Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: Vintage 1118 (Jerry Silverman dress c. 1970s) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 415 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 3:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very interesting. I have a couple of Jerry Silverman patterns but haven't made them yet. Many of his styles are still attractive and do not look at all dated. You must read Peter in NYC's latest review - Simplicity 6672, which is a similar style and is dated 1974.
5/25/10 6:16 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Margaret, you're "IT" as far as fitness is concerned!! ;)
5/25/10 6:41 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Margaret, Freya's right: that dress is identical to Simplicitiy 6672, which calls itself "designer fashion." They obviously ripped off Jerry Silverman. I really like it in wool crepe (mine was el-cheapo polyester); the gathers in particular are gorgeous and I love the color. Nice job!
5/26/10 2:34 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Your fitting adjustments resulted in a dress that is perfect for you. And I, too, love the color.
5/26/10 10:43 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks! Freya, thanks for pointing that out -- Peter, wow, that's a coincidence that we've made the same style at the same time! Yes, I've seen several Simplicity 60s and 70s "designer fashion" patterns that seem to be knock-offs of Vogues... I wonder if some deal was made but in any case, at this point I'm glad both were sold -- more patterns still around for us to sew!
5/26/10 1:11 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Oh, you guys just make me want to try this dress!
5/27/10 12:05 PM
Margaret said...
Check out the Vintage Sewing Pattern Wiki -- often they have links to people selling the pattern. Vogue 1118 is linked in Pattern Info above and here is Simplicity 6672.
5/27/10 12:22 PM
Athene said...
Very nice fit and a great dress - I really like Jerry Silverman patterns - often timeless looking designs.
6/13/10 0:57 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks! I agree, he had designs that were interesting but simple enough to be timeless.
6/13/10 11:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 7182
photo
Review by javamommyo... on 5/1/10
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1329 Misses Dress
photo
Review by SewLuva on 6/25/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5785 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5785 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us