Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8248 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SHIRT) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 431 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/10 3:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
Great use of this pattern. I love the idea of replacing fish eye darts with tucks. And your work is beautiful. Thanks for sharing the detailed review. Nice work!
6/6/10 8:20 AM
Patti B said...
Both blouses are beautiful. I had not noticed this pattern so thanks for pointing it out. I always enjoy your detailed reviews -- they inspire. And if you find more of that black fabric, buy me some! VBG
6/6/10 10:58 AM
DorothyK said...
You have great vision for adapting patterns for style and fit. I like both versions. The black fabric is fantastic. It's great the way you incorporate new methods of doing things into your projects.
6/6/10 12:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking top! Very nice fit.
6/6/10 12:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on both versions. Love that black fabric!
6/6/10 2:59 PM
Fran G said...
Both look great on you although I lean toward the black! I like the sleeve length on the black, but the white is very flattering, too. Isn't Louise's/Barbara Hellyers collar wonderful?I like your idea of eliminating the darts in favor of tucks. I think this is worthy of becoming a TNT!
6/7/10 7:12 AM
Karendee said...
Shams, these two shirts that look wonderful on you, especially the flattering black one. I also really like the dart adaptation for a newer, easier look. I purchased this pattern, also at the last big online sale and it is in the line to sew. Your finished shirts certainly spur me on. Do you use a serger at all, or just the french seams treatments? Both the fabrics are also lovely and your review is just packed full of information. Thanks.
6/7/10 1:58 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Karendee, I do own a serger and its even threaded with black thread, but I guess I felt like using the French seams because of the sheerness of the fabric. I guess I was being hoity toity. ;) I did serge the side seams, though, which works much better with the underarm curve.
6/7/10 2:24 PM
Barbara V said...
Your blouses are really nice. It looks like with your careful alterations and changes, you created prefectly fitting tops. Great work!
6/8/10 10:37 AM
Karendee said...
Thanks for the info. about serging on this top.
6/8/10 5:15 PM
missyyz said...
Inspiring review and great pictures. Wonderfully finished and fitted. Bravo. I think I'll invest in this pattern.
6/23/10 6:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 2532
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/5/11
Read Review

McCalls 5248 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5248 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1607 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1607 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5669 Unlined jacket
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 9/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us