SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8248 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SHIRT)

12 more reviews
Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 165
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/10 3:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
missyyz said...
Inspiring review and great pictures. Wonderfully finished and fitted. Bravo. I think I'll invest in this pattern.
6/23/10 6:57 PM
Karendee said...
Thanks for the info. about serging on this top.
6/8/10 5:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Your blouses are really nice. It looks like with your careful alterations and changes, you created prefectly fitting tops. Great work!
6/8/10 10:37 AM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Karendee, I do own a serger and its even threaded with black thread, but I guess I felt like using the French seams because of the sheerness of the fabric. I guess I was being hoity toity. ;) I did serge the side seams, though, which works much better with the underarm curve.
6/7/10 2:24 PM
Karendee said...
Shams, these two shirts that look wonderful on you, especially the flattering black one. I also really like the dart adaptation for a newer, easier look. I purchased this pattern, also at the last big online sale and it is in the line to sew. Your finished shirts certainly spur me on. Do you use a serger at all, or just the french seams treatments? Both the fabrics are also lovely and your review is just packed full of information. Thanks.
6/7/10 1:58 PM
Fran G said...
Both look great on you although I lean toward the black! I like the sleeve length on the black, but the white is very flattering, too. Isn't Louise's/Barbara Hellyers collar wonderful?I like your idea of eliminating the darts in favor of tucks. I think this is worthy of becoming a TNT!
6/7/10 7:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on both versions. Love that black fabric!
6/6/10 2:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking top! Very nice fit.
6/6/10 12:48 PM
DorothyK said...
You have great vision for adapting patterns for style and fit. I like both versions. The black fabric is fantastic. It's great the way you incorporate new methods of doing things into your projects.
6/6/10 12:14 PM
Patti B said...
Both blouses are beautiful. I had not noticed this pattern so thanks for pointing it out. I always enjoy your detailed reviews -- they inspire. And if you find more of that black fabric, buy me some! VBG
6/6/10 10:58 AM
marthamyers said...
Great use of this pattern. I love the idea of replacing fish eye darts with tucks. And your work is beautiful. Thanks for sharing the detailed review. Nice work!
6/6/10 8:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Other Gertie\'s Book:

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now