SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5106 (Bolero Jacket)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2154 times 
Reviewed by:shelmica
photo

 
 
About shelmicastar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/26/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/04 5:01 PM
Last Updated:4/24/04 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
The jacket looks beautiful on you. Thanks for the review.
4/24/04 5:23 PM
Diana M said...
Beautiful jacket -- very nicely done and a great looking fit. I love the closures you used -- was this the way the pattern was designed, or does it have buttonholes?
4/24/04 5:32 PM
jlg said...
Your jacket turned out great. Beautiful fit and fabric. This is one of my favorite patterns.
4/24/04 5:37 PM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
Beautiful jacket Shelmica, what did you use for closures? Very stylish...cheryl
4/24/04 6:26 PM
Liana said...
Very nice looking, and very flattering on you. Interesting closures. Are they buttons?
4/24/04 7:36 PM
shelmica said...
the closures were from H.A. Kidd and company, a Canadian button source. The are reallly neat - they sew on as buttons, but fit together in the centre like a hook.
4/24/04 7:51 PM
Karen Bowers said...
very nice jacket! i'm working on my first LH jacket now -- the bistro. it is amazing how much design she gets into such seemingly simple pieces.
4/24/04 9:08 PM
Ruth C said...
Lovely jacket! and the color looks great on you. I made this jacket for my sister and myself for last Christmas. Everytime I wear my jacket, I get compliments on how nice it looks--This is a great pattern.
4/24/04 10:25 PM
ChrisK said...
That is a fabulous jacket with a great fit, which, in by book, makes the pattern (11.20) worth every penny!!
4/25/04 2:49 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very nice jacket. Glad you are happy with it as it looks very good on you. Love the closures!
4/25/04 3:02 AM
Mariella said...
Your jacket looks terrific, Shelmica. I ordered this pattern just last week, having read the positive comments about it here. Oddly enough, I have the exact same closures; I'm also in Ontario and I got them to use on Loes Hinse's Retro Jacket (but decided to use traditional buttons instead). I thought they might be perfect for the Bolero jacket - great Canadian minds think alike! Did you order your pattern from the US or from Timmel's in N.S.?
4/25/04 6:57 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Great looking jacket! Those are perfect closures...I'm going to have to look and see if I can find any thing like that in this neck of the woods. I haven't tried the short version...I think I need to, now... ;)
4/25/04 7:23 AM
blue mooney said...
Very smart-looking jacket! Thanks for the review.
4/25/04 8:00 AM
JDpenelope said...
This jacket is a winner! Thanks for helpful review. I'm wonder if there are books on Loes Hins' sewing methods, or do you really need to go to a seminar, or are the instructions enough? Thanks.
4/25/04 9:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like this pattern and your version looks very nice. I like the front closing you used also. very helpful review.
4/25/04 4:00 PM
SewTwin said...
This is a great pic for a review.I do also appreciate your notes about height, weight, as us petite people are difficult to fit from just descriptions of patterns. However, it may just be jealousy, but I don't think you fit in plump division if you are 130 and over 40, Ha-52 for me! Thanks for all the details.
4/26/04 0:42 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great reveiw - appreciate your petite comments, love your jacket.
4/26/04 8:38 AM
Sew it seams said...
Shelmica, this is a beautiful jacket. It really looks nice on you. Thank you for your detailed review. I'm looking forward to seeing more from you!
4/26/04 9:07 AM
PVA said...
Absolutely beautiful! Looks like perfect blend of lady, fabric, pattern and talent. Thanks so much for the review and all the helpful hints about sizing for the petite mature woman. I've got to give this a go!
5/13/04 10:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Kwik Sew 3527

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review