SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 426 (Shirred Top & Princess Wrap)

59 more reviews
Viewed 702 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/10 10:48 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeckyC said...
Thanks for the great review on this top. Your dedication to Shannon is heartfelt. I too credit her for all she taught us in the t-shirt class and how my shirts now turn out so well. I frequently look at my notes from her classes and feel such a loss of such a wonderful sewing instructor and resource. She will live on in all of us she taught.
10/26/12 10:14 PM
Diane E said...
Terrific review and beautiful top. As others have said, what a lovely tribute to Shannon.
6/10/10 1:09 PM
kim*brown said...
Girl, I need you to write up my reviews, you are awesome! Pretty top too!
6/7/10 10:46 PM
Robin Denning said...
Your version of this top is wonderful. You got a perfect fit - and it's cool how the fabric reflects just a little bit to show the details of the pattern. I know what you mean about Shannon. I took every class she offered and I have a 3-ring binder on the shelf with her name on it "Shannon Gifford Classes". I learned so much from her and I she shows up in my sewing, too.
6/5/10 9:44 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a beautiful top. I love the princess seams. I must make this!
6/5/10 12:10 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm a returning sewist so really appriciate the reviews outside of the "big 4". It's important to me that instructions are well written. This top looks really great on you with a perfect fit.
6/5/10 7:13 AM
Barbara3 said...
Great review and beautiful top, ryan's mom. I'm another who was touched by Shannon, with her wonderful classes and personalized advice. I, too, still think of her when I sew. Thanks for mentioning her here.
6/4/10 7:07 PM
JodieT said...
Your top looks great.
6/4/10 11:10 AM
Skymom said...
You've inspired me to get this pattern out and make another. I did the same as you: made a small in fabric that wasn't quite stretchy enough, and ended up with a very close-fitting top. Since I used a polyl/spandex knit, I've been wearing it as a swim shirt over my bathing suit to keep the sun off, but I should make a real top, too!
6/4/10 10:52 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice. And your thanks to Shannon hit home. I wouldn't know anything about fit except for Shannon. Her classes were the best and the fact that she shared herself almost 24-7 during the classes and was online an astonishing amount of time was what illustrated how fine a person she was. I too think of her whenever I think of sewing or come to PR. But you know, this memory bank lives on and everything she was was a great example of how to BE. So don't be too sad, but carry the knowledge and Shannon's spirit to someone else! I know you can because you are a good person and were a great classmate!
6/4/10 10:50 AM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful top!!! Great fabric choice. I did the same top in a silver stretch crushed velvet - it was perfect for holiday events.
6/4/10 10:28 AM
Patti B said...
You look fabulous in this top -- wooeee. You have now joined the Christine Jonson fan club -- this is a great pattern. I like that the crossover never becomes too revealing. Very sweet and true words you said about Shannon.
6/4/10 10:01 AM
mhk3boys said...
Very pretty top! Your fit and colors are great!
6/4/10 8:35 AM
LynnRowe said...
Love your new top, what a beautiful tribute to Shannon. The fabric & fit are just perfect!
6/4/10 8:27 AM
poorpigling said...
I really like this top too.. can't wait to see your variations on it.. Lovely of you to give credit and rememberance to Shannon...
6/4/10 2:27 AM
Aixoise said...
Your top fits superbly (you've a great figure, too). Yes, a very thoughtful tribute to Shannon Gifford. As for the pattern, it's on my list to buy 'n' try. Must order it. Thanks for the detailed review.
6/4/10 1:03 AM
homejewel said...
I love your new top and what a thoughtful tribute to Shannon Gifford.
6/4/10 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1012

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Simplicity 2603

photo
by: MishaB

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

More Info