SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3095 (jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1242 times 
Reviewed by:shard
photo

 
 
About shard
USA
Member since: 3/21/04
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/04 3:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shard said...
Finally. Photos. My sister's boyfriend took these. You get to see what the thing looks like after 8 months of machine washing/drying. Here's the back view, and here's the side view. I made no design changes at all. Even the button is placed as marked. From the way the collar is splaying, my opinion is that the fabric I used was not ideal. It is supposed to stand up more. But it ran quite large, so if the collar really stood up it would be in her face. When I make it again - for myself - in melton, I will probably make a small. It will *definitely* be dry-clean only.
1/12/05 8:52 PM
shard said...
bkool, I'll post pictures soon -- if not the ones dh took, then maybe I can get my sister to model and take a couple. (Since that smartypants has a digital camera.) I do in fact plan to make one of these for myself, out of heathered light-ish blue melton. I plan to line it, and I want to put in an inside pocket. Also (I *can't believe* that I didn't mention this initially), finished photos appear in Claire Shaeffer's "Sew Any Fabric". The view I made is on p. 20; the one with pockets on p. 9. That's how I found this one in the first place. Sandra Betzina did a rather similar one for Vogue, but personally I like the Kwik Sew more, because the collar's subtler; i.e. not quite as 'wing-y'
1/1/05 7:26 PM
bkool said...
Do you have a picture yet of your sister's jacket? I ,too, enjoyed your review.
12/16/04 7:20 PM
silversewist said...
Thanks so much for this review. Not only is this pattern also in my "to make" stack, but I too have upholstery-weight fabric in mind. Glad to hear that it works. I'm looking forward to a picture.
4/25/04 1:13 PM
LiZ said...
Your jacket sounds lovely. Are you going to make one for yourself? At the moment I am in the process of tracing this pattern out. I am going to make it up in Red polar Fleece.
4/25/04 1:27 AM
AnneM said...
Welcome back to sewing, & welcome to PR. I liked reading your review, & look forward to the picture(s). Nice pattern.
4/24/04 7:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Lekala Patterns 4161

photo
by: norsk

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review