Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1214 (fitted dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 413 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/10 4:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I think it looks very sleek and svelte, not chunky at all. You mentioned tapering the skirt a bit, and that might make it look curvier.
6/2/10 5:24 PM
TJSEWS said...
I disagree that the dress makes you look chunky. I think you look slim in it and it shows off a nice shape. Play with some accessories - maybe you'll feel better about it. But honestly, I think it is very flattering on you.
6/2/10 8:00 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that you look super svelte in that.
6/2/10 9:15 PM
Leora said...
Looks great on you! Very Pretty, as are all your dresses.
6/2/10 10:07 PM
sewmaris said...
It looks to me like you may have made too large a size. Sheath dresses look better when they are quite fitted - and maybe you ar enot used to fitting your clothing as closely as this style requires. That said - the dress does look nice - and I think maybe you are being a little hard on yourself. Enjoy it!
6/2/10 10:07 PM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with the others. It looks pretty good to me, so I hope you get some wear out of it.
6/3/10 5:24 AM
lamstu said...
I also think you look quite svelte if not vavavoom in this dress. But I know how it is if it doesn't feel 'right' to you. I suspect most seamstresses have made something that wasn't quite their style at some point; I know that I have! Always something to learn with every project....
6/3/10 5:26 AM
cindyann said...
I agree that this dress looks lovely on you and it's a beautiful color.
6/3/10 8:56 AM
Lynn67 said...
I thought it looked great on you too, and the color is fantastic. I was thinking I should try this dress, but I have the same figure so I'd have the same fitting issues.
6/3/10 9:24 AM
Re Becca said...
I think that you would like it with a great print jacket over it. I don't like the way I look in all one color head-to-toe either, but a hit of color like maybe even a belt would make it more appealing to you.
6/3/10 10:26 AM
RuthieSews said...
Its a lovely dress and fits really well.
6/3/10 6:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Self Drafted Pattern 188474-1000
photo
Review by starryfish on 9/16/11
Read Review

McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2791
photo
Review by zoezmommy on 5/14/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us