SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-126 (Simple Hooded Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 476 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/10 5:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
This coat looks Great! Your sleeve-fix is very stylish. I love it!
5/13/10 5:53 PM
Leora said...
Nice save! I love that fabric, what a nice raincoat.
5/13/10 5:59 PM
denese said...
Barbara. as usuall you look wonderful i thought it was the same pattern that we discussed. We do not get that mag in aust. I only have to put the buttons on mine and will send photos with my daughter wearing it. thank you for being an inspiration, i need a bit at the moment. thank you keep them coming.
5/13/10 6:45 PM
Ann Smith said...
You are amazing drafting your own gussets. Great save. I had forgotten about this project but remember when you bought the fabric.
5/13/10 6:52 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I have almost forgotten this pattern by now, I love the way it looks on you so much that I will have to put this back to my sew list! Thanks for the review.
5/13/10 7:58 PM
Catbird said...
That is one cool, clever, chic raincoat! Your changes and fabric choice give this even more style than the original. I love it!
5/13/10 8:27 PM
Christas said...
Barbara, you are SO talented! I have so much trouble sewing gussets - can't even imagine drafting them. Your jacket looks wonderful on you!
5/14/10 0:41 AM
sfshaza said...
Gorgeous coat! I can't believe it, but I (and two friends) have this same fabric. None of us have sewn it yet. :) This looks *great* on you!!
5/14/10 3:07 AM
kerrynw said...
You have done a fantastic job resurrecting this jacket. Looks great on you!
5/14/10 3:35 AM
Kayseri said...
I was looking at this the other day, it's lovely to see it made up - your's looks far better than Burda's. Great save with the sleeves.
5/14/10 6:08 AM
Elke said...
Great looking coat...it looks fabulous on you. Nice choice of fabric too!
5/14/10 6:28 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous coat. I am so impressed with the changes you have made to really make this work for you. I love it!
5/14/10 9:51 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! Love, love it.
5/14/10 1:24 PM
Twinset said...
Great raincoat! I love the elegant simplicity of it and the big hood, of course!
5/14/10 1:57 PM
DorothyK said...
This coat is fantastic. Amazing how you saved it from tight sleeve syndrome. The entire look is fabulous on you.
5/14/10 2:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
I am so glad that you rescued this chic jacket from "hiding"! You definitely will be stylishly and practically ready for the wet weather
5/14/10 5:40 PM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning jacket--how brave to just make up your own underarm gussets. These are one of my most favorite things in the world.
5/15/10 9:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Hello, gorgeous! Now that's what I call perseverance, making your own G-U-S-S-E-T-S. Not only do I try to AVOID them altogether, I can't imagine drafting my own. That being said, I LOVE the look and the fit of anything with G-U-S-S-E-T-S. They just make ALL the difference (I say). This raincoat is so chic, and, of course, your addition of those unique buttons over the snaps just make it. :o)
5/15/10 7:44 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great save on this oh, so chic jacket. You took a casual rather plain style and created an interesting, stylish raincoat. As always, another beautiful piece of work, Barbara.
5/22/10 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 60432-1025

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now