Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3095 (jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1234 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:shard
photo
About shard
USA
Member since: 3/21/04
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/04 3:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Welcome back to sewing, & welcome to PR. I liked reading your review, & look forward to the picture(s). Nice pattern.
4/24/04 7:33 PM
LiZ said...
Your jacket sounds lovely. Are you going to make one for yourself? At the moment I am in the process of tracing this pattern out. I am going to make it up in Red polar Fleece.
4/25/04 1:27 AM
silversewist said...
Thanks so much for this review. Not only is this pattern also in my "to make" stack, but I too have upholstery-weight fabric in mind. Glad to hear that it works. I'm looking forward to a picture.
4/25/04 1:13 PM
bkool said...
Do you have a picture yet of your sister's jacket? I ,too, enjoyed your review.
12/16/04 7:20 PM
shard said...
bkool, I'll post pictures soon -- if not the ones dh took, then maybe I can get my sister to model and take a couple. (Since that smartypants has a digital camera.) I do in fact plan to make one of these for myself, out of heathered light-ish blue melton. I plan to line it, and I want to put in an inside pocket. Also (I *can't believe* that I didn't mention this initially), finished photos appear in Claire Shaeffer's "Sew Any Fabric". The view I made is on p. 20; the one with pockets on p. 9. That's how I found this one in the first place. Sandra Betzina did a rather similar one for Vogue, but personally I like the Kwik Sew more, because the collar's subtler; i.e. not quite as 'wing-y'
1/1/05 7:26 PM
shard said...
Finally. Photos. My sister's boyfriend took these. You get to see what the thing looks like after 8 months of machine washing/drying. Here's the back view, and here's the side view. I made no design changes at all. Even the button is placed as marked. From the way the collar is splaying, my opinion is that the fabric I used was not ideal. It is supposed to stand up more. But it ran quite large, so if the collar really stood up it would be in her face. When I make it again - for myself - in melton, I will probably make a small. It will *definitely* be dry-clean only.
1/12/05 8:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Wild Ginger 07
photo
Review by Kay Y on 9/9/06
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by Alshami on 9/24/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1707 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1707 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4434 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4434 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us