SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6672 (Dress from 1974)

2 more reviews
Viewed 875 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 9:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lady_Mame said...
Omg. It's rare I like a dress, but I love this one!
1/30/11 3:52 PM
Batik said...
I like photo #10 : very That Girl.
6/12/10 10:09 AM
JEF said...
Another total winner! Dress and review are divine.
6/10/10 7:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
Cathy looks lovely in her dress.
6/10/10 1:54 PM
barebear said...
The dress looks so swishy! I wish I could pull off a dress like this like Cathy can. She looks fabulous! And the photo shoot was great. :)
6/8/10 5:25 PM
AnneM said...
I thought that was slightly retro. What a neat style. You know, if Cathy is my size maybe you should send the dresses my way after the photo shots.
6/5/10 9:29 PM
MaryDB said...
OMG I have this pattern! I am so tempted to make it up soon. Great job, looks terrific.
6/1/10 11:22 PM
Annika said...
Wondrous! Reminds me of ... But they're cousins, Identical cousins all the way. One pair of matching bookends, Different as night and day...
5/28/10 0:13 AM
MarinaVK said...
great presentation! looking forward to see more
5/27/10 11:19 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks for this review! What a coincidence, I just made Vogue 1118 which is very similar, but it's intriguing to see the slight differences -- mine doesn't have the back neckband (which might help the raised neckline stay up better) and its tie ends extend around the back inside the dress. LOVE Cathy's photo shoot, as always! I think it looks great in this crepe, very 70s.
5/26/10 1:22 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
got to just love it! Perfect match/find of $2 fabric and pattern. Thanks!
5/26/10 10:39 AM
cindyann said...
My favorite dress to date. Lovely color.
5/26/10 10:00 AM
TracyB said...
The photo shoots tell a more arresting and complex story each time.
5/26/10 1:55 AM
FreyaStark said...
That should be Selfless Seamstress. What a wonderful gift. It must be Cathy's most elegant dress yet.
5/25/10 6:27 PM
kittykate said...
oh dear, nasty flashback to 1973 home ec when I saw that full length back zipper. Very nice job.
5/25/10 5:52 PM
Michele19 said...
So cute!
5/25/10 5:50 PM
sew2little said...
Cathy looks stunning in that beautiful dress!
5/25/10 4:25 PM
Peter in NYC said...
THAT is hilarious. Thanks everybody!
5/25/10 2:57 PM
halleyscomet said...
OMG that was my bridesmaid dresses that I made when I got married back in 1975 to my first husband! Love that style of dress even to this day!
5/25/10 2:49 PM
JillyBe said...
Cathy has never looked better! The Selfish Seamstress definitely has a good eye :)
5/25/10 2:04 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great photo shoot! I always enjoy checking out all your pictures and love the stories. Thanks for the entertainment and also....great job on the dress, it looks wonderful!
5/25/10 2:02 PM
Mirakel said...
Love your photo shoot and the dress is charming!
5/25/10 12:08 PM
Paris75008 said...
Tres chic!
5/25/10 12:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
Another wonderful garment/story/photo shoot. You and Cathy are amazing.
5/25/10 11:57 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Fun story and great dress/ pattern! I will definitely look for it, thanks a lot for the review.
5/25/10 11:26 AM
Aroura said...
Lovely dress! And the photo shoot / slideshow with captions and story were fantastic!! So very creative. Wonderful wondrful job!
5/25/10 11:17 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Oh gosh! once again you are a winner! I love love your stories!!! This is what it is all about. Thanks for giving us our own little fashion tale that only you can capture!..Oh nice dress too! ;)
5/25/10 11:16 AM
Auntie Susan said...
How creatively imaginative you (and Cathy) are! I so envy you living next to the NYC garment district. I remember when Boston used to have a small fabric/garment district that shrunk to nothing, now I live in Colorado where I need to use mail order for any fabric of quality.
5/25/10 10:52 AM
pterion said...
The Selfish Seamstress knows her stuff - the pattern and dress suit Cathy to a T! Love the photoshoot. Off to check out the blog(s)...
5/25/10 10:41 AM
Meguiar said...
Super cute dress and LOVE the photo shoot! Very inspiring!
5/25/10 10:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6650

photo
by: trinicity

Review
Simplicity 8683

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now