SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1214 (fitted dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/10 4:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I think it looks very sleek and svelte, not chunky at all. You mentioned tapering the skirt a bit, and that might make it look curvier.
6/2/10 5:24 PM
TJSEWS said...
I disagree that the dress makes you look chunky. I think you look slim in it and it shows off a nice shape. Play with some accessories - maybe you'll feel better about it. But honestly, I think it is very flattering on you.
6/2/10 8:00 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that you look super svelte in that.
6/2/10 9:15 PM
Leora said...
Looks great on you! Very Pretty, as are all your dresses.
6/2/10 10:07 PM
sewmaris said...
It looks to me like you may have made too large a size. Sheath dresses look better when they are quite fitted - and maybe you ar enot used to fitting your clothing as closely as this style requires. That said - the dress does look nice - and I think maybe you are being a little hard on yourself. Enjoy it!
6/2/10 10:07 PM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with the others. It looks pretty good to me, so I hope you get some wear out of it.
6/3/10 5:24 AM
lamstu said...
I also think you look quite svelte if not vavavoom in this dress. But I know how it is if it doesn't feel 'right' to you. I suspect most seamstresses have made something that wasn't quite their style at some point; I know that I have! Always something to learn with every project....
6/3/10 5:26 AM
cindyann said...
I agree that this dress looks lovely on you and it's a beautiful color.
6/3/10 8:56 AM
Lynn67 said...
I thought it looked great on you too, and the color is fantastic. I was thinking I should try this dress, but I have the same figure so I'd have the same fitting issues.
6/3/10 9:24 AM
Re Becca said...
I think that you would like it with a great print jacket over it. I don't like the way I look in all one color head-to-toe either, but a hit of color like maybe even a belt would make it more appealing to you.
6/3/10 10:26 AM
RuthieSews said...
Its a lovely dress and fits really well.
6/3/10 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 5548

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now