SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Japonesque Top (Japonesque Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1477 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo

 
 
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/02 7:05 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
How was the sizing? I like a lot of the Sewing Workshop patterns but I'm starting to come to the conclusion the styles aren't right for my petite body (short and slender).
5/25/02 7:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think this one could work for tiny, little you, but I'd sure tissue fit before cutting. I'm tall and brad-shouldered...
5/25/02 9:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I would love to see a finished garment photo if you can because I have this fabric too! This sounds like an interesting pattern-fabric match I hadn't thought of. Now I'll be taking a second look at this pattern. Thanks for your comments!
5/26/02 11:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I started but never quite finished this garmet because I'm having some serious problems with fraying. I used a a very loose weave linen. Anyhow, I totally agree that it's important to use color coded tacks and keep the pattern pieces attached to the fabric until you're ready to sew. I find this the case will all Sewing Workshop patterns. Did you use their method of hemming with the tag board template? I got really frustrated with this. I thought it was so tedious! I ended up hemming the garment by pinning and pressing at the ironing board.
5/27/02 2:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this top years ago out of cheapy rayon fabric, thinking it wouldn't come out right and I wouldn't have wasted any of my good stash. The results were fabulous, as Mary Ann attests, even in cheapy rayon fabric! I still wear the top to this day and get compliments. The pocket is a fabulous detail, and I agree that the instructions make construction/application very clear. I think this pattern would look good in just about any fabric, but is especially flattering in softer ones such as lightweight wools and knits. As for sizing, I'm 5'3" so I used the size small length, except in front pieces, which I cut to the size large length to accommodate my bust. I also cut the sleeves and yoke in size small. I'm planning to do this top again in lightweight wool with a matching straight skirt for a non-traditional business suit (the only kind I like). Happy sewing!
9/16/02 7:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6922

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 3956

photo
by: Byrdie

Review