Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 426 (Shirred Top & Princess Wrap) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 690 times 59 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
About ryan's momstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/10 10:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I love your new top and what a thoughtful tribute to Shannon Gifford.
6/4/10 0:54 AM
Aixoise said...
Your top fits superbly (you've a great figure, too). Yes, a very thoughtful tribute to Shannon Gifford. As for the pattern, it's on my list to buy 'n' try. Must order it. Thanks for the detailed review.
6/4/10 1:03 AM
poorpigling said...
I really like this top too.. can't wait to see your variations on it.. Lovely of you to give credit and rememberance to Shannon...
6/4/10 2:27 AM
LynnRowe said...
Love your new top, what a beautiful tribute to Shannon. The fabric & fit are just perfect!
6/4/10 8:27 AM
mhk3boys said...
Very pretty top! Your fit and colors are great!
6/4/10 8:35 AM
Patti B said...
You look fabulous in this top -- wooeee. You have now joined the Christine Jonson fan club -- this is a great pattern. I like that the crossover never becomes too revealing. Very sweet and true words you said about Shannon.
6/4/10 10:01 AM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful top!!! Great fabric choice. I did the same top in a silver stretch crushed velvet - it was perfect for holiday events.
6/4/10 10:28 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice. And your thanks to Shannon hit home. I wouldn't know anything about fit except for Shannon. Her classes were the best and the fact that she shared herself almost 24-7 during the classes and was online an astonishing amount of time was what illustrated how fine a person she was. I too think of her whenever I think of sewing or come to PR. But you know, this memory bank lives on and everything she was was a great example of how to BE. So don't be too sad, but carry the knowledge and Shannon's spirit to someone else! I know you can because you are a good person and were a great classmate!
6/4/10 10:50 AM
Skymom said...
You've inspired me to get this pattern out and make another. I did the same as you: made a small in fabric that wasn't quite stretchy enough, and ended up with a very close-fitting top. Since I used a polyl/spandex knit, I've been wearing it as a swim shirt over my bathing suit to keep the sun off, but I should make a real top, too!
6/4/10 10:52 AM
JodieT said...
Your top looks great.
6/4/10 11:10 AM
Barbara3 said...
Great review and beautiful top, ryan's mom. I'm another who was touched by Shannon, with her wonderful classes and personalized advice. I, too, still think of her when I sew. Thanks for mentioning her here.
6/4/10 7:07 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm a returning sewist so really appriciate the reviews outside of the "big 4". It's important to me that instructions are well written. This top looks really great on you with a perfect fit.
6/5/10 7:13 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a beautiful top. I love the princess seams. I must make this!
6/5/10 12:10 PM
Robin Denning said...
Your version of this top is wonderful. You got a perfect fit - and it's cool how the fabric reflects just a little bit to show the details of the pattern. I know what you mean about Shannon. I took every class she offered and I have a 3-ring binder on the shelf with her name on it "Shannon Gifford Classes". I learned so much from her and I she shows up in my sewing, too.
6/5/10 9:44 PM
kim*brown said...
Girl, I need you to write up my reviews, you are awesome! Pretty top too!
6/7/10 10:46 PM
Diane E said...
Terrific review and beautiful top. As others have said, what a lovely tribute to Shannon.
6/10/10 1:09 PM
BeckyC said...
Thanks for the great review on this top. Your dedication to Shannon is heartfelt. I too credit her for all she taught us in the t-shirt class and how my shirts now turn out so well. I frequently look at my notes from her classes and feel such a loss of such a wonderful sewing instructor and resource. She will live on in all of us she taught.
10/26/12 10:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4142
photo
Review by sewnaomi on 7/5/13
Read Review

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2005-102 Coat
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/15/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us