SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4657 

7 more reviews
Viewed 937 times 
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo

 
 
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 77 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/10 3:25 AM
Last Updated:5/31/10 3:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
klumzey said...
I've not done any sewing in 10 years... Various reasons.. I was sewing making bridal gowns for a living and gave up to start a family and never started again! Until now! My daughter was let down with her prom gown and I have to make one for her by a week Friday! Stumbled upon this site while looking for ideas for a dress, looks like a brilliant site! Hello everyone! I'm Jess, by the way! Anyway... This dress. Anyone ever tried to make it a pure silk chiffon? I was thinking of making it with a silk satin underneath and the chiffon on top! I'm very very rusty and have lost all my confidence, buy I used to be good at sewing! Anyone think this will work in chiffon? All advice greatly appreciated! Jess :0)
6/14/11 4:18 PM
SusiM said...
Striking gown! The changes you made to customize your dress make it special. That's what's so great about sewing. I do my zippers your way, too. Thanks for mentioning it for all to hear.
5/31/10 1:31 PM
candicer said...
i love your fabric! SO creative - makes me want to do this pattern up, also.
5/31/10 1:10 PM
MarshaG. said...
Thank for the larger picture! Everything about what you've done is FAB!!!
5/31/10 12:10 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
22 separate pieces... step 77 :o I'm impressed!!
5/31/10 10:54 AM
kiwikaty said...
Its beautiful. Thanks for sharing.
5/31/10 10:00 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Thanks for a larger picture, beautiful! Great idea on the straps and love the poise!!!
5/31/10 9:40 AM
dingyadi said...
Fabulous - where did you get the fabric from - it looks so cool.
5/31/10 7:45 AM
JennyAnne said...
That's beautiful! Well done. I have that pattern and really want a reason to make this dress.
5/31/10 7:37 AM
Lili123 said...
what a wonderful and original dress, i love the fabric!!!
5/31/10 7:27 AM
VtMartha said...
You make the most fantabulous things! Great job.
5/31/10 7:13 AM
JillyBe said...
Fabulous paint job on the fabric, and LOVE the setting & the shot! What beautiful work :) I would love more details about the paint process - what did you use & how did you do it? Your work is wonderful, please share more info!
5/31/10 5:57 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I have a wedding coming up in a year, I would love to see larger pictures of all 3 versions. It is a pattern I normally wouldn't think of but it is so pretty looking in what you've done.
5/30/10 10:43 AM
carolynw said...
All your dresses look lovely from the thumb nail pics - can we have larger photos to see how beautiful they look on you
5/30/10 10:03 AM
Mazzygirl said...
Would you believe I was just looking at this pattern in my stash today, wondering which fabric to make it up in (& where on earth I would be able to wear it to). I would love to see a larger version of yours, it sounds absolutely DIVINE! Your changes sound great too. larger photo please! Edited to add: thanks for the larger photos! this one is my absolute fav of all your beautifully sewn dresses - it is just stunning! (love the paint work too - fab idea!)
5/30/10 6:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Patrones Magazine 249-4

photo
by: tsedai

Review