Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5142 (The Perfect Jean) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 803 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/10 7:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanJanB said...
These turned out fantastic. The fit is great and look very high end.
5/19/10 7:28 PM
MNBarb said...
OK, your comment about jeans fitting "regularly shaped people" Who would THAT be. Don't be so hard on yourself. Every person over the age of 12 has to make some alterations to a pattern. You did a great job on these jeans. It seems like you're figuring out which areas need to be tweaked next time. Don't give up! I don't normally love stretch fabric but did find it was easier to achieve a good fit with some "give." The boyfriend cut is good for you, I see why you like it.
5/19/10 7:41 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for all the details of your alterations and for the link to S. Betzina's article. You did a really nice job on these jeans. Be proud of yourself!
5/19/10 9:08 PM
JEF said...
I love your back pocket design. Thank you for the great review about all your fitting alterations.
5/19/10 10:09 PM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! They are amazing and an impressive effort. Your perseverance has paid off. The embroidery on the pockets is really cute, too.
5/19/10 10:22 PM
becca a said...
What an odyssey! You ended up with a great pair of jeans. I love your pocket stitching.
5/19/10 10:27 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a great review! You really have provided lots of helpful info on your way to some very nice looking trouser jeans. Thanks so much. I think you have a winner!
5/19/10 10:30 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Nice jeans and wonderful review! I am so impressed with your perseverance and savvy in discovering your jeans solution!
5/19/10 11:26 PM
LaurieEm said...
Great review, and helpful too. Congratulations - you're on you have the start of a TNT pants pattern that you can play with endlessly. Once successful it is so much fun. Celebrate! If you bother to try on pants, you'll realize yours are much better. We're all "unusual" and I also need 2" more in back crotch than front crotch. It took me many tries to succeed - I didn't have your perseverance the first time. Kudos! BTW - I agree about the fly - what is it these days with short zips? Too much attention to the crotch, IMO.
5/19/10 11:47 PM
Sharonspils said...
You have done a brilliant job and thank you for the detailed adjustments. Love that pocket design.
5/20/10 0:18 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Hey well done those are really good looking jeans. I was surprised you couldn't find any strong thread though as it is sold with all other types here. Admire your fortitude changing threads every seam. I have made these pants 3 times and they just weren't what I wanted. I love the straight leg (you're right, not a bootcut) but don't like the low back. My absolute favourite jeans pattern right now is Burda 7738 but shaving off the flare into a bootleg. But that's enough about me.. let's celebrate your amazing pair of jeans!
5/20/10 0:45 AM
KarenJeanette said...
I don't think I would have had the fortitude to do so many muslins. Great job! Love the pockets. I will be starting my own journey to a good fitting pair of jeans. Will be taking the jeans class offered on PR. Congratulations on a good fitting pair of jeans.
5/20/10 0:55 AM
lynny said...
Great looking jeans and a very detailed and well written review thanks.
5/20/10 1:17 AM
margk said...
Claire, Great to see your jeans. Well done!! You have proved that persistence pays off. It was worth all that thread-changing - your topstitching is fab- very professional. Go girl!
5/20/10 5:40 AM
Lynn67 said...
Your jeans look fantastic and you got a great fit after all that work! Your stitching is awesome. I will suggest a pattern that has an entire page devoted to fitting before sewing, and that's the other Vogue jeans by Betzina - I'm blanking on the number. She addresses enlarging ease at the thigh and all kinds of crotch fixes. Congrats on a great pair!
5/20/10 9:19 AM
Gloria W said...
I've owned this pattern for two years and haven't found the nerve to tackle it. Hopefully you have given me the "kick in the pants' I need to get started. ;-)
5/20/10 12:52 PM
nellc said...
Great looking jeans!
5/20/10 3:40 PM
Maree P said...
Thanks so much Claire for a fabulous review. I think your jeans look great - I love slouchy boyfriend jeans - and your back pockets are just fabulous. You should be as 'pleased as Punch'. You have me thinking about jeans.....
5/20/10 7:22 PM
GBK said...
Fabulous fitting jeans, and thanks a lot for a detailed and inspiring review! This pattern is in my stash for some time, and with Sophie's and now your review having mastered this pattern with your various alterations, it seems it's really worthwhile the hastle of making this pattern fit ...
5/22/10 8:13 AM
TanitIsis said...
I bet the extra-wide seam on the front inseam (but not the back) is for doing a flat-felled finish to the inseam... but you'd think the instructions would be very clear about that if it's the case. Weird. I'm contemplating trying to add one to my next pair of Jalie jeans, if I get brave... Otherwise, they look good, and OOF! you worked hard on them! Congratulations.
6/9/10 10:20 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Thanks for your review - I'm working on this pattern at the moment and am agreeing with most of your comments - particularly regarding the fact that they aren't bootleg and the amount needed on the back rise. Thanks for the headsup that the contour and regular waistbands are interchangeable - I'm off to swap mine over now.
4/20/11 6:57 AM
helenkosings said...
They look GREAT!!
2/26/14 9:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's M5989
photo
Review by Chococat on 3/12/14
Read Review

Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2914 Pattern
Jalie 2914 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 8550
photo
Review by regine on 4/3/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us