SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2010-137 (Shirtwaist Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 502 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/10 10:05 PM
Last Updated:5/25/10 10:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
what a great basic shirt dress. perfect match to fabric. love that taupe/grey color! and nice styling with the shoes!
5/25/10 11:14 PM
michalklimer said...
I like the look of this dress, real nice!
5/25/10 11:43 PM
amy in mpls said...
Love this dress! it almost looks like its got a little shimmer, i love that :) what a perfect summer dress!
5/25/10 11:51 PM
sugarduck said...
This turned out great! I imagine this will be a super-versatile dress.
5/26/10 0:53 AM
SewSho said...
Really nice, the fabric looks alot like a Thai silk:)
5/26/10 1:54 AM
JillyBe said...
I'm not normally a shirtdress lover, but this is a very nice pattern! And you've styled it beautifully w/ the necklace, belt & shoes. Very helpful review, thank you :)
5/26/10 3:33 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Luv, Luv, the shirtwaister. In contrast to your admiring of Burda plus section, I haven't been that impress by it. But I will have to revisit this issue. Great job and I thank you for posting such a detail review.
5/26/10 4:09 AM
Sewingelle said...
great dress. I felt the same way about the May issue. Now I've got no excuse to not grade down to a 42 ( must be easier than to a 40, right?!)
5/26/10 7:04 AM
MNBarb said...
The collar is really what makes the dress, glad you figured it out. As a sometimes frustrated sewist I wanted to throw the pattern in the fire while reading the "neaten" the seam piece. You appeared to find a good solution. Great fabric choice.
5/26/10 7:13 AM
I am Romy said...
This is a beautiful dress, I like the fabric, pattern, color. Your work is just WOW.
5/26/10 9:47 AM
Sew'n'go said...
Wow! FABULOUS review! Thanks for the little tutorial on how this collar goes together. Thanks also for the warning about the lack of a back facing.
5/26/10 2:21 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
What a great dress. Thankyou for all the information on construction.
5/26/10 2:29 PM
touran said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the accessories that you picked.
5/26/10 3:20 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! I hope DBF loves it as much as we all do. Now I need to get over my fear of grading down thos plus size Burdas.
5/26/10 3:46 PM
Deepika said...
I love a good shirtdress too and it's so hard to find them in RTW. This is a great pattern and you did a great job. I love the belt!
6/13/10 9:35 AM
mlsews said...
great job! I've also been loving their plus size stuff, after seeing how beautiful yours is I may have to grade this pattern down too.
9/12/10 12:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now