Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2010-124 (Jerkin/Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 298 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/10 3:38 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
AS USUAL, a SUPERB review. I ESPECIALLY like the new info (to me) on the welt pockets, complete with pictures. I didn't think about it until you said it, that there would be four layers of fabric on the front of this vest. That is a lot! I LOVE your end result, though, and I don't think it's "stuffy" at all. The striped lining and bias trim add an element of surprise and fun. NOW I'm curious to see if you really ARE going to sandpaper it. :o)) I hope you wear this on your next safari to Starbuck's! :o)
6/4/10 3:57 PM
JillyBe said...
Wonderful review, and a big thank you for the welt info! I just attempted a welt pocket from one of those "run for the hills" instruction sheets; you've given me hope! ;-D
6/4/10 4:09 PM
Christas said...
Oh, Catbird, just HIDE it in a box with my address on the top of it!!! I LOVE it! You have done a gorgeous job of sewing it. I think it is PERFECTIMUNGO! Thanks for the wonderful review and especially the extra welt pocket info!
6/4/10 4:36 PM
Seaspur said...
Your work is superb, the vest looks fabulous and the review was very informative!
6/4/10 4:36 PM
Karendee said...
You have again made another wonderful garment that looks so good on you. Despite your trials along the way, the outcome is perfect and so flattering. Your review was so thorough and I learn so much from each of your posts. As others have said, the welt pockets info. is a great tutorial and has been saved to the appropriate folder. What I really admire about your work is your persistence and attention to the smallest detail; perhaps that is why your outcomes are always so outstanding. I'm still laughing about your safari to Starbucks!!!!
6/4/10 4:49 PM
sew2little said...
I love love love the bias binding on this altogether great vest!
6/4/10 5:10 PM
BJ1400 said...
I LOVE your vest! The lining & the bias binding look great. I have this issue of the mag & never gave that vest a second look, but now I want to make one like yours. Thanks for the review.
6/4/10 5:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Would it be okay if I just say DITTO? Wow, I am in awe!!! It turned out beautifully. I am glad you have made peace with it.
6/4/10 6:05 PM
annie11 said...
I absolutely love this. All of your special touches make this just gorgeous.
6/4/10 6:46 PM
MNBarb said...
The pattern sounds like a nightmare. I'm not even a vest person and yours makes me want to have one. it's really beautiful.
6/4/10 8:03 PM
Twinset said...
Well, this is a beautifully made vest with some special details! And thanks for the super helfpul review and for recommending a light fabric!
6/4/10 11:05 PM
sugarduck said...
I love the way this turned out. You were right about the top-stitching; it looks great with the style of the vest. I like your scarf, too! ;-)
6/5/10 4:50 AM
Maree P said...
Dear Catbird....I always admire your work and this is no exception ...so dare I say I think you are wrong...this vest is so chic and beautifully made.
6/5/10 6:48 AM
eugenia123 said...
What a fabulous vest. The style is so interesting and I think that your choice of fabrics perfectly highlights the wonderful construction lines of this piece. As always your work is impeccable and the overall look is totally awesome - it looks like a very expensive, designer garment. I love it!
6/6/10 12:28 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful !!!! All appologises for missing so many of your wonderful reviews. this vest is awsome. I love it... funny thing, I am tracing the other version this afternoon ;-)
6/6/10 12:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a knockout of a vest with delectable details! I like your comment about Burda's welt instructions and I totally agree. Thank you for an enjoyable and informative review!
6/9/10 2:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7442 Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 2/1/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1204
photo
Review by goosegreen on 8/15/12
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us