Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8659 (Dress (aka the "Allyn Dress")) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 677 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/10 8:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
VERY cute : )
6/2/10 8:48 AM
Gelbean said...
Glad to see you decided to make another one. This dress was the talk of the whole PR weekend. Everybody loves the Allyn dress. I still say I could never wear this style but it looks amazing on you!
6/2/10 8:51 AM
starryfish said...
You look great in this, but i am absolutely not trying it. At 5'5" with less than perfect legs I don't want to frighten the neighbourhood to death. It is definitely one for the tall and statuesque.
6/2/10 9:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your first review caused me to buy this pattern. Now I just need the fabric. I love both your versions.
6/2/10 10:01 AM
DorothyK said...
I'm guessing this will be the most popular dress of the year. You inspired everyone with your first version and now again. It is definitely on my list to do. I wish I had your height, though. You can really carry this style well.
6/2/10 10:14 AM
lamstu said...
I liked the first version and I like this one too. And I am so sad that I missed the PR weekend in my home town. (Sometimes travel is not so fun....) I'm not as tall as you are, but this dress looks really easy to wear. I'm thinking about it now.
6/2/10 10:27 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it on you, had to take a look at your other one, too! Looks great on you with those "long" legs!!! Lucky girl ........
6/2/10 10:45 AM
annie11 said...
Looks stunning! Okay, you've convinced me- next pattern sale, it's coming home with me.
6/2/10 11:35 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Very Nice! This is really a great dress. This fabric really gives it a different look. You can never go wrong with a TNT!
6/2/10 2:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous and really cute. Well done.
6/2/10 4:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
The "Allyn Dress" was definitely THE PR Weekend dress. I'm considering one myself, and I'm only 5'3". But of course, wicked shoes would take me up a few inches . . . I like this version as much as the first one. (And yes, you might be the first - all my fabric is pre-treated and I'm considering some of it, but I haven't sewn any yet!)
6/2/10 10:24 PM
Athene said...
Love your 2nd version also. When I saw your first one I had to buy the pattern.
6/3/10 3:29 AM
Geralyn said...
That dress has haunted me since PR weekend! This new version is just as awesome. I have some fabric (olive linen, prewashed to be "relaxed") from London Textiles that I am hesitant to try b/c I am afraid that I don't have enough fabric. Thanks for the tip on adjusting the torso. I was wondering how I could conserve fabric.
6/3/10 2:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5646 Misses Tunic
photo
Review by Doobee64 on 1/9/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)
Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7189
photo
Review by Pyrose on 8/14/06
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6913 Pattern
Burda 6913 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us