SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2919 (Pleated Cardigan and Vest)

36 more reviews
Viewed 1871 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/27/10 8:50 PM
Last Updated:6/2/10 0:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
iSewQuiltArt said...
Thanks for the heads up on the shoulders and sleeves being so small, and i love the fabric you used. I used the same fabric in a Sandra Betzina cardi and it is so comfy to wear, yours looks really nice.
4/6/11 7:05 PM
cindyann said...
Thank you for the great review of this pattern. It's been very helpful.
8/31/10 9:40 AM
Peggy L said...
Great review! It looks great on you.
6/10/10 0:17 AM
ClaireEmily said...
You have so sold me on this pattern - it looks great on you! Pity I JUST ordered from PR - and now I'll have to pay postage again =)
6/2/10 7:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
A very helpful review. The cardi looks wonderful on you. I do love those front pleats.
6/2/10 5:25 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
100 pattern reviews! Great!
6/2/10 12:44 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I think I have to get this pattern. Thanks for the review.
6/2/10 10:17 AM
ryansmumAria said...
ooooh, very nice!
6/2/10 8:09 AM
Mel.J said...
Looks great on you, Belinda. Thanks for another very useful review!
6/2/10 7:17 AM
Aixoise said...
Your cardigan looks just lovely on you. Thanks for the photo (and for all your informative and helpful reviews).
6/2/10 1:26 AM
MareeAlison said...
Belinda - a great review as usual. I really like this pattern and your rendition of it. Hugs Maree PS not sure if you can have a rendition of a pattern but it sounded good at the time. :-)
5/29/10 1:40 AM
JDpenelope said...
Jalie should hire you to test their patterns. After your head scratching and hard work, you have a very nice cardi.
5/28/10 4:32 PM
RLL said...
This is really attractive. Your fabric choice really shows the pleats very nicely.
5/28/10 3:07 PM
emilieatjalie said...
Thanks for pointing out the error. We updated the PDF instructions on our website and made the correction on the pattern file for the next reprint. Step 14 should read: "Fold lengthwise, right sides together, and stitch across both ends (fig. 14), 1 cm (3/8) from edge." Steps 15 and 17: 2 cm (3/4'') is the correct distance/hem allowance.
5/28/10 1:42 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you for all the information you put in your review. It is so very helpful and I love your version of this cardi!
5/28/10 11:32 AM
1SewSweet said...
Thanks for the info! I have not purchased this one yet, but had planned to. Your tips will help me to be successful...thank you!
5/28/10 7:03 AM
brissie71 said...
Thanks for the review, Belinda. I've got this one in my must-sew list for this winter. I'm printing out your review now and putting it with my pattern.
5/28/10 3:01 AM
whistlin dixie said...
This is a very nice looking cardi. I appreciate the pattern corrections you indicated. Thanks for a thorough review!
5/27/10 10:36 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely! And as always, a thorough and informative review. Very much appreciated. Thank you.
5/27/10 10:35 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is beautiful - I love the fabric!
5/27/10 10:27 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful cardi and, as always, a very thorough review - thank you.
5/27/10 10:23 PM
RadarRadiance said...
The more I see this pattern done up the more I love it! It looks great and interesting tips. It is too bad they don't fix it and the symetrical sleeves is something to think about if I get the pattern. Love them all, yours looks very nice.
5/27/10 9:34 PM
Skye said...
Brilliant - thanks for the heads up regarding the instructions and sleeve draft. This pattern is waiting in an ever increasing queue for me to trace of and make. Like the fabric that you have used
5/27/10 9:31 PM
lynny said...
Thanks Belinda, I have printed off your comments too. I have some lovely fine merino I am hoping to make up soon.
5/27/10 9:17 PM
dresser 123 said...
Thanks for this. I made my first one of these a few weeks ago. Did not notice the errors but recall overlocking off the protruding piece at the shoulder. Just cut out my second one, a lighter weight knit for summer, will look at the hem instructions a bit closer. Great pattern, really pleased with my first cardigan.
5/20/10 12:59 PM
JenniferBee said...
Thanks Belinda, Just received this pattern in the mail yesterday so will put your comments in the pattern for future reference
5/14/10 4:03 AM
addicted2fabric said...
This is my current favourite pattern. I'm working on my 4th variation of it now, and until reading this, had never given any thought to the top of the pleats. You are correct, they dont line up properly. I've always just wacked that bit off with the overlocker after I've sewn all the pleats. I have never noticed the hem inconsistencies. I glanced at the printed off instructions the first time I made it, but I tend to size hems to suit myself rather than go by the pattern. I cant wait to see your Jalie cardi, I'm sure it will as gorgeous as all your other creations :o)
5/12/10 3:45 PM
Time4me said...
Thanks for posting this. This is a good example of how one person can make a pattern (I did) and not even notice the errors to put in their review.
5/12/10 1:38 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks Belinda - I am hoping to make this one up soon. Thanks again for finishing this garment and review I will be following your advice on the shoulders and sleeves (I think we may be similar body shapes, except for the fba - which I definitely don't need!)
5/12/10 7:11 AM
no7262 said...
Thank you for posting this. It will be very helpful! Nora :)
5/12/10 7:10 AM
TKW said...
Thank you for the heads-up. I just received my pattern and am looking forward to making one. I would have been so frustrated. I appreciate your post.
5/12/10 5:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 1903

photo
by: LizzM26

Review
Other Tailors Guide 127

photo
by: KiwiWendy

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

More Info
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

More Info