Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8248 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SHIRT)

12 more reviews
Viewed 436 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews: 174 (patterns: 174)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/10 3:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
missyyz said... (6/23/10 6:57 PM) Reply
Inspiring review and great pictures. Wonderfully finished and fitted. Bravo. I think I'll invest in this pattern.
Karendee said... (6/8/10 5:15 PM) Reply
Thanks for the info. about serging on this top.
Barbara V said... (6/8/10 10:37 AM) Reply
Your blouses are really nice. It looks like with your careful alterations and changes, you created prefectly fitting tops. Great work!
sfshaza said... (6/7/10 2:24 PM) Reply
Thanks, everyone! Karendee, I do own a serger and its even threaded with black thread, but I guess I felt like using the French seams because of the sheerness of the fabric. I guess I was being hoity toity. ;) I did serge the side seams, though, which works much better with the underarm curve.
Karendee said... (6/7/10 1:58 PM) Reply
Shams, these two shirts that look wonderful on you, especially the flattering black one. I also really like the dart adaptation for a newer, easier look. I purchased this pattern, also at the last big online sale and it is in the line to sew. Your finished shirts certainly spur me on. Do you use a serger at all, or just the french seams treatments? Both the fabrics are also lovely and your review is just packed full of information. Thanks.
Fran G said... (6/7/10 7:12 AM) Reply
Both look great on you although I lean toward the black! I like the sleeve length on the black, but the white is very flattering, too. Isn't Louise's/Barbara Hellyers collar wonderful?I like your idea of eliminating the darts in favor of tucks. I think this is worthy of becoming a TNT!
CarolynGM said... (6/6/10 2:59 PM) Reply
Great job on both versions. Love that black fabric!
Heatherrique said... (6/6/10 12:48 PM) Reply
Sharp looking top! Very nice fit.
DorothyK said... (6/6/10 12:14 PM) Reply
You have great vision for adapting patterns for style and fit. I like both versions. The black fabric is fantastic. It's great the way you incorporate new methods of doing things into your projects.
Patti B said... (6/6/10 10:58 AM) Reply
Both blouses are beautiful. I had not noticed this pattern so thanks for pointing it out. I always enjoy your detailed reviews -- they inspire. And if you find more of that black fabric, buy me some! VBG
marthamyers said... (6/6/10 8:20 AM) Reply
Great use of this pattern. I love the idea of replacing fish eye darts with tucks. And your work is beautiful. Thanks for sharing the detailed review. Nice work!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1877

photo
by: nanneke

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2508

photo
by: Kay Y

Review