SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> Vintage 1118 (Jerry Silverman dress c. 1970s)

Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 300 (patterns: 279)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 3:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (6/13/10 11:26 AM) Reply
Thanks! I agree, he had designs that were interesting but simple enough to be timeless.
Athene said... (6/13/10 0:57 AM) Reply
Very nice fit and a great dress - I really like Jerry Silverman patterns - often timeless looking designs.
Margaret said... (5/27/10 12:22 PM) Reply
Check out the Vintage Sewing Pattern Wiki -- often they have links to people selling the pattern. Vogue 1118 is linked in Pattern Info above and here is Simplicity 6672.
mylittleelephant said... (5/27/10 12:05 PM) Reply
Oh, you guys just make me want to try this dress!
Margaret said... (5/26/10 1:11 PM) Reply
Thanks! Freya, thanks for pointing that out -- Peter, wow, that's a coincidence that we've made the same style at the same time! Yes, I've seen several Simplicity 60s and 70s "designer fashion" patterns that seem to be knock-offs of Vogues... I wonder if some deal was made but in any case, at this point I'm glad both were sold -- more patterns still around for us to sew!
Q Valley Mary said... (5/26/10 10:43 AM) Reply
Your fitting adjustments resulted in a dress that is perfect for you. And I, too, love the color.
Peter in NYC said... (5/26/10 2:34 AM) Reply
Margaret, Freya's right: that dress is identical to Simplicitiy 6672, which calls itself "designer fashion." They obviously ripped off Jerry Silverman. I really like it in wool crepe (mine was el-cheapo polyester); the gathers in particular are gorgeous and I love the color. Nice job!
Rhonda in Montreal said... (5/25/10 6:41 PM) Reply
Margaret, you're "IT" as far as fitness is concerned!! ;)
FreyaStark said... (5/25/10 6:16 PM) Reply
Very interesting. I have a couple of Jerry Silverman patterns but haven't made them yet. Many of his styles are still attractive and do not look at all dated. You must read Peter in NYC's latest review - Simplicity 6672, which is a similar style and is dated 1974.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Diana Magazine 12-2014-27

photo
by: Catroodje

Review
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details