SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8590 (TOTES AND DOUBLE BAGS)

8 more reviews
Viewed 340 times 
Reviewed by:Fran S
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Fran Sstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/15/09
Reviews: 25 (patterns: 25)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/10 10:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said... (5/15/10 10:49 AM) Reply
Just bought this pattern yesterday due to yours and Patti B's review! I will be doing mine in silk dupioni but will make a smaller bag ( view C) in fabrics pretty close to the picture I looked on your blog and what you have sewn ~ I am a returning seamstress myself ! Going to add you on my list of "favorites"!
Catbird said... (5/13/10 8:37 PM) Reply
I love the way this turned out. The silk was such a perfect choice and your work looks flawless. I want one!!
JodieT said... (5/13/10 10:26 AM) Reply
Your bag is fabulous! You plaid silk duponi works beautfiully and your sewing is fabulous. I have this pattern, and now want to get with it and sew something up. Thank you for review.
fashionablysew said... (5/13/10 10:05 AM) Reply
This is a very professional chic bag. I love the colors you chose. It looks great! I have this pattern, but have not made it yet. This inspires me to find some fabric and make one. Thanks.
sfshaza said... (5/12/10 1:19 PM) Reply
Beautiful bag! I have this pattern as well, and I love yours in the plaid silk duppioni. Just gorgeous!
marec said... (5/12/10 11:16 AM) Reply
It is so professional looking, and beautiful. Have you seen the book "Bags with Style"? You have such talent and attention to detail and so have made a gorgeous bag.
Fran S said... (5/12/10 11:05 AM) Reply
I like the size Patti. The canvas on the bottom is 13x4.5 so it's pretty roomy (I made the smaller one). I can throw in a wallet, checkbook, glasses, phone and still have room. I'm experimenting with the bottom. I just added some timtex as well and put in a heavy wallet and it seems to be holding shape very well. I don't like when the bottom of a fabric bag distorts at all when filled with heavy things.
Fran S said... (5/12/10 11:03 AM) Reply
I like the size Patti. The canvas on the bottom is 13x4.5 so it's pretty roomy (I made the smaller one). I can throw in a wallet, checkbook, glasses, phone and still have room. I'm experimenting with the bottom. I just added some timtex as well and put in a heavy wallet and it seems to be holding shape very well. I don't like when the bottom of a fabric bag distorts at all when filled with heavy things.
Patti B said... (5/12/10 10:48 AM) Reply
This is gorgeous in the silk. Very nice! How do you like the size for a purse?
psgates said... (5/12/10 10:17 AM) Reply
Love the fabric choice!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5390 OOP

photo
by: SueT

Review
Vogue Patterns 8672

photo
by: Janine S

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Pattern Details