SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3906 (MissesCostumes-Reversible Vest)

8 more reviews
Viewed 218 times 
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo

 
 
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/10 6:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
droxy said...
Lovely vest! I want to know if you made your hat. =) I did a lined vest for a man's costume, but this looks more complicated.
5/20/10 6:13 PM
PittyPat said...
droxy - I used a red straw hat as a base and decorated that with flowers, lace, etc. I know this sound complicated - but it really is easy if you are doing it at the same time you are reading/looking at the pictures. Now, I won't used any other method for lining vests as it gives such a professional finish to it.
5/20/10 6:25 PM
Aroura said...
PittyPat, I wish you lived near me, so I could learn from you first hand! This way of turning out a vest/bodice looks like it makes a MUCH cleaner finish than the "standard" way that I know. I can tell you, the shoulders are ugly on most of my garb. Great review so far. Next time I make a vest or bodice, I'll be trying to use your tips here. Thanks for such a comprehensive review. p.s. What gorgeous fabric, as well!
5/20/10 6:45 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/21/10 6:51 AM
BayouRose said...
Your step-by-step instructions and the photos are so very helpful. I am a very visual person and they made every detail easier to understand. Thank you ! P.S. I wish pattern companies gave such informative instructions
5/14/13 1:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5677

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now