SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 59269 (My Hearts a'Flutter)

13 more reviews
Viewed 566 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/10 10:19 PM
Last Updated:8/28/10 3:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Martha, I have made two muslins of this top which looks wonderful on others. So far, it's a 'miss' for me. I like the stitched down facings but had other problems with fit.
6/6/10 11:07 AM
AdaH said...
sorry it's not working out. i have this pattern, but have not madfe it yet. thanks to your review i will definitely make a muslin.
6/6/10 12:50 PM
grey ann said...
As a shorter woman, I often find a top fits better if I take in 1/4-1/2" between the shoulder and armscye notch, on both front and back. Might this solve your problem?
6/8/10 3:49 PM
marthamyers said...
grey ann, thanks for the suggestion. I'll give that a try with the muslin.
6/9/10 10:37 AM
jintie said...
Grey ann, I did that also and it is a good fit. Marthamyers, you might want to add it back at the waist seam as a precaution if you are not actually short. You can cut it off later if it makes the waist too low. I usually make a FBA on the big 4 but didn't here - just got away with it I think. But next time (definitely a next time) I will drop the bust dart point down- possibly it's too high at present because I took that horizontal fold out above it). You need to use a natural fabric (eg cotton or linen) as the polycotton (or it may be fully poly) that I used makes the shell less drapey than it should be.
6/29/10 9:39 AM
sew2little said...
Martha--I appreciate your postings about this pattern, as I too have in waiting in my pattern stash. The batik is lovely--and the top is, I think, more than merely wearable.
8/28/10 7:09 PM
grey ann said...
An update: I have made this pattern twice. I found I didn't have to take the 1/4" out of the upper bodice. I did have to narrow the shoulder and I scooped the neck slightly, then redrew the facings. As a rule, I prefer binding, but the facing on the linen I used looked so smart, and I love her mitered hem. I'm sorry it didn't work for you Martha.
9/29/11 4:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fashion in Harmony 803

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Butterick 5764

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now