SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Conceptions> PooPockets! Diaper 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1837 times 
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo

 
 
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/04 7:56 AM
Last Updated:4/21/04 8:38 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I made this as well for my second and third ds's and loved them too! I would recommend to anyone making them to make sure you use good DIAPER fabric, because the ones I made with regular flannel wore out very quickly, making one size a moot point :o(~also had trouble w/ the elastic giving out (I used cotton swimwear as she suggested). But I love the ease of making (no velcro makes them a lot cheaper too) these and found the stitch and turn to be better looking also. I have made some from the Kwik Sew diaper pattern as well and for my dd thats what I've made, and they seem to be a trimmer fit. I need to review them! I can't wait to see yours, Lou!! Diaper making is addictive, once you get started :o) Thats a great idea about getting help! wish i had thought of it, lol.
4/21/04 8:23 AM
Sew it seams said...
Those little diapers are adorable, Lou! I used cloth diapers for my 3 DD's too. But they certainly weren't that cute!
4/21/04 8:29 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Lou, these are so adorable! I love the name too. :-)
4/21/04 8:30 AM
Hilary said...
thanks for the comparison! The tiny one would probably still fit her, the regular ones that I have are way too big. Your diapers are adorable, thanks for reviewing!
4/21/04 8:31 AM
gabrielle said...
these are wonderful, and my comment is heartfelt. I hate to bring up dollars and cents, but I purchased similar dipes for mine, except they had a row of small snaps to fasten. they work well, but cost over $70 per dozen. they aren't nearly as cute as yours, and the price doesnt include a diaper cover, either, which runs like $2-3 apiece for the PUL type. Even at those prices they are still way cheaper than disposables, but I wish I'd sewn mine, now. Good job.
4/21/04 10:30 AM
Lou. said...
Gabrielle, take solice in the fact that when your babies have potty trained you can get your money back on ebay!! Thanks for the comments.
4/21/04 11:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Lou, this is a very interesting review. Would never have thought of doing this, but now new mothers are so much better informed. Each diaper is darling, and obviously sewn with love.
4/21/04 3:21 PM
Lou. said...
lol....thanks penelope, I'm laughing at the love part though....I think I'll be hating diapers by the time I'm done!!
4/21/04 3:51 PM
Erin S said...
Lou, Too cute! I made 7 of the tiny pp, as I wanted to see how they worked, what materials I liked etc. Now I wish I had more! I am using chinese prefolds for the rest of the time. I am not using pins at all, as I made dcd and that holds the dipes in place. The gussets rock! So far the poop is staying in. I will make many of these in the regular size, although the ones I have made so far are pocket dipes for quicker drying. It feels good to diaper the baby with somehting I made, even though that sounds weird.
4/21/04 6:04 PM
Patricia JC said...
I would like to add a caution: If using old towels and flannel sheets in the diapers, make up a couple then wash/dry them. Mine, made of old towel and sheet blanket, were too thick to dry very well. I have had to rip apart almost 2 dozen diapers to resew them with different centers. A trial wash/dry would have saved me a bunch of work! Patricia
7/24/05 12:45 PM
Patricia JC said...
Opps - one more thingl.... Thanks for the link to the diaperfabric.com web site! I had been getting the pul, foe, aplix from another site - now I can compare prices! Thanks! Patricia
7/24/05 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2544

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
McCall's 8524

photo
by: thrillme

Review
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now