SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Conceptions> PooPockets! Diaper 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1837 times 
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo

 
 
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/04 7:56 AM
Last Updated:4/21/04 8:38 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I made this as well for my second and third ds's and loved them too! I would recommend to anyone making them to make sure you use good DIAPER fabric, because the ones I made with regular flannel wore out very quickly, making one size a moot point :o(~also had trouble w/ the elastic giving out (I used cotton swimwear as she suggested). But I love the ease of making (no velcro makes them a lot cheaper too) these and found the stitch and turn to be better looking also. I have made some from the Kwik Sew diaper pattern as well and for my dd thats what I've made, and they seem to be a trimmer fit. I need to review them! I can't wait to see yours, Lou!! Diaper making is addictive, once you get started :o) Thats a great idea about getting help! wish i had thought of it, lol.
4/21/04 8:23 AM
Sew it seams said...
Those little diapers are adorable, Lou! I used cloth diapers for my 3 DD's too. But they certainly weren't that cute!
4/21/04 8:29 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Lou, these are so adorable! I love the name too. :-)
4/21/04 8:30 AM
Hilary said...
thanks for the comparison! The tiny one would probably still fit her, the regular ones that I have are way too big. Your diapers are adorable, thanks for reviewing!
4/21/04 8:31 AM
gabrielle said...
these are wonderful, and my comment is heartfelt. I hate to bring up dollars and cents, but I purchased similar dipes for mine, except they had a row of small snaps to fasten. they work well, but cost over $70 per dozen. they aren't nearly as cute as yours, and the price doesnt include a diaper cover, either, which runs like $2-3 apiece for the PUL type. Even at those prices they are still way cheaper than disposables, but I wish I'd sewn mine, now. Good job.
4/21/04 10:30 AM
Lou. said...
Gabrielle, take solice in the fact that when your babies have potty trained you can get your money back on ebay!! Thanks for the comments.
4/21/04 11:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Lou, this is a very interesting review. Would never have thought of doing this, but now new mothers are so much better informed. Each diaper is darling, and obviously sewn with love.
4/21/04 3:21 PM
Lou. said...
lol....thanks penelope, I'm laughing at the love part though....I think I'll be hating diapers by the time I'm done!!
4/21/04 3:51 PM
Erin S said...
Lou, Too cute! I made 7 of the tiny pp, as I wanted to see how they worked, what materials I liked etc. Now I wish I had more! I am using chinese prefolds for the rest of the time. I am not using pins at all, as I made dcd and that holds the dipes in place. The gussets rock! So far the poop is staying in. I will make many of these in the regular size, although the ones I have made so far are pocket dipes for quicker drying. It feels good to diaper the baby with somehting I made, even though that sounds weird.
4/21/04 6:04 PM
Patricia JC said...
I would like to add a caution: If using old towels and flannel sheets in the diapers, make up a couple then wash/dry them. Mine, made of old towel and sheet blanket, were too thick to dry very well. I have had to rip apart almost 2 dozen diapers to resew them with different centers. A trial wash/dry would have saved me a bunch of work! Patricia
7/24/05 12:45 PM
Patricia JC said...
Opps - one more thingl.... Thanks for the link to the diaperfabric.com web site! I had been getting the pul, foe, aplix from another site - now I can compare prices! Thanks! Patricia
7/24/05 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Colette Patterns Taffy

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Jalie 2908

photo
by: Sugar Pie ...

Review

Pattern

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now