Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Japonesque Top (Japonesque Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1476 times 6 more reviews
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/02 7:05 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
How was the sizing? I like a lot of the Sewing Workshop patterns but I'm starting to come to the conclusion the styles aren't right for my petite body (short and slender).
5/25/02 7:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think this one could work for tiny, little you, but I'd sure tissue fit before cutting. I'm tall and brad-shouldered...
5/25/02 9:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I would love to see a finished garment photo if you can because I have this fabric too! This sounds like an interesting pattern-fabric match I hadn't thought of. Now I'll be taking a second look at this pattern. Thanks for your comments!
5/26/02 11:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I started but never quite finished this garmet because I'm having some serious problems with fraying. I used a a very loose weave linen. Anyhow, I totally agree that it's important to use color coded tacks and keep the pattern pieces attached to the fabric until you're ready to sew. I find this the case will all Sewing Workshop patterns. Did you use their method of hemming with the tag board template? I got really frustrated with this. I thought it was so tedious! I ended up hemming the garment by pinning and pressing at the ironing board.
5/27/02 2:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this top years ago out of cheapy rayon fabric, thinking it wouldn't come out right and I wouldn't have wasted any of my good stash. The results were fabulous, as Mary Ann attests, even in cheapy rayon fabric! I still wear the top to this day and get compliments. The pocket is a fabulous detail, and I agree that the instructions make construction/application very clear. I think this pattern would look good in just about any fabric, but is especially flattering in softer ones such as lightweight wools and knits. As for sizing, I'm 5'3" so I used the size small length, except in front pieces, which I cut to the size large length to accommodate my bust. I also cut the sleeves and yoke in size small. I'm planning to do this top again in lightweight wool with a matching straight skirt for a non-traditional business suit (the only kind I like). Happy sewing!
9/16/02 7:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-110
photo
Review by SusiM on 1/26/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 100
photo
Review by Leu on 12/27/11
Read Review

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 12 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 12 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9649 Pattern
Burda 9649 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us