Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4657 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 927 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo
Friend of PR
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/10 3:25 AM
Last Updated:5/31/10 3:29 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
Would you believe I was just looking at this pattern in my stash today, wondering which fabric to make it up in (& where on earth I would be able to wear it to). I would love to see a larger version of yours, it sounds absolutely DIVINE! Your changes sound great too. larger photo please! Edited to add: thanks for the larger photos! this one is my absolute fav of all your beautifully sewn dresses - it is just stunning! (love the paint work too - fab idea!)
5/30/10 6:58 AM
carolynw said...
All your dresses look lovely from the thumb nail pics - can we have larger photos to see how beautiful they look on you
5/30/10 10:03 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I have a wedding coming up in a year, I would love to see larger pictures of all 3 versions. It is a pattern I normally wouldn't think of but it is so pretty looking in what you've done.
5/30/10 10:43 AM
JillyBe said...
Fabulous paint job on the fabric, and LOVE the setting & the shot! What beautiful work :) I would love more details about the paint process - what did you use & how did you do it? Your work is wonderful, please share more info!
5/31/10 5:57 AM
VtMartha said...
You make the most fantabulous things! Great job.
5/31/10 7:13 AM
Lili123 said...
what a wonderful and original dress, i love the fabric!!!
5/31/10 7:27 AM
JennyAnne said...
That's beautiful! Well done. I have that pattern and really want a reason to make this dress.
5/31/10 7:37 AM
dingyadi said...
Fabulous - where did you get the fabric from - it looks so cool.
5/31/10 7:45 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Thanks for a larger picture, beautiful! Great idea on the straps and love the poise!!!
5/31/10 9:40 AM
kiwikaty said...
Its beautiful. Thanks for sharing.
5/31/10 10:00 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
22 separate pieces... step 77 :o I'm impressed!!
5/31/10 10:54 AM
MarshaG. said...
Thank for the larger picture! Everything about what you've done is FAB!!!
5/31/10 12:10 PM
candicer said...
i love your fabric! SO creative - makes me want to do this pattern up, also.
5/31/10 1:10 PM
SusiM said...
Striking gown! The changes you made to customize your dress make it special. That's what's so great about sewing. I do my zippers your way, too. Thanks for mentioning it for all to hear.
5/31/10 1:31 PM
klumzey said...
I've not done any sewing in 10 years... Various reasons.. I was sewing making bridal gowns for a living and gave up to start a family and never started again! Until now! My daughter was let down with her prom gown and I have to make one for her by a week Friday! Stumbled upon this site while looking for ideas for a dress, looks like a brilliant site! Hello everyone! I'm Jess, by the way! Anyway... This dress. Anyone ever tried to make it a pure silk chiffon? I was thinking of making it with a silk satin underneath and the chiffon on top! I'm very very rusty and have lost all my confidence, buy I used to be good at sewing! Anyone think this will work in chiffon? All advice greatly appreciated! Jess :0)
6/14/11 4:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Ivy knit top Ivy knit top
photo
Review by thequirkyp... on 8/28/13
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6366 Apron
photo
Review by abbijane on 12/19/13
Read Review

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us