SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8659 (Dress (aka the "Allyn Dress"))

10 more reviews
Viewed 687 times 
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo

 
 
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/10 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
VERY cute : )
6/2/10 8:48 AM
Gelbean said...
Glad to see you decided to make another one. This dress was the talk of the whole PR weekend. Everybody loves the Allyn dress. I still say I could never wear this style but it looks amazing on you!
6/2/10 8:51 AM
starryfish said...
You look great in this, but i am absolutely not trying it. At 5'5" with less than perfect legs I don't want to frighten the neighbourhood to death. It is definitely one for the tall and statuesque.
6/2/10 9:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your first review caused me to buy this pattern. Now I just need the fabric. I love both your versions.
6/2/10 10:01 AM
DorothyK said...
I'm guessing this will be the most popular dress of the year. You inspired everyone with your first version and now again. It is definitely on my list to do. I wish I had your height, though. You can really carry this style well.
6/2/10 10:14 AM
lamstu said...
I liked the first version and I like this one too. And I am so sad that I missed the PR weekend in my home town. (Sometimes travel is not so fun....) I'm not as tall as you are, but this dress looks really easy to wear. I'm thinking about it now.
6/2/10 10:27 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it on you, had to take a look at your other one, too! Looks great on you with those "long" legs!!! Lucky girl ........
6/2/10 10:45 AM
annie11 said...
Looks stunning! Okay, you've convinced me- next pattern sale, it's coming home with me.
6/2/10 11:35 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Very Nice! This is really a great dress. This fabric really gives it a different look. You can never go wrong with a TNT!
6/2/10 2:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous and really cute. Well done.
6/2/10 4:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
The "Allyn Dress" was definitely THE PR Weekend dress. I'm considering one myself, and I'm only 5'3". But of course, wicked shoes would take me up a few inches . . . I like this version as much as the first one. (And yes, you might be the first - all my fabric is pre-treated and I'm considering some of it, but I haven't sewn any yet!)
6/2/10 10:24 PM
Athene said...
Love your 2nd version also. When I saw your first one I had to buy the pattern.
6/3/10 3:29 AM
Geralyn said...
That dress has haunted me since PR weekend! This new version is just as awesome. I have some fabric (olive linen, prewashed to be "relaxed") from London Textiles that I am hesitant to try b/c I am afraid that I don't have enough fabric. Thanks for the tip on adjusting the torso. I was wondering how I could conserve fabric.
6/3/10 2:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Patrones Magazine 306-23

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
Kwik Sew 3452

photo
by: norsk

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now