Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 570 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Nanna
photo
About Mary Nannastarstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 4/6/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 10:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely job you have made of this bag. Superb!
5/27/10 10:43 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great review - thank you! I never gave great thougt to how expensive it would be to sew a bag. Your bag is great though! If it's as hard as a lined jacket I won't be making one any time soon =)
5/28/10 0:11 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Excellent! So well done I just made a summer bag and whined that it cost me $40 to make which I thought was insanely expensive. Now $75 is ALOT but your bag is beyond fabulous!
5/28/10 0:36 AM
dingyadi said...
Just gorgeous! It is a fantastic and unique bag.
5/28/10 0:39 AM
Terri Smith said...
I don't think you are a tightwad; I think you are wise beyond your years! I have never made a bag before, but I will remember your review and your warnings if I ever decide to try one. Thank you so much.
5/28/10 0:55 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm totally in awe of anyone who can finish this bag without bodily scars, let alone end up with such a GORGEOUS bag! Well done!
5/28/10 6:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Super bag - love your fabric and love your cost-saving tips even more!
5/28/10 12:07 PM
Jali said...
Love your review! After hearing so much about this pattern (mostly on the side of nasty) its nice to see your positive spin with the tightwad's guide. Surely useful for my attempt at making a bag(should that day ever come of course:)).
5/28/10 1:09 PM
Portia Hirschman said...
Thank you, thank you for this timely review! I have my pattern cut, fabric laid out and ready--and along comes your review! You did a beautiful job on this bag. Congratulations in only breaking two needles!
5/28/10 1:28 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful bag! Thanks for your helpful tips, also. I have this pattern, and am gearing up to making it, after a few more that are queued up first. Your skill in bag sewing is quite evident. To anyone who has not yet sewn a bag -- Don't start with this one!
5/28/10 4:42 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW! is that a sharp bag!!! It looks so perfect & precise & details just so... has that right out of a pricey shop look. Thank you for sharing...
5/29/10 10:17 AM
kiwikaty said...
A great bag. Thank you for sharing the tips!
5/31/10 10:17 AM
kiwikaty said...
A great bag. Thank you for sharing the tips!
5/31/10 10:17 AM
Hilary said...
Expensive, yes-but SOOOO lovely!! I really like your bag, it's beautiful!! Great job on the piping, and thanks for the tips!
9/8/10 11:37 AM
eclectickim said...
Thank you for being so honest about the cost of the bag! It looks cute - but some things are cheaper to buy RTW than make yourself. Super cute bag, though. Great job!
7/4/11 0:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3199
photo
Review by Jali on 6/24/11
Read Review

McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8805 Misses Dress
photo
Review by DKG on 1/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us