SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8620 (JACKET)

11 more reviews
Viewed 847 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/10 12:07 PM
Last Updated:4/5/11 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Both versions are wonderful Patti! I am inspired to use my pattern :-)
10/28/11 8:51 PM
Matilda_z said...
What a beautiful piece for your wardrobe! Thanks for the review, I'm off to get this pattern out of my stash!
4/30/11 7:05 AM
Sharonspils said...
Great jacket Patti, you did an excellent job with difficult fabric.
4/7/11 6:18 AM
sew2little said...
I love version 2! I like my version 2 better than 1, and I suspect you will too! Marci
4/5/11 10:04 PM
Michele W said...
Hi Patti, I love this! You did a fantastic job. I made this last weekend and I loved wearing it on our first warm day on the east coast.
4/5/11 8:43 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very pretty jacket and fabric - shame it gave you a hard time. I like the style, too.
4/5/11 7:47 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT jacket! I'm glad you wrestled this fabric into submission -- ha! I drag this pattern out and contemplate it every now and then. Yours is SO nice, maybe I'll actually MAKE it one of these days. I love that zipper, too, and appreciate the link.
6/2/10 2:00 PM
susiestitcher said...
I love your jacket, problems and all. It looks great on you. I agree that you should just wear it until it snags up or lumpifies or stretches beyond all hope. Then you can make another as a back up. Really though, it is sharp and interesting and fits you very well. I keep looking at the Marcie Tilton patterns but find myself chickening out at the unusual non-standard details. Thank goodness you are not so shy about them! Great job.
6/2/10 10:34 AM
DorothyK said...
Your jacket looks terrific in spite of the difficulties you had with the fabric. You owe it to yourself to make it again with an easier fabric. Try a stretch cotton or denim. You will be delighted with how nicely it goes together. This is a nice style for you.
6/2/10 10:09 AM
Nancywin said...
This looks great Patti. I have been happy with the Marcy Tilton patterns I have made - have a few on the list to sew this summer. Nice job.
6/2/10 9:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
I just love the lines of this jacket and it looks great on you. Can't wait to see the next version.
6/2/10 7:09 AM
sfshaza said...
This just looks great on you, Patti! The hem is very flattering and the fabric looks very cute. I would have no idea, from the photo, that it was problematic. I have evaluated the pattern and realize it won't work on me without substantial alterations (because of my large bust), but it's sure a winner on the right body!
6/2/10 1:54 AM
Peggy L said...
I got to see this in real life last week when I met Patti and it looks wonderful on her. I didn't notice problems with the fabric but I wasn't wearing it and she mentioned "wearable muslin" then - I wish all of my wearable muslins looked this nice. I'll add this pattern to my "wishlist".
6/2/10 0:13 AM
Barbara V said...
Cute jacket. I really like the look of the fabric and was surprised to read what a trouble maker it turned into! It looks great....just wear it!
6/1/10 10:24 PM
carolynw said...
It looks beautiful Patti - I must get this pattern!!
6/1/10 7:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
This looks like a very nice jacket style. Sorry the fabric gave you so much grief though.
6/1/10 6:59 PM
sew2little said...
Oh--and congratulations on 100 reviews!
6/1/10 6:56 PM
sew2little said...
Patti--isn't this a great jacket? It looks fabulous on you, in spite of the pesky fabric! Marci
6/1/10 6:48 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely jacket, PattiB. it looks extremely smart on you.
6/1/10 4:05 PM
MNBarb said...
Oh, I really hope I don't have a piece of that fabric in my stash. It sounds like a nightmare. The jacket looks great. I wish I could see more detail. Sometimes a photo just isn't enough.
6/1/10 3:51 PM
JDpenelope said...
The jacket sure looks dandy on you in the photo. Too bad the fabric wasn't more cooperative during construction. Thanks for the link for the zipper, too!
6/1/10 2:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6952

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Dixie DIY Hot Cocoa Sweater

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review