SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8998 (T-Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2762 times 
Reviewed by:Monica R
photo

 
 
About Monica Rstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/02 4:44 AM
Last Updated:12/29/02 11:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I had unsuccessful results with a Kwik sew t-shirt pattern and I was looking for a simple tee and here it is! I will have to add this to my evergrowing pattern stash ;-)
5/24/02 9:04 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sounds like a good basic pattern to have in our stash!
5/24/02 9:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review. I was attracted to the picture in the Burda catalog, but haven't tried this yet. I like the fact that Burda recognizes the need for darts in their larger sizes-it's a timesaver.
5/24/02 9:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for the review. Guess it's time to get this pattern out of my stash and actually SEW it!
5/25/02 10:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That's a must have pattern.
5/25/02 10:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This looks like a wonderful pattern! It is so great to hear about the neckline ribbing suggestion.
5/28/02 11:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just bought the pattern tonight and plan on making it this week or next. Do you think it would help to fuse tricot interfacing to the neckline band? I have a figure similar to you and plan on making several knit tunic t-shirts to go over Christine Johnson's taper pants. Together they should make a comfortable, but not sloppy outfit to wear in the fall for teaching in.
7/31/02 4:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherril, I don't know if the tricot interfacing on the neck band will allow it to stretch enough to fit the neck hole. You could try it on a scrap first. But I would definitely cut the neck band shorter than the pattern piece given. It buckled out on every top I made no matter what type of fabric and I had to redo the neck band using the formula I gave above in my review. Let us know how your top turns out.
8/1/02 7:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I pin fitted the pattern and I think I found a problem with the pattern tissue. I cut a size 16 except for the side seams, where I used a size 20. I pinned out the dart and found that the front pattern piece no longer fit the back sideseam. The dart shortened it up so that the back hangs longer. If I remove the dart, the front then hangs longer than the back. Did you have any problem with the sideseams not being the same length when you used the dart?
8/2/02 3:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes Sherril, I did notice this also. I thought that I made a mistake somewhere when I lowered my dart, so I did add to the front on my second top. Also, I also traced a size 16 at arms and neck and went out to a size 20 at side seams (I used a straight 18 on my first top, but got a better fit in the shoulders and neck by combining the sizes on the 2nd top.) When I put the sleeves in, it seemed like the armholes were too low or something in that area was not right. I don't know exactly what it was but when I lift my arms it pulls around the bust/underarm area and is uncomfortable and restricting. You might watch out for this also. I've made 3 tops from this pattern and finally gave up trying to fix it! I also gave up writing reviews because I feel bad that I rated this one as good, and then it turns out with so many flaws.
8/3/02 4:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

McCall's 6606

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-12

photo
by: kidmd

Review