SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8913 

1 more reviews
Viewed 171 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/10 11:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Room2ndfloor Thank you for the link! I agree, a true great kilt is not something you can fake! The reason he opted out was because we tried it at an event with the purchased fabric...haha. That took too long to get him dressed, and he's lazy at events. He's really an full blooded Irishman, and PROUD of that fact, so the trouble really wasn't worth it to him. He just wanted something easy to wear, and this serves that purpose, and still looks pretty good.
5/22/10 0:40 AM
room2ndfloor said...
The full 9 yards or so on a man's kilt is what gives the characteristic swing. There's no substitute. There's quite a discussion on the "X Marks the Scot" forum. ://www.xmarksthescot.com/forum/f99/kilt-making-instructions-online-13629/
5/17/10 9:15 PM
dfr2010 said...
I ask because the only good page I've found is Lady Drea's (ElizabethanCostume.net) and she doesn't do kilts. I'm wondering what's good for kilt pleating on teh intrawebz, as I have this pattern also!
5/16/10 11:40 AM
Aroura said...
No I haven't, or I would have fixed it up a bit better. I did read an article from a member here, on her blog, but I am such a beginner still, I didn't understand about half the terminology in the article. But thank you, I am trying :)
5/16/10 10:42 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
5/16/10 9:29 AM
dfr2010 said...
Have you found any good resources on pleating, especially in regards to kilts?
5/16/10 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1120

photo
by: julliams

Review
Simplicity 2413

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

More Info
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info