SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8998 (T-Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2776 times 
Reviewed by:Monica R
photo

 
 
About Monica Rstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/02 4:44 AM
Last Updated:12/29/02 11:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 $8.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 $8.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Yes Sherril, I did notice this also. I thought that I made a mistake somewhere when I lowered my dart, so I did add to the front on my second top. Also, I also traced a size 16 at arms and neck and went out to a size 20 at side seams (I used a straight 18 on my first top, but got a better fit in the shoulders and neck by combining the sizes on the 2nd top.) When I put the sleeves in, it seemed like the armholes were too low or something in that area was not right. I don't know exactly what it was but when I lift my arms it pulls around the bust/underarm area and is uncomfortable and restricting. You might watch out for this also. I've made 3 tops from this pattern and finally gave up trying to fix it! I also gave up writing reviews because I feel bad that I rated this one as good, and then it turns out with so many flaws.
8/3/02 4:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I pin fitted the pattern and I think I found a problem with the pattern tissue. I cut a size 16 except for the side seams, where I used a size 20. I pinned out the dart and found that the front pattern piece no longer fit the back sideseam. The dart shortened it up so that the back hangs longer. If I remove the dart, the front then hangs longer than the back. Did you have any problem with the sideseams not being the same length when you used the dart?
8/2/02 3:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherril, I don't know if the tricot interfacing on the neck band will allow it to stretch enough to fit the neck hole. You could try it on a scrap first. But I would definitely cut the neck band shorter than the pattern piece given. It buckled out on every top I made no matter what type of fabric and I had to redo the neck band using the formula I gave above in my review. Let us know how your top turns out.
8/1/02 7:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just bought the pattern tonight and plan on making it this week or next. Do you think it would help to fuse tricot interfacing to the neckline band? I have a figure similar to you and plan on making several knit tunic t-shirts to go over Christine Johnson's taper pants. Together they should make a comfortable, but not sloppy outfit to wear in the fall for teaching in.
7/31/02 4:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This looks like a wonderful pattern! It is so great to hear about the neckline ribbing suggestion.
5/28/02 11:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That's a must have pattern.
5/25/02 10:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for the review. Guess it's time to get this pattern out of my stash and actually SEW it!
5/25/02 10:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review. I was attracted to the picture in the Burda catalog, but haven't tried this yet. I like the fact that Burda recognizes the need for darts in their larger sizes-it's a timesaver.
5/24/02 9:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sounds like a good basic pattern to have in our stash!
5/24/02 9:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I had unsuccessful results with a Kwik sew t-shirt pattern and I was looking for a simple tee and here it is! I will have to add this to my evergrowing pattern stash ;-)
5/24/02 9:04 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-151

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now