SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8620 (JACKET)

11 more reviews
Viewed 841 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/10 12:07 PM
Last Updated:4/5/11 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
The jacket sure looks dandy on you in the photo. Too bad the fabric wasn't more cooperative during construction. Thanks for the link for the zipper, too!
6/1/10 2:36 PM
MNBarb said...
Oh, I really hope I don't have a piece of that fabric in my stash. It sounds like a nightmare. The jacket looks great. I wish I could see more detail. Sometimes a photo just isn't enough.
6/1/10 3:51 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely jacket, PattiB. it looks extremely smart on you.
6/1/10 4:05 PM
sew2little said...
Patti--isn't this a great jacket? It looks fabulous on you, in spite of the pesky fabric! Marci
6/1/10 6:48 PM
sew2little said...
Oh--and congratulations on 100 reviews!
6/1/10 6:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
This looks like a very nice jacket style. Sorry the fabric gave you so much grief though.
6/1/10 6:59 PM
carolynw said...
It looks beautiful Patti - I must get this pattern!!
6/1/10 7:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Cute jacket. I really like the look of the fabric and was surprised to read what a trouble maker it turned into! It looks great....just wear it!
6/1/10 10:24 PM
Peggy L said...
I got to see this in real life last week when I met Patti and it looks wonderful on her. I didn't notice problems with the fabric but I wasn't wearing it and she mentioned "wearable muslin" then - I wish all of my wearable muslins looked this nice. I'll add this pattern to my "wishlist".
6/2/10 0:13 AM
sfshaza said...
This just looks great on you, Patti! The hem is very flattering and the fabric looks very cute. I would have no idea, from the photo, that it was problematic. I have evaluated the pattern and realize it won't work on me without substantial alterations (because of my large bust), but it's sure a winner on the right body!
6/2/10 1:54 AM
Rebecca D said...
I just love the lines of this jacket and it looks great on you. Can't wait to see the next version.
6/2/10 7:09 AM
Nancywin said...
This looks great Patti. I have been happy with the Marcy Tilton patterns I have made - have a few on the list to sew this summer. Nice job.
6/2/10 9:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Your jacket looks terrific in spite of the difficulties you had with the fabric. You owe it to yourself to make it again with an easier fabric. Try a stretch cotton or denim. You will be delighted with how nicely it goes together. This is a nice style for you.
6/2/10 10:09 AM
susiestitcher said...
I love your jacket, problems and all. It looks great on you. I agree that you should just wear it until it snags up or lumpifies or stretches beyond all hope. Then you can make another as a back up. Really though, it is sharp and interesting and fits you very well. I keep looking at the Marcie Tilton patterns but find myself chickening out at the unusual non-standard details. Thank goodness you are not so shy about them! Great job.
6/2/10 10:34 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT jacket! I'm glad you wrestled this fabric into submission -- ha! I drag this pattern out and contemplate it every now and then. Yours is SO nice, maybe I'll actually MAKE it one of these days. I love that zipper, too, and appreciate the link.
6/2/10 2:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very pretty jacket and fabric - shame it gave you a hard time. I like the style, too.
4/5/11 7:47 PM
Michele W said...
Hi Patti, I love this! You did a fantastic job. I made this last weekend and I loved wearing it on our first warm day on the east coast.
4/5/11 8:43 PM
sew2little said...
I love version 2! I like my version 2 better than 1, and I suspect you will too! Marci
4/5/11 10:04 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great jacket Patti, you did an excellent job with difficult fabric.
4/7/11 6:18 AM
Matilda_z said...
What a beautiful piece for your wardrobe! Thanks for the review, I'm off to get this pattern out of my stash!
4/30/11 7:05 AM
marec said...
Both versions are wonderful Patti! I am inspired to use my pattern :-)
10/28/11 8:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Drafted from RTW 000002

photo
by: Ms. McCall

Review
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now