Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6838 (Pants and Tops)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1725 times 
Reviewed by:wildhoney269
photo

 
 
About wildhoney269star
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/04
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 11)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/04 12:16 PM
Last Updated:4/19/04 12:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurenstu said... (7/2/12 1:49 PM) Reply
I am in the process of making these too, but I'm just cutting them to shorts length. I'm glad I read this review first, because I would have gone with the extra large based on my hip measurements too, but because I saw that you had noted the pattern being huge, I went down to a medium. I'm also cheating and just doing an elastic waistband vs the drawstring. We'll see how it goes, but thanks for saving me a LOT of alterations!! :D
AnneM said... (4/19/04 7:16 PM) Reply
Yup, those qualify as lounge pants - they look very comfortable, even though you are floating in them. Leslie, great hint & explanation on determine prefered ease.
sweets said... (4/19/04 2:23 PM) Reply
I agree, this is a very easy pattern to sew, but you have to be careful with the sizing. I actually made 3 of them because I'm not good at alterations. I actually got the best fit on the first one, although its a little big in the bust area. I'll just put on a jacket and look cute anyway.
Leslie in Austin said... (4/19/04 1:57 PM) Reply
You've hit on one of my biggest pet peeves, WildHoney: excessive built-in ease. I'll pass on a hint that was shared with me. You can estimate the amount of ease you need/prefer by trying on a pair of similar pair of RTW pants with a fit you like. Pinch out and measure the amount of ease in the RTW pants. Then, pick the pattern size that has the finished garment measurements (or flat pattern measurements) equalling your body measurements + your preferred amount of ease. Keep in mind, the amount of ease you want will differ from garment to garment. All that said, I *love* the fabric you chose. Very pretty. Is that a self-fabric drawstring?
SandraB said... (4/19/04 1:06 PM) Reply
Great review. This looks like a really comfortable pair of pants.
Hilary said... (4/19/04 12:46 PM) Reply
Looks like you did a good job, and the fabric is really pretty! I have the same trouble sometimes; I made a shirt recently by my measurements and ended up w/ a huge top~went down 2 sizes and it fit fine! thanks for the review :o)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Pink Sand Beach Designs 111

photo
by: Carol Till...

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Pattern Details