SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2818 (Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:tholtz
photo

 
 
About tholtzstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/29/10
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/10 10:17 PM
Last Updated:5/15/10 10:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jbrewer said...
I have often looked at this patten, but I never tried it. You're brave for drawing in your own V at the neck. The shape of it looks good to me. The only thing you need to do is to trim the seam allowance at the point of the V better. There is too much fabric trying to get into a small space. Turn the neck facing back inside out. With sharp scissors, make a clip through the seam allowance right up to the stitch line of your V point, being careful not to cut the stitching itself. Turn it right side out again and press it flat. You may have a smoother V shape. I look forward to seeing your next top from this pattern!
5/16/10 9:35 AM
marec said...
Do you want to try this one again with us in the sew along? Your top is cute, and I hope you snipped a little like jbrewer suggested.
7/11/10 0:47 AM
tholtz said...
Hi marec, Yes, I just might! I just purchased a gorgeous cotton silk mix in a pink and green water colour and I've been looking for a top pattern to make with it. THANKS!
7/11/10 8:11 AM
azjune said...
jbrewer, Thanks for the tips on the V. I made a top last night from a different pattern, but had the same problem as tholtz did with the fabric bunching at the base of the V.
8/6/11 9:52 AM
azjune said...
marec, I bought this pattern yesterday. Did you have the sew along? If so, is it summarized anywhere that I could go look at it? Thank you all for sharing!
8/6/11 9:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now