SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2818 (Tops)

15 more reviews
Viewed 574 times 
Reviewed by:tholtz
photo

 
 
About tholtzstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/29/10
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/10 10:17 PM
Last Updated:5/15/10 10:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
azjune said... (8/6/11 9:55 AM) Reply
marec, I bought this pattern yesterday. Did you have the sew along? If so, is it summarized anywhere that I could go look at it? Thank you all for sharing!
azjune said... (8/6/11 9:52 AM) Reply
jbrewer, Thanks for the tips on the V. I made a top last night from a different pattern, but had the same problem as tholtz did with the fabric bunching at the base of the V.
tholtz said... (7/11/10 8:11 AM) Reply
Hi marec, Yes, I just might! I just purchased a gorgeous cotton silk mix in a pink and green water colour and I've been looking for a top pattern to make with it. THANKS!
marec said... (7/11/10 0:47 AM) Reply
Do you want to try this one again with us in the sew along? Your top is cute, and I hope you snipped a little like jbrewer suggested.
jbrewer said... (5/16/10 9:35 AM) Reply
I have often looked at this patten, but I never tried it. You're brave for drawing in your own V at the neck. The shape of it looks good to me. The only thing you need to do is to trim the seam allowance at the point of the V better. There is too much fabric trying to get into a small space. Turn the neck facing back inside out. With sharp scissors, make a clip through the seam allowance right up to the stitch line of your V point, being careful not to cut the stitching itself. Turn it right side out again and press it flat. You may have a smoother V shape. I look forward to seeing your next top from this pattern!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 5890

photo
by: treefrog

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Pattern Details