Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-132 (Evening Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 729 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 7:59 AM
Last Updated:10/18/10 11:11 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I can't wait to see the wedding photos! I was worried this one was a bit revealing so it's good to know that it's easily adaptable and that's a good idea to use the pattern as a summer maxi dress.
5/27/10 8:56 AM
Sewingelle said...
they are fabulous!
5/27/10 9:02 AM
clt3 said...
Absolutely gorgeous.
5/27/10 9:07 AM
annie11 said...
These are absolutely stunning. I can't wait to see the girls wearing them. Great review!
5/27/10 9:32 AM
MaryDB said...
Gorgeous dresses, nice work, terrific review.
5/27/10 9:44 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! You did a great job matching fabric and pattern. I can't wait to see the wedding pictures. You did a great job on that pleating too.
5/27/10 10:59 AM
Aroura said...
Fantastic! The little pleating tutorial you have in your blog/post is exactly what I've been looking for for ages, thanks so much for a great review, and such usefull tips. And the dresses look fantastic, I hope we get to see pictures of them on the girls someday!
5/27/10 1:03 PM
Time4me said...
Insert audible gasp 'HERE'. Just beautiful and your comment about curves making the dress, so true! Wish more 'designers' would take that to heart.
5/27/10 2:45 PM
nellc said...
Fabulous dresses, I love the attention to detail on the pleating.
5/27/10 2:59 PM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning dresses. I love the style and the two different colours are both really lovely. Your friends are going to look so wonderful on your big day.
5/27/10 4:00 PM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful work! I love the cumberbund detail!
5/27/10 9:12 PM
SusiM said...
The dresses are just so striking! Great job! I like the changes you made, as well. Good ideas.
5/28/10 0:09 AM
MichelleE said...
What a fabulous job you did, well done!
5/28/10 0:12 AM
Auntchelle said...
I've been watching the progress of these on your blog and it's great to see them finished. I can't wait to see them on G & P for your wedding. For that matter I can't wait to see you in your dress.
5/28/10 1:24 AM
Sanibelle said...
Thanks for such a detailed review. The dresses turned out beautifully -- can't wait to see the wedding pics!
5/28/10 8:15 AM
dingyadi said...
Your dresses are just lovely - lovely colours and a gorgeous style. The pleating looks daunting but it is so beautifully executed.
5/29/10 3:04 AM
AnneM said...
They look very nice even on the hanger. I hope to see pictures after the big event!
6/5/10 9:39 PM
AnneM said...
They look very nice even on the hanger. I hope to see pictures after the big event!
6/5/10 9:39 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow. What amazing bridesmaids dresses. Gorgeous workmanship.
6/8/10 6:42 PM
ElizabethDee said...
so beautiful! your work is inspiring.
6/10/10 1:14 PM
Terri A said...
Really gorgeous! I hope you are SO proud because you should be!
10/18/10 2:10 PM
Paris75008 said...
Fabulous dresses! I just love the fabrics P & G chose. They look so glamorous in their dresses. Bet they absolutely loved them. Great work and great review!
10/18/10 7:05 PM
Annette1 said...
You all are STUNNING in your beautiful dresses! Great idea, too, sewing up the bridesmaids' gowns in knit. I would never have thought of that. :o)
10/18/10 7:18 PM
Christas said...
What a beautiful bride and bridesmaids! The dresses you have made are gorgeous and have such lovely details!
10/18/10 9:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4924
photo
Review by Michelle L on 5/10/09
Read Review

Butterick 5529 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5529 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 8938
photo
Review by anetJay on 3/28/08
Read Review

Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Lydia Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us