Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1736 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 796 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:JanaL
photo
About JanaLstar
UT USA
Member since: 10/8/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/10 11:38 PM
Last Updated:5/12/10 10:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSY said...
I think you should bump your self rating to ADVANCED! You have done an awesome job. Fantastic and Fabulous.
5/11/10 11:44 PM
SewSho said...
Wow! What an achievement! Great fit and ur sewing is so neat, love those bound button holes!
5/12/10 0:09 AM
Twinset said...
Great jacket, really! Wonderful job.
5/12/10 0:15 AM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful jacket and your skills using your sloper to fit this jacket are fantastic.
5/12/10 0:29 AM
Terri A said...
Wonderful jacket, great review!
5/12/10 2:56 AM
sugarduck said...
Wow...this looks so professional! Great job and great jacket.
5/12/10 3:00 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, this is a really wonderful jacket. I am seriously impressed with your topstitching, lining and fitting skills. This is perfect. Well done. What a wonderful idea to use the sloper to get the fit just so.
5/12/10 5:28 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks perfect. You did a great job with those fitting issues, and that fabric is a wonderful, unexpected twist.
5/12/10 7:58 AM
JanieBee said...
Terrific! Well done!
5/12/10 8:44 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful work! I love your fabric choice. You are so clever with the fusible interfacing and organza - what a great idea. It sounds like your sloper is serving you well.
5/12/10 8:46 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Time to move it up to Advanced. Great jacket and commentary on how you did it.
5/12/10 9:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is a fabulous jacket. I admire your skills in drafting your own sloper and adapting other patterns to it. Great job!
5/12/10 9:15 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Beautiful color and style,
5/12/10 10:09 AM
Cornelia said...
How lovely! Your fitting is superb and your construction is impeccable. I've been mulling over a double princess seam jacket and you're encouraging me. I'll use my Pattern Master Boutique 4 sloper and draft the jacket in that. Your "instructions" will be very helpful. Thank you.
5/12/10 10:22 AM
Patti B said...
Wonderful, fabulous jacket. What a great idea with the silk organza and the interfacing. Your patience and skill are nicely showcased.
5/12/10 11:32 AM
Scheryka said...
I am loving your fabric choice. Good job and your sewing is so neat.
5/12/10 11:48 AM
Sanibelle said...
Beautiful. Looks very "high-end boutique". Thanks for the organza / fusible interfacing idea!
5/12/10 12:12 PM
CissieW said...
Love the jacket -- the crinkly fabric, the fit. Everything. Your bound buttonholes are perfect. No way you're an intermediate. If that is true, I'm a rank beginner!
5/12/10 12:15 PM
Aixoise said...
Splendid fit. Interesting comments about Marfy's subtle shaping. It shows in the way the jacket has just the right amount of flare. Lovely work.
5/12/10 2:29 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Very impressive.
5/12/10 2:51 PM
Rhoda K said...
I'll just have to ''ditto'' all above comments - your jacket is beautiful.
5/12/10 3:17 PM
brocadegoddess said...
Yeah, I think it's time to move on up to Advanced. You've sure earned it, this jacket looks just PERFECT!
5/12/10 4:20 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Definitely Advanced as I understand Marfy has no instructions with their patterns. Thanks for the organza tip!
5/12/10 4:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a knockout of a jacket! Impeccable fit and sensational style on you!
5/12/10 5:13 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a great jacket!
5/12/10 6:49 PM
TJSEWS said...
I agree with other posters that you should move your rank to "Advanced." Beautiful jacket. I love those bound buttonholes!
5/12/10 8:19 PM
janet said...
What a GORGEOUS, WELL FITTING jacket! Your execution is flawless...
5/12/10 9:03 PM
Sarsez said...
I love the interfacing idea. Fantastic jacket. Well done.
5/12/10 9:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow, Jana. You've done a brilliant job with this jacket. It fits you perfectly and it's so well constructed. Congratulations!
5/13/10 3:24 AM
Erica B. said...
That's one cool looking jacket! Love the fabric choice! It makes it really stand out.
5/13/10 8:50 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very cool jacket! LOVE the unique fabric and the color.
5/13/10 9:28 AM
Justiina said...
Your jacket is totally gorgeous! I love your immaculate stitching and those buttonholes are masterpieces! Great job!!!
5/19/10 3:14 AM
pterion said...
There is so much to admire in both the jacket AND the review. You've done a beautiful job constructing and fitting this distinctive jacket and explained your process so well!
5/19/10 9:27 AM
becca a said...
Wow! Beautiful jacket and beautiful fit.
5/19/10 6:20 PM
Paris75008 said...
Absolutely stunning jacket. The fit is PERFECT! I just love everything about this jacket, from the fabric and the color to the impeccable topstitching. And those bound buttonholes are super-professional. Thanks for the silk organza / fusible interfacint tip. Great idea. Agree with the other posters, you are definitely Advance.
5/20/10 8:22 AM
JillyBe said...
I think it's all been said by the other comments - Brava!
5/22/10 2:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2008-133 Men's hoodie
photo
Review by crisford on 9/20/09
Read Review

Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6699 Pattern
New Look 6699 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2599 Dresses
photo
Review by 2BSewing on 5/30/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us