SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> Vintage 1118 (Jerry Silverman dress c. 1970s)

Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 3:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thanks! I agree, he had designs that were interesting but simple enough to be timeless.
6/13/10 11:26 AM
Athene said...
Very nice fit and a great dress - I really like Jerry Silverman patterns - often timeless looking designs.
6/13/10 0:57 AM
Margaret said...
Check out the Vintage Sewing Pattern Wiki -- often they have links to people selling the pattern. Vogue 1118 is linked in Pattern Info above and here is Simplicity 6672.
5/27/10 12:22 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Oh, you guys just make me want to try this dress!
5/27/10 12:05 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks! Freya, thanks for pointing that out -- Peter, wow, that's a coincidence that we've made the same style at the same time! Yes, I've seen several Simplicity 60s and 70s "designer fashion" patterns that seem to be knock-offs of Vogues... I wonder if some deal was made but in any case, at this point I'm glad both were sold -- more patterns still around for us to sew!
5/26/10 1:11 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
Your fitting adjustments resulted in a dress that is perfect for you. And I, too, love the color.
5/26/10 10:43 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Margaret, Freya's right: that dress is identical to Simplicitiy 6672, which calls itself "designer fashion." They obviously ripped off Jerry Silverman. I really like it in wool crepe (mine was el-cheapo polyester); the gathers in particular are gorgeous and I love the color. Nice job!
5/26/10 2:34 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Margaret, you're "IT" as far as fitness is concerned!! ;)
5/25/10 6:41 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very interesting. I have a couple of Jerry Silverman patterns but haven't made them yet. Many of his styles are still attractive and do not look at all dated. You must read Peter in NYC's latest review - Simplicity 6672, which is a similar style and is dated 1974.
5/25/10 6:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now