SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2570 (Misses Pants, Skirt, Jacket, D)

6 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo

 
 
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 83
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 4:58 PM
Last Updated:5/27/10 5:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
The dress looks good on you.
5/27/10 5:04 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I think it looks great on you. Fit is perfect, back and front lay smooth.
5/27/10 5:16 PM
sideseams said...
I think you did such a great job on the fit. It looks so nice on you!
5/27/10 6:32 PM
Rebecca D said...
You got an amazing fit on this dress. As for looking like a sack, it is a bit of a plain style, but sometimes a dress like this is a nice background for accessories, or would you feel differently if you added a jacket? I like it.
5/28/10 6:37 AM
RLL said...
I agree with rebecca d. A little short sleeve jacket and you have a really nice and comfortable outfit.
5/28/10 3:13 PM
barbcl said...
Very pretty, and the color is gorgeous.
5/28/10 3:45 PM
Annette Wright said...
Thanks for the suggestions of a short jacket. I think I'll set the dress aside until Fall (it's not really summer weight fabric) and try it again then. Hopefully it will be too large by then...lol.
5/28/10 4:03 PM
ryan's mom said...
I like your dress, but you're right :) ! I'm not crazy about the style of the dress front either. You have a nice figure, and your awesome LBD you made shows it off. This style hides it. It's one of those dresses we all have that is perfect for a backyard BBQ, but if you really want to rock it, that LBD style dress is terrific on you. I wonder how adding a few fisheye darts would look? Just a slightly slimmer dress profile might change the overall look. The back looks great, so maybe some little vertical fisheyes in the front? Duh! I forgot about maybe a self fabric belt? Loosely cinch in the waist? That might do it too.
5/29/10 7:01 AM
marec said...
I love this color on you, and love the dress. I agree with Rebecca that it needs accessories or a jacket/cardi. You know, sometimes those of us with grey hair need a more dramatic styling to avoid smoothly blending in. I think the style of the dress, the fabric chosen and the color of your hair blend-and all I'd do is experiment with a chunky necklace, or a scarf in a bold,contrasting color. Then your gorgeous hair and eyes would be highlighted. Love the dress.
5/29/10 10:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Burda 8237

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now