Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2818 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 528 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:tholtz
photo
About tholtzstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/29/10
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/10 10:17 PM
Last Updated:5/15/10 10:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.16  List Price: $13.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jbrewer said...
I have often looked at this patten, but I never tried it. You're brave for drawing in your own V at the neck. The shape of it looks good to me. The only thing you need to do is to trim the seam allowance at the point of the V better. There is too much fabric trying to get into a small space. Turn the neck facing back inside out. With sharp scissors, make a clip through the seam allowance right up to the stitch line of your V point, being careful not to cut the stitching itself. Turn it right side out again and press it flat. You may have a smoother V shape. I look forward to seeing your next top from this pattern!
5/16/10 9:35 AM
marec said...
Do you want to try this one again with us in the sew along? Your top is cute, and I hope you snipped a little like jbrewer suggested.
7/11/10 0:47 AM
tholtz said...
Hi marec, Yes, I just might! I just purchased a gorgeous cotton silk mix in a pink and green water colour and I've been looking for a top pattern to make with it. THANKS!
7/11/10 8:11 AM
azjune said...
jbrewer, Thanks for the tips on the V. I made a top last night from a different pattern, but had the same problem as tholtz did with the fabric bunching at the base of the V.
8/6/11 9:52 AM
azjune said...
marec, I bought this pattern yesterday. Did you have the sew along? If so, is it summarized anywhere that I could go look at it? Thank you all for sharing!
8/6/11 9:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7916 Jacket
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 6/29/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us