SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean)

27 more reviews
Viewed 811 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/10 7:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanJanB said...
These turned out fantastic. The fit is great and look very high end.
5/19/10 7:28 PM
MNBarb said...
OK, your comment about jeans fitting "regularly shaped people" Who would THAT be. Don't be so hard on yourself. Every person over the age of 12 has to make some alterations to a pattern. You did a great job on these jeans. It seems like you're figuring out which areas need to be tweaked next time. Don't give up! I don't normally love stretch fabric but did find it was easier to achieve a good fit with some "give." The boyfriend cut is good for you, I see why you like it.
5/19/10 7:41 PM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for all the details of your alterations and for the link to S. Betzina's article. You did a really nice job on these jeans. Be proud of yourself!
5/19/10 9:08 PM
JEF said...
I love your back pocket design. Thank you for the great review about all your fitting alterations.
5/19/10 10:09 PM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! They are amazing and an impressive effort. Your perseverance has paid off. The embroidery on the pockets is really cute, too.
5/19/10 10:22 PM
becca a said...
What an odyssey! You ended up with a great pair of jeans. I love your pocket stitching.
5/19/10 10:27 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a great review! You really have provided lots of helpful info on your way to some very nice looking trouser jeans. Thanks so much. I think you have a winner!
5/19/10 10:30 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Nice jeans and wonderful review! I am so impressed with your perseverance and savvy in discovering your jeans solution!
5/19/10 11:26 PM
LaurieEm said...
Great review, and helpful too. Congratulations - you're on you have the start of a TNT pants pattern that you can play with endlessly. Once successful it is so much fun. Celebrate! If you bother to try on pants, you'll realize yours are much better. We're all "unusual" and I also need 2" more in back crotch than front crotch. It took me many tries to succeed - I didn't have your perseverance the first time. Kudos! BTW - I agree about the fly - what is it these days with short zips? Too much attention to the crotch, IMO.
5/19/10 11:47 PM
Sharonspils said...
You have done a brilliant job and thank you for the detailed adjustments. Love that pocket design.
5/20/10 0:18 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Hey well done those are really good looking jeans. I was surprised you couldn't find any strong thread though as it is sold with all other types here. Admire your fortitude changing threads every seam. I have made these pants 3 times and they just weren't what I wanted. I love the straight leg (you're right, not a bootcut) but don't like the low back. My absolute favourite jeans pattern right now is Burda 7738 but shaving off the flare into a bootleg. But that's enough about me.. let's celebrate your amazing pair of jeans!
5/20/10 0:45 AM
KarenJeanette said...
I don't think I would have had the fortitude to do so many muslins. Great job! Love the pockets. I will be starting my own journey to a good fitting pair of jeans. Will be taking the jeans class offered on PR. Congratulations on a good fitting pair of jeans.
5/20/10 0:55 AM
lynny said...
Great looking jeans and a very detailed and well written review thanks.
5/20/10 1:17 AM
margk said...
Claire, Great to see your jeans. Well done!! You have proved that persistence pays off. It was worth all that thread-changing - your topstitching is fab- very professional. Go girl!
5/20/10 5:40 AM
Lynn67 said...
Your jeans look fantastic and you got a great fit after all that work! Your stitching is awesome. I will suggest a pattern that has an entire page devoted to fitting before sewing, and that's the other Vogue jeans by Betzina - I'm blanking on the number. She addresses enlarging ease at the thigh and all kinds of crotch fixes. Congrats on a great pair!
5/20/10 9:19 AM
Gloria W said...
I've owned this pattern for two years and haven't found the nerve to tackle it. Hopefully you have given me the "kick in the pants' I need to get started. ;-)
5/20/10 12:52 PM
nellc said...
Great looking jeans!
5/20/10 3:40 PM
Maree P said...
Thanks so much Claire for a fabulous review. I think your jeans look great - I love slouchy boyfriend jeans - and your back pockets are just fabulous. You should be as 'pleased as Punch'. You have me thinking about jeans.....
5/20/10 7:22 PM
GBK said...
Fabulous fitting jeans, and thanks a lot for a detailed and inspiring review! This pattern is in my stash for some time, and with Sophie's and now your review having mastered this pattern with your various alterations, it seems it's really worthwhile the hastle of making this pattern fit ...
5/22/10 8:13 AM
TanitIsis said...
I bet the extra-wide seam on the front inseam (but not the back) is for doing a flat-felled finish to the inseam... but you'd think the instructions would be very clear about that if it's the case. Weird. I'm contemplating trying to add one to my next pair of Jalie jeans, if I get brave... Otherwise, they look good, and OOF! you worked hard on them! Congratulations.
6/9/10 10:20 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Thanks for your review - I'm working on this pattern at the moment and am agreeing with most of your comments - particularly regarding the fact that they aren't bootleg and the amount needed on the back rise. Thanks for the headsup that the contour and regular waistbands are interchangeable - I'm off to swap mine over now.
4/20/11 6:57 AM
helenkosings said...
They look GREAT!!
2/26/14 9:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Burda 7226

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1012

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now