Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2010-105 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 721 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 8:12 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
The dress is stunning! This style looks great on you.
5/27/10 8:53 AM
sugarduck said...
Wow, what a great dress! I wasn't initially drawn to this in the magazine (I agree that the skirt is too tight on the model), but your version has definitely changed my opinion. It looks really chic.
5/27/10 9:55 AM
Ann Smith said...
Looking great. I must make this too.
5/27/10 11:43 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Um....I am not believing that this pattern suits me very well (even though I love how it looks on you), but reading your " conclusion" makes me want to try one anyway!
5/27/10 11:55 AM
CissieW said...
I would have totally passed on this one until I saw yours. Great dress -- one I plan to make soon!
5/27/10 12:03 PM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, you've talked me into it. This is the second review in a row where my first thought was "much nicer than the magazine version." They're doing something wrong, but you sure didn't. Great dress.
5/27/10 1:31 PM
marec said...
Lovely dress and a beautiful photo overall.
5/27/10 2:19 PM
nellc said...
Really lovely dress!
5/27/10 2:50 PM
Beek said...
Love the dress, Allie. One question, though.....how wide are the armholes? Can you see one's undergarments from the side view?
5/27/10 3:52 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute dress!! I wasn't too excited about this style when I first saw it but your review and pictures have totally changed my mind. I have a piece of fabric in stash that I am also not too excited about that will be perfect for this dress. After your enthusiastic review I think I will have to make it!!! I bet it ends up being a favorite.
5/27/10 3:53 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This is such a great dress from a simple pattern.
5/27/10 7:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
How very elegant you look in this simple but classic dress! --Lily
5/27/10 7:37 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like the look of this dress pattern.
5/28/10 5:27 AM
barbcl said...
Great looking dress, and after seeing it made up, I'm eager to make one, too.
5/28/10 3:53 PM
Sewingelle said...
wow, looks great. I had disregarded this pattern, but your version and the other recent review have changed my mind. How great is that- one dot and fabulous!
5/29/10 2:35 AM
dingyadi said...
That is the perfect dress - super stylish, easy to make and looks fabulous on you.
5/29/10 3:08 AM
Heatherrique said...
More evidence that fellow PRs' dresses of this pattern is much better than Burda's! Lovely dress on you!
5/29/10 12:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by redhead on 1/28/05
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8300
photo
Review by andread on 3/15/07
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3405 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3405 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3993 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3993 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us