Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6838 (Pants and Tops) thumbsup - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 1705 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:wildhoney269
photo
About wildhoney269star
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/04
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/04 12:16 PM
Last Updated:4/19/04 12:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Looks like you did a good job, and the fabric is really pretty! I have the same trouble sometimes; I made a shirt recently by my measurements and ended up w/ a huge top~went down 2 sizes and it fit fine! thanks for the review :o)
4/19/04 12:46 PM
SandraB said...
Great review. This looks like a really comfortable pair of pants.
4/19/04 1:06 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You've hit on one of my biggest pet peeves, WildHoney: excessive built-in ease. I'll pass on a hint that was shared with me. You can estimate the amount of ease you need/prefer by trying on a pair of similar pair of RTW pants with a fit you like. Pinch out and measure the amount of ease in the RTW pants. Then, pick the pattern size that has the finished garment measurements (or flat pattern measurements) equalling your body measurements + your preferred amount of ease. Keep in mind, the amount of ease you want will differ from garment to garment. All that said, I *love* the fabric you chose. Very pretty. Is that a self-fabric drawstring?
4/19/04 1:57 PM
sweets said...
I agree, this is a very easy pattern to sew, but you have to be careful with the sizing. I actually made 3 of them because I'm not good at alterations. I actually got the best fit on the first one, although its a little big in the bust area. I'll just put on a jacket and look cute anyway.
4/19/04 2:23 PM
AnneM said...
Yup, those qualify as lounge pants - they look very comfortable, even though you are floating in them. Leslie, great hint & explanation on determine prefered ease.
4/19/04 7:16 PM
Laurenstu said...
I am in the process of making these too, but I'm just cutting them to shorts length. I'm glad I read this review first, because I would have gone with the extra large based on my hip measurements too, but because I saw that you had noted the pattern being huge, I went down to a medium. I'm also cheating and just doing an elastic waistband vs the drawstring. We'll see how it goes, but thanks for saving me a LOT of alterations!! :D
7/2/12 1:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Grainline Studio 31002
photo
Review by margy.64 on 1/4/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wild Ginger PMB3: Plaid Jacket
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 10/1/04
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6257 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6257 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6838 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6838 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us