SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8590 (TOTES AND DOUBLE BAGS)

8 more reviews
Viewed 338 times 
Reviewed by:Fran S
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Fran Sstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/15/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/10 10:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
psgates said...
Love the fabric choice!
5/12/10 10:17 AM
Patti B said...
This is gorgeous in the silk. Very nice! How do you like the size for a purse?
5/12/10 10:48 AM
Fran S said...
I like the size Patti. The canvas on the bottom is 13x4.5 so it's pretty roomy (I made the smaller one). I can throw in a wallet, checkbook, glasses, phone and still have room. I'm experimenting with the bottom. I just added some timtex as well and put in a heavy wallet and it seems to be holding shape very well. I don't like when the bottom of a fabric bag distorts at all when filled with heavy things.
5/12/10 11:03 AM
Fran S said...
I like the size Patti. The canvas on the bottom is 13x4.5 so it's pretty roomy (I made the smaller one). I can throw in a wallet, checkbook, glasses, phone and still have room. I'm experimenting with the bottom. I just added some timtex as well and put in a heavy wallet and it seems to be holding shape very well. I don't like when the bottom of a fabric bag distorts at all when filled with heavy things.
5/12/10 11:05 AM
marec said...
It is so professional looking, and beautiful. Have you seen the book "Bags with Style"? You have such talent and attention to detail and so have made a gorgeous bag.
5/12/10 11:16 AM
sfshaza said...
Beautiful bag! I have this pattern as well, and I love yours in the plaid silk duppioni. Just gorgeous!
5/12/10 1:19 PM
fashionablysew said...
This is a very professional chic bag. I love the colors you chose. It looks great! I have this pattern, but have not made it yet. This inspires me to find some fabric and make one. Thanks.
5/13/10 10:05 AM
JodieT said...
Your bag is fabulous! You plaid silk duponi works beautfiully and your sewing is fabulous. I have this pattern, and now want to get with it and sew something up. Thank you for review.
5/13/10 10:26 AM
Catbird said...
I love the way this turned out. The silk was such a perfect choice and your work looks flawless. I want one!!
5/13/10 8:37 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Just bought this pattern yesterday due to yours and Patti B's review! I will be doing mine in silk dupioni but will make a smaller bag ( view C) in fabrics pretty close to the picture I looked on your blog and what you have sewn ~ I am a returning seamstress myself ! Going to add you on my list of "favorites"!
5/15/10 10:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now