Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1099 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 699 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:lareine
photo
Friend of PR
About lareinestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 11/10/06
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/10 3:56 AM
Last Updated:6/6/10 8:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsue said...
Thanks for an honest review. I too have had similar experiences with Hot Patterns, and would not recommend them for a beginner at all. I understand your not wanting to continue, and I have "binned" a couple of patterns, and garments before they were even finished. Very disappointing..
6/4/10 0:48 AM
Kayseri said...
What a shame this didn't work, it sounds like you gave it a good go. Better luck next time.
6/4/10 5:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. If you wanted to try again you could find another shirt in the same style from other brands, especially McCalls, which have better instructions and less cluttered tissue.
6/4/10 6:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
You did the best you could possibly do with a difficult pattern. There are plenty of really nice shirt patterns available that won't be so hard to work with.
6/4/10 5:02 PM
Fran G said...
A sad experience for you! I've never sewn a HP and the unfortunate reviews do not encourage me to do so. I am sure you can find a pattern that works much better for you.
6/5/10 7:56 AM
sewmoesew said...
I too have found HP to be very difficult. I have found that the patterns I've made, the wrist (cuffs) are always too small.
6/5/10 5:08 PM
lareine said...
Thanks all for the comments. I do have some other shirt patterns that I am going to try, and I've emailed HotPatterns with the problems that I found. At the very least, they need to look at the quality control of their printing process. Glad it's not only me who had the too-small cuffs issue!
6/6/10 2:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7015 Pattern
Burda 7015 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Creative Thimble Professional Tote
photo
Review by Mrs. Colum... on 9/16/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us