SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 6062 (Alexander blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/10 9:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lucy in Virginia said...
Love how this blouse looks on you! Excellent review and thank you for all the tips.
6/10/10 10:36 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my, very cute! I really like the peplum. It has a nice combination of a bit of ruffle, but still a bit tailored in shape. Very cool. Thanks for the links to your pear shape discussion. You do a good job at picking the right shapes because I never would have guessed you were pear shaped!
6/9/10 11:06 PM
amy in mpls said...
You are the cutest ever! I love this top, so great in the floral!
6/9/10 10:58 PM
amy in mpls said...
You are the cutest ever! I love this top, so great in the floral!
6/9/10 10:57 PM
janet said...
Another winner! You look like a doll in this.
6/9/10 8:09 PM
waltzqueen said...
THANK YOU for including your take on fitting pear shapes. I'm fairly tall and have worn long trumpet skirts which I thought should be flattering, but I always just looked big. I'm definitely trying the knee length now. Can't wait to see how the new length works!
6/9/10 3:20 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I love your fabric choice! You look adorable...nice match with this skirt or any of the ones you've made (or are making).
6/9/10 11:52 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
So cute! The fabric and the style are perfect for you.
6/9/10 9:36 AM
nicegirl said...
Fuzzygalore, I underlined because lawn is quite sheer. Cotton batiste underlining is MUCH cooler than a fitted knit camisole, which is what I would otherwise have had to wear to be decent in public. In addition, had I not underlined the facing would have shown through along the front opening and back neck, so I would have a really obvious facing line that would take away from the print.
6/9/10 9:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute blouse
6/9/10 5:24 AM
heapha said...
as usual it looks fantastic... Now I want want. I love the retro feel on a modern look, the fabric is perfect and really complements your colouring.
6/8/10 7:43 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely!
6/8/10 6:14 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It looks like a Liberty fabric, isn't it? Cute blouse, and I so understand about the swearing :-)...

But it's too bad you underlined - cotton lawn is so perfect for the summer, feels like a breeze, and would be perfect for that pattern. Now it's a bit stiff, and less cool. Underliining is something to do when you just have to have the wrong fabric for the use you're putting it to, but when you start with the perfect fabric it's just too bad.

You know, it's funny, I was in the Marche St Pierre last weekend and I had to calm the saleswomen down before I could get my fabric cut, they were all in a terrible huff because a bunch of american tourists had come in and bought nice linen, and then insisted on buying bemberg rayon to line it. What a waste of good fabric they all cried! Why can't they just buy something hot if that's what they want, and leave the linen to people who'll appreciate it? I tried to explain about patternreview fads, and technical competitiveness, but I don't think I was very successful :-)..
6/8/10 4:59 PM

Auntie Allyn said...
Lovely, just lovely . . . your hard work really paid off, and the style & fabric really suits you!
6/8/10 1:04 PM
MissTaraTara said...
Very nice!!!
6/8/10 12:37 PM
pterion said...
Very cute style! Sort of retro-looking. I agree that the belt really enhances the style.
6/8/10 12:31 PM
sugarduck said...
Super cute! I never would have thought to match this pattern with that fabric, but the result is perfect. Great job!
6/8/10 12:17 PM
MNBarb said...
What a nicely detailed review. I love all of the photos since descriptions are so difficult to understand. Your final result is a very cute top that looks super-cute with the green (linen?) skirt. Nice work.
6/8/10 11:46 AM
Mufffet said...
Oh this is so nice! Pretty fabric, great style on you - I am going to see if my DD would like this pattern - so SUMMERY as well. :)
6/8/10 10:34 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a pretty blouse, and it looks so nice on you. I really like the peplum on it.
6/8/10 9:59 AM
starryfish said...
Very nice blouse, your belt really complements the fabric. I like the peplum feature.
6/8/10 9:57 AM
Gelbean said...
Cute blouse! I really like the sleeves.
6/8/10 9:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6003

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

More Info
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info