SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3555 (Shirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/10 8:27 PM
Last Updated:7/23/10 3:25 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Beautiful, beautiful shirt. I also would have trouble with the 1/4 in SA but I think I'm going to try out this shirt in the fall. Happy traveling.
6/16/10 8:47 PM
MNBarb said...
Ooh, beautiful fabric. I love your reviews. I feel like you either are or were a teacher. Good details. Kwik Sew is just where I would go for a nice basic pattern like this. Yours is lovely. Thanks for the humor and sorry I can't help with the yoke-fitting issue. Somehow, I don't think weight gain would show up first on your back.
6/16/10 9:19 PM
FreyaStark said...
MNBarb, thanks for your comment. What I mean is that recent weight gain makes me look as if I need an FBA, yet I know the problem is not my proportions but my measurements - if you follow me. It's possible that I have also become round shouldered so maybe that is what I need to compensate for, as well as losing weight.
6/16/10 9:52 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful shirt, beautiful fabric. I must make up the K-S shirt pattern that I have - you've inspired me.
6/16/10 9:56 PM
Annette1 said...
This truly is a wonderful pattern for a straightforward, basic shirt, yet a BEAUTIFUL one in this pretty fabric. I had not even noticed this pattern until seeing your review here. I'm with you on the 1/4" seam allowances. :o( I hate them.
6/17/10 0:10 AM
Kayabunga said...
Fantastic shirt! You've inspired me to get this pattern too. Could I suggest using a 1/4" presser foot that quilters use? In my experience it makes sewing 1/4" seams a gazillion times easier since you just have to make sure that the fabric edge is lined up against the foot edge. Once you get used to the smaller seams it really is easier to be accurate, especially on collars and such.
6/17/10 3:45 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, Kayabunga. I'll look into it. Part of my trouble with the narrow seam allowance was that it is actually a tad narrower than my favourite presser foot, so that it was hard to see what I was doing.
6/17/10 4:48 AM
starryfish said...
Lovely shirt, what a helpful review! I am planning to make this one, and I think I will trace out larger SA as you suggest.
6/17/10 6:11 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Beautiful! I love the side view picture that shows the delightful curve on the bottom of the shirt. Fabric is wonderful. Very nice job. Excellent ideas for altering the pattern to your specifications.
6/17/10 6:27 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I love that paisley! such rich colors. Great review... pretty pretty shirt....
6/17/10 7:21 AM
CarolynGM said...
What! A great shirt pattern that I missed? Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I agree about the 1/4 inch SAs. Great job on your shirt.
6/17/10 8:27 AM
JanieBee said...
Gorgeous! Be proud!
6/17/10 8:49 AM
Knitz said...
Nicely done -- looks like a good basic for any wardrobe.
6/17/10 9:13 AM
Mini said...
Fab shirt, and in addition to your sewing talents, you must be psychic as well. I just bought this pattern, and thought how cool it would be if FreyaStark had reviewed it. Then I checked here and you had! I have made a muslin of the front and back, and oddly enough had the same yoke issue. My solution was to use the yoke seam as fitting point, by adding a bit of curvature to mold the back a little more to the "padding" across my upper back. But adding a bit of width as you did works too. I think this pattern was drafted for the youthful very straight "misses" back, not the puffy "mature" back that I have:). Otherwise the fit was perfect and I hope my finished shirt looks as good as yours.
6/17/10 9:22 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wonderful
6/17/10 11:39 AM
Maree P said...
This is a great shirt pattern - one I wasn't aware of - so thanks Freya. Your liberty fabric is just lovely. Enjoy your holiday - this shirt is perfect for it.
6/17/10 10:34 PM
persevering said...
What a lovely fabric and beautiful shirt! Thanks for your review, much appreciated.
6/18/10 1:19 PM
Big in Japan said...
Great fabric and very well done shirt. I like the idea of gathering a bit at the CB, a little design interest, but not too fussy. Thumbs up!
6/18/10 9:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Lively and lovely! The paisleys are cool!
6/19/10 6:30 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Another beautiful shirt! You have finally inspired me to try one. I have it all cut out but stalled as I made a mistake. Will have to get back to it - though of course your fabric is SO much nicer!!!
6/21/10 6:03 AM
Annette1 said...
:o) Hey, I like this PSYCHEDELIC VEGETABLE GARDEN, and there's nothing hideous about it! :o) Sometimes a bright and cheerful print is just what you need, and this one fits the bill. Very nice fit that you've achieved, too. :o)
7/7/10 0:09 AM
jannw said...
Fantastic shirts...I love the yellow silk...they all look great. This may be my first KwikSew pattern. Thanx for all the info
7/23/10 7:35 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Ohhh I love the pretty shirt. I really like that the front bands are finished shirt styled. I am finding with my much worn everyday shirts that the fusible iron on stuff gets all stringy looking before the shirt is worn out. I think I need to use a pattern without the facings that has real shirt bands like this in the future. Your construction and fabric on this one is outstanding.
7/23/10 8:57 AM
Annette1 said...
Who could RESIST this FABRIC! I could hardly wait to click on the thumbnail. :o) The FIT is just PERFECT.
7/23/10 1:40 PM
RLL said...
Oh yea, love this 'sunny' fabric.
7/23/10 1:54 PM
Maree P said...
Just perfect collar and stand Freya.
7/23/10 6:59 PM
marthamyers said...
I love your yellow version - elegant and cheerful at the same time. And the fit is great. Nice work!
7/24/10 3:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 6032

photo
by: tinflutter...

Review