Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1027 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 993 times 72 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:radiolaria
photo
About radiolariastar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/23/10
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:5/20/10 8:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tholtz said...
Looks fantastic, great job! How did you finish your hems?
5/20/10 8:40 PM
HLT said...
Nice dress! I like the wrap front.
5/20/10 9:45 PM
radiolaria said...
Thanks! To make the hem I pressed up the seam allowance, hand-basted it in place, machine-stitched two rows, and then trimmed the excess fabric close to the stitching. I pretty much just followed the pattern instructions, and it all worked out very nicely! :)
5/20/10 10:15 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress!
5/20/10 10:18 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Cute! Love it in that colour!
5/21/10 1:03 AM
imsewcrazy said...
LOVE IT!
5/21/10 1:27 AM
Leora said...
It's totally cute in the shorter length! So flattering.
5/21/10 3:45 AM
Mazzygirl said...
I just love it in that length & colour- so flattering on you! Don't stop at just one, this is such a great pattern you really could do with at least 1 more! i've made several myself & with a change of fabric (& length!) it looks completely different! (have I sold you yet on making another?!)
5/21/10 3:59 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress.
5/21/10 7:09 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
You look fabulous in your dress. The colour and style -- it's beautiful. Thanks for the review.
5/21/10 8:49 AM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful. Good move on shortening the dress. I think it would have overwhelmed your slim figure if it were longer. You look great in it!
5/21/10 9:59 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Great dress. I love your pics, when I saw the 'laneway' shots I thought this HAS to be Toronto!!
5/21/10 10:10 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I agree with the others who have complimented your choice to shorten the dress and have suggested you reconsider making it again. At least don't get rid of the pattern right away. It really does work very well for you.
5/21/10 11:27 AM
Knitters Delight said...
What a nice fresh take on this pattern with the length change.
5/21/10 3:18 PM
radiolaria said...
Isn't it funny how Toronto's alleyways are instantly recognizable? Thanks everyone for your kind comments! I will definitely hang on to the pattern, but for now I have about six other projects lined up to sew (isn't that always how it goes?) and won't be coming back to this one quite yet. And as for the length change: at first I was worried that I'd hacked off too much! But I soon realized I'd made the right decision. I think the longer version wouldn't have worked nearly as well on me.
5/21/10 5:50 PM
1SewSweet said...
Cool dress and I agree with you, your shorter version is awesome. I love the dancing pose too!!! :)
5/21/10 8:04 PM
Barbara V said...
That is a really great pattern and style and you've sewn it into a very cute and nice fitting dress!
5/21/10 8:26 PM
kathi s said...
I have this pattern and your review has given me the prod I needed to make this dress. I am heavier than you, but it may be ok- your version is very flattering. Thank you for your review.
5/21/10 10:02 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a very nice pattern and you did a great job. Sewing a knit for the first time can be scary, but you seemed to handle it really well. I like the shorter length on you.
5/22/10 8:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
Have been waffling on making this again, but your version has convinced me--thank you!! Will take your suggestions and cut a size smaller and make it shorter. Beautiful dress and it looks stunning on you!!
5/23/10 10:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 8991
photo
Review by Casual Kat... on 9/12/11
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8549
photo
Review by racehorse on 1/6/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6274 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6274 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6990 Pattern
Burda 6990 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us