Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5106 (Bolero Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2149 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:shelmica
photo
About shelmicastar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/26/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/04 5:01 PM
Last Updated:4/24/04 5:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
The jacket looks beautiful on you. Thanks for the review.
4/24/04 5:23 PM
Diana M said...
Beautiful jacket -- very nicely done and a great looking fit. I love the closures you used -- was this the way the pattern was designed, or does it have buttonholes?
4/24/04 5:32 PM
jlg said...
Your jacket turned out great. Beautiful fit and fabric. This is one of my favorite patterns.
4/24/04 5:37 PM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
Beautiful jacket Shelmica, what did you use for closures? Very stylish...cheryl
4/24/04 6:26 PM
Liana said...
Very nice looking, and very flattering on you. Interesting closures. Are they buttons?
4/24/04 7:36 PM
shelmica said...
the closures were from H.A. Kidd and company, a Canadian button source. The are reallly neat - they sew on as buttons, but fit together in the centre like a hook.
4/24/04 7:51 PM
Karen Bowers said...
very nice jacket! i'm working on my first LH jacket now -- the bistro. it is amazing how much design she gets into such seemingly simple pieces.
4/24/04 9:08 PM
Ruth C said...
Lovely jacket! and the color looks great on you. I made this jacket for my sister and myself for last Christmas. Everytime I wear my jacket, I get compliments on how nice it looks--This is a great pattern.
4/24/04 10:25 PM
ChrisK said...
That is a fabulous jacket with a great fit, which, in by book, makes the pattern (11.20) worth every penny!!
4/25/04 2:49 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very nice jacket. Glad you are happy with it as it looks very good on you. Love the closures!
4/25/04 3:02 AM
Mariella said...
Your jacket looks terrific, Shelmica. I ordered this pattern just last week, having read the positive comments about it here. Oddly enough, I have the exact same closures; I'm also in Ontario and I got them to use on Loes Hinse's Retro Jacket (but decided to use traditional buttons instead). I thought they might be perfect for the Bolero jacket - great Canadian minds think alike! Did you order your pattern from the US or from Timmel's in N.S.?
4/25/04 6:57 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Great looking jacket! Those are perfect closures...I'm going to have to look and see if I can find any thing like that in this neck of the woods. I haven't tried the short version...I think I need to, now... ;)
4/25/04 7:23 AM
blue mooney said...
Very smart-looking jacket! Thanks for the review.
4/25/04 8:00 AM
JDpenelope said...
This jacket is a winner! Thanks for helpful review. I'm wonder if there are books on Loes Hins' sewing methods, or do you really need to go to a seminar, or are the instructions enough? Thanks.
4/25/04 9:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like this pattern and your version looks very nice. I like the front closing you used also. very helpful review.
4/25/04 4:00 PM
SewTwin said...
This is a great pic for a review.I do also appreciate your notes about height, weight, as us petite people are difficult to fit from just descriptions of patterns. However, it may just be jealousy, but I don't think you fit in plump division if you are 130 and over 40, Ha-52 for me! Thanks for all the details.
4/26/04 0:42 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great reveiw - appreciate your petite comments, love your jacket.
4/26/04 8:38 AM
Sew it seams said...
Shelmica, this is a beautiful jacket. It really looks nice on you. Thank you for your detailed review. I'm looking forward to seeing more from you!
4/26/04 9:07 AM
PVA said...
Absolutely beautiful! Looks like perfect blend of lady, fabric, pattern and talent. Thanks so much for the review and all the helpful hints about sizing for the petite mature woman. I've got to give this a go!
5/13/04 10:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Lazy Girl Designs 120 Chloe Handbag
photo
Review by JulieT on 7/19/06
Read Review

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6891
photo
Review by loti on 4/21/10
Read Review

Butterick 6630 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 6630 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us