SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> Vintage 2931 (ca. 1938 Daytime/Evening Gown)

Viewed 460 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 11:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Lesley, thanks!! I'll PM you
6/23/10 12:17 PM
lesleysews said...
HI Where are you in MOntreal I am in Beaconsfield...love the dress!
6/15/10 6:35 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks! I'm usually not either, but I like a lot of the design elements from the 30s and the patterns often come with the big sleeves... I think having dark, soft, and/or sheer fabric helps minimize them some.
6/6/10 8:58 PM
AnneM said...
Great information. The dress does look very nice. I'm not a big sleeve person for myself, but it certainly seems OK for you.
6/5/10 9:45 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!
5/29/10 11:16 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Such a gorgeous dress!
5/29/10 1:49 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, fabulous dress on you and your review was a sewing lesson in itself. Beautiful lines in this dress, wonderfully flattering.
5/28/10 7:23 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks everyone for your kind comments!
5/28/10 7:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty! This was a lot of work, but so worth the effort, you have a fabulous dress.
5/28/10 10:17 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress
5/28/10 9:18 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"snap placket"--Cool!! Very pretty gal in her vintage dress!! ;)
5/28/10 9:02 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks fantastic! I love the cool seam lines and you did SUCH a nice job on the finishing here.
5/28/10 7:55 AM
Sanibelle said...
A beautiful gown and a great review. :)
5/28/10 4:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress in a gorgeous colour.
5/28/10 2:15 AM
rachel5000 said...
I think that's BEAUTIFUL!!! I agree though that the sleeves are a bit overwhelming. You did great. Rachel
5/28/10 1:05 AM
Aroura said...
Oh, pretty pretty! I really like that, a lot. It looks fantastic on you. You might not like the mutton chop sleeves (lol), but that dress is VERY becoming on you. And the slip to match. So great! Awesome and very informative review too!
5/28/10 0:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 5855

photo
by: marec

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info