanding, you did a wonderful job!fabulous fit and color!
5/20/10 1:47 PM
Red Curtain said...
Spectacular. I love the buttons, button loops, topstitching and choice of fabrics.
5/20/10 11:51 PM
MarinaVK said...
this is a great work!!!! thank you for sharing some vintage sewing tips! Looking forward for more reviews from you! Marina
5/23/10 2:15 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is truly outstanding.
5/24/10 12:02 PM
Lana E said...
Holy Moly I'm just blown away! What an AMAZING suit you've conjured up! I love that blue on you and your construction techniques are superb.
5/24/10 7:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Just stunning! Love everything about it. Much nicer than the grey version on the pattern.
5/26/10 6:53 AM
Tenshi said...
Congratulations on winning the contest. This suit looks so amazing. I love all the exquisite details you added.
5/28/10 11:40 AM
Jali said...
Outstanding suit! Love the piping and all the white details which look just like delicious icing on a cake. Speaking of icing on the cake, congratulations on your contest win!
5/28/10 12:50 PM
quathy said...
My jaw has dropped in amazement, and it may never go back quite the right way... Outstanding!!!
5/28/10 4:02 PM
cgHipp said...
Another vote for "WOW!!!" It looks fantastic. Great pattern on you, perfect fabric/color - amazing job!
5/28/10 7:50 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is just stunning, it's such a joy to go through your photos! Thanks a lot for construction tips.
5/29/10 7:39 AM
Meredith P said...
I'll just add to the chorus! Wow! Very inspiring! And congrats on that Masters.
5/29/10 7:07 PM
nikarphar said...
This one is AMAZING !! Looks like it came off directly from the saks rack. wow Wow Wow !!
6/1/10 10:00 PM
Beek said...
Fabulous creation. And what a great idea about inserting the boning in the seams to keep the jacket from scrunching while one sits down. Thanks for sharing!
7/11/10 9:28 AM
Gordita1616 said...
Thank you for sharing your photos. I spent 3 hours yesterday cutting out just the main fabric (not the lining or interfacing), and I felt a little discouraged. But after seeing your suit, I am all over this project. It looks fantastic!
7/19/10 2:05 PM
valgal said...
You have out done your self. Your suit is gorgous and your handy work was amazing.
7/21/10 1:36 AM
valgal said...
You have out done your self. Your suit is gorgous and your handy work was amazing.
7/21/10 1:36 AM
3HoursPast said...
I Just love this suit. I can't stop re-visiting. :)
8/7/10 9:01 AM
salsera7 said...
You did a fantastic job with impeccable detailing. Very well done!
8/24/10 5:02 PM
florenceandkids said...
Divine suit. I'm going to attempt to make this suit in the new year - I can only hope that it looks as good as yours.
12/30/10 10:36 PM
anwen said...
That's gorgeous! *deeply impressed*
5/5/11 7:51 AM
Patchoulie said...
Wow! Excellent job! I am trying to get hold of this pattern and give it a shot! Thank you for the inspiration!
5/28/11 12:10 PM
a life in stitches said...
It's lovely - well done. I have just made this suit too, and am really pleased with it. I would also encourage intermediate-advanced sewers to have a go. Make a toile, practice techniques that are new to you, have fun.
7/19/11 6:11 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW, amazing! I think Vogue should have your version on the pattern envelope. Great details
3/13/13 2:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now