Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8913 

1 more reviews
Viewed 181 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews: 149 (patterns: 144)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/10 11:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said... (5/22/10 0:40 AM) Reply
Room2ndfloor Thank you for the link! I agree, a true great kilt is not something you can fake! The reason he opted out was because we tried it at an event with the purchased fabric...haha. That took too long to get him dressed, and he's lazy at events. He's really an full blooded Irishman, and PROUD of that fact, so the trouble really wasn't worth it to him. He just wanted something easy to wear, and this serves that purpose, and still looks pretty good.
room2ndfloor said... (5/17/10 9:15 PM) Reply
The full 9 yards or so on a man's kilt is what gives the characteristic swing. There's no substitute. There's quite a discussion on the "X Marks the Scot" forum. ://www.xmarksthescot.com/forum/f99/kilt-making-instructions-online-13629/
dfr2010 said... (5/16/10 11:40 AM) Reply
I ask because the only good page I've found is Lady Drea's (ElizabethanCostume.net) and she doesn't do kilts. I'm wondering what's good for kilt pleating on teh intrawebz, as I have this pattern also!
Aroura said... (5/16/10 10:42 AM) Reply
No I haven't, or I would have fixed it up a bit better. I did read an article from a member here, on her blog, but I am such a beginner still, I didn't understand about half the terminology in the article. But thank you, I am trying :)
Trephas2003 said... (5/16/10 9:29 AM) Reply
It looks great!
dfr2010 said... (5/16/10 7:55 AM) Reply
Have you found any good resources on pleating, especially in regards to kilts?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2100

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Butterick 5954

photo
by: catintheha...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Pattern Details