SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2010-137 (Shirtwaist Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 502 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 10:05 PM
Last Updated:5/25/10 10:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlsews said...
great job! I've also been loving their plus size stuff, after seeing how beautiful yours is I may have to grade this pattern down too.
9/12/10 12:48 PM
Deepika said...
I love a good shirtdress too and it's so hard to find them in RTW. This is a great pattern and you did a great job. I love the belt!
6/13/10 9:35 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! I hope DBF loves it as much as we all do. Now I need to get over my fear of grading down thos plus size Burdas.
5/26/10 3:46 PM
touran said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the accessories that you picked.
5/26/10 3:20 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
What a great dress. Thankyou for all the information on construction.
5/26/10 2:29 PM
Sew'n'go said...
Wow! FABULOUS review! Thanks for the little tutorial on how this collar goes together. Thanks also for the warning about the lack of a back facing.
5/26/10 2:21 PM
I am Romy said...
This is a beautiful dress, I like the fabric, pattern, color. Your work is just WOW.
5/26/10 9:47 AM
MNBarb said...
The collar is really what makes the dress, glad you figured it out. As a sometimes frustrated sewist I wanted to throw the pattern in the fire while reading the "neaten" the seam piece. You appeared to find a good solution. Great fabric choice.
5/26/10 7:13 AM
Sewingelle said...
great dress. I felt the same way about the May issue. Now I've got no excuse to not grade down to a 42 ( must be easier than to a 40, right?!)
5/26/10 7:04 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Luv, Luv, the shirtwaister. In contrast to your admiring of Burda plus section, I haven't been that impress by it. But I will have to revisit this issue. Great job and I thank you for posting such a detail review.
5/26/10 4:09 AM
JillyBe said...
I'm not normally a shirtdress lover, but this is a very nice pattern! And you've styled it beautifully w/ the necklace, belt & shoes. Very helpful review, thank you :)
5/26/10 3:33 AM
SewSho said...
Really nice, the fabric looks alot like a Thai silk:)
5/26/10 1:54 AM
sugarduck said...
This turned out great! I imagine this will be a super-versatile dress.
5/26/10 0:53 AM
amy in mpls said...
Love this dress! it almost looks like its got a little shimmer, i love that :) what a perfect summer dress!
5/25/10 11:51 PM
michalklimer said...
I like the look of this dress, real nice!
5/25/10 11:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what a great basic shirt dress. perfect match to fabric. love that taupe/grey color! and nice styling with the shoes!
5/25/10 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8776

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

More Info
McCall's 8678

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review