SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2010-137 (Shirtwaist Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 502 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 10:05 PM
Last Updated:5/25/10 10:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
what a great basic shirt dress. perfect match to fabric. love that taupe/grey color! and nice styling with the shoes!
5/25/10 11:14 PM
michalklimer said...
I like the look of this dress, real nice!
5/25/10 11:43 PM
amy in mpls said...
Love this dress! it almost looks like its got a little shimmer, i love that :) what a perfect summer dress!
5/25/10 11:51 PM
sugarduck said...
This turned out great! I imagine this will be a super-versatile dress.
5/26/10 0:53 AM
SewSho said...
Really nice, the fabric looks alot like a Thai silk:)
5/26/10 1:54 AM
JillyBe said...
I'm not normally a shirtdress lover, but this is a very nice pattern! And you've styled it beautifully w/ the necklace, belt & shoes. Very helpful review, thank you :)
5/26/10 3:33 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Luv, Luv, the shirtwaister. In contrast to your admiring of Burda plus section, I haven't been that impress by it. But I will have to revisit this issue. Great job and I thank you for posting such a detail review.
5/26/10 4:09 AM
Sewingelle said...
great dress. I felt the same way about the May issue. Now I've got no excuse to not grade down to a 42 ( must be easier than to a 40, right?!)
5/26/10 7:04 AM
MNBarb said...
The collar is really what makes the dress, glad you figured it out. As a sometimes frustrated sewist I wanted to throw the pattern in the fire while reading the "neaten" the seam piece. You appeared to find a good solution. Great fabric choice.
5/26/10 7:13 AM
I am Romy said...
This is a beautiful dress, I like the fabric, pattern, color. Your work is just WOW.
5/26/10 9:47 AM
Sew'n'go said...
Wow! FABULOUS review! Thanks for the little tutorial on how this collar goes together. Thanks also for the warning about the lack of a back facing.
5/26/10 2:21 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
What a great dress. Thankyou for all the information on construction.
5/26/10 2:29 PM
touran said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the accessories that you picked.
5/26/10 3:20 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! I hope DBF loves it as much as we all do. Now I need to get over my fear of grading down thos plus size Burdas.
5/26/10 3:46 PM
Deepika said...
I love a good shirtdress too and it's so hard to find them in RTW. This is a great pattern and you did a great job. I love the belt!
6/13/10 9:35 AM
mlsews said...
great job! I've also been loving their plus size stuff, after seeing how beautiful yours is I may have to grade this pattern down too.
9/12/10 12:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 5638

photo
by: ggf2005

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now