SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Japonesque Top (Japonesque Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1477 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo

 
 
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/02 7:05 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
How was the sizing? I like a lot of the Sewing Workshop patterns but I'm starting to come to the conclusion the styles aren't right for my petite body (short and slender).
5/25/02 7:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think this one could work for tiny, little you, but I'd sure tissue fit before cutting. I'm tall and brad-shouldered...
5/25/02 9:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I would love to see a finished garment photo if you can because I have this fabric too! This sounds like an interesting pattern-fabric match I hadn't thought of. Now I'll be taking a second look at this pattern. Thanks for your comments!
5/26/02 11:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I started but never quite finished this garmet because I'm having some serious problems with fraying. I used a a very loose weave linen. Anyhow, I totally agree that it's important to use color coded tacks and keep the pattern pieces attached to the fabric until you're ready to sew. I find this the case will all Sewing Workshop patterns. Did you use their method of hemming with the tag board template? I got really frustrated with this. I thought it was so tedious! I ended up hemming the garment by pinning and pressing at the ironing board.
5/27/02 2:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this top years ago out of cheapy rayon fabric, thinking it wouldn't come out right and I wouldn't have wasted any of my good stash. The results were fabulous, as Mary Ann attests, even in cheapy rayon fabric! I still wear the top to this day and get compliments. The pocket is a fabulous detail, and I agree that the instructions make construction/application very clear. I think this pattern would look good in just about any fabric, but is especially flattering in softer ones such as lightweight wools and knits. As for sizing, I'm 5'3" so I used the size small length, except in front pieces, which I cut to the size large length to accommodate my bust. I also cut the sleeves and yoke in size small. I'm planning to do this top again in lightweight wool with a matching straight skirt for a non-traditional business suit (the only kind I like). Happy sewing!
9/16/02 7:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now