Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Stretch & Sew: F845 (Women's and Girls swimsuit) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1807 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR
About JDpenelopestarstar
KS USA
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/04 9:40 PM
Last Updated:8/28/04 2:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
The suit looks very cute. I'd like to see the adult version if you make it.
4/25/04 11:12 PM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Pretty pretty fabric. Good for you going for the gusto a swimsuit is something that even long time seamsters avoid. I am sad to hear about your serger hopefully the shop won’t ding you to bad was it a looper that was bent? Check to see if they are replacing it not just bending it back if they try to bend it you will have future problems. A serger's timing has to be set very accurately is has a lot of moving parts going at once so a looper that has been manipulated back to shape will still be off. Again I am so sad that happened to you but you were kind to pass on the info. You had asked on my review for my "beefy Skirt" haha if Style patterns were still available Style was put out by Simplicity but it appears they are no longer manufacturing this brand. To Bad they had some cute stuff. I hope Have fun on your next project your doing great. Betty Jo (Sewinstuff)
4/26/04 2:18 AM
JDpenelope said...
Mikkim, Thanks! I'm having trouble getting started sewing for myself! (Need to sew for OTHER dgd now --age 2). But have learned enough that I'm probably ready...almost! Sewin Stuff You are so kind to encourage me--that really helps to buck a person up! I don't know the technical term, but the "needle-prong" thing is attached to the plate--in the initial diagnosis they gave me, it wasn't the loopers. The machine is under warranty for 5 years and the dealer is reputable, but thanks for the warning! I really miss my serger, since I sew stretch and knit fabrics only right now.
4/26/04 5:01 AM
lilhoney57 said...
I love the fabric. I sew swim suits all the time for my 2 dd's who are on the swim team. I always line the front- just cut out another front piece on lining fabric, hand baste in seam allowance, then treat as one. Very nice!
4/26/04 8:24 AM
Julie Ann said...
Beautiful job, I'm looking forward to your review of the adult size. I just bought a bunch of swimsuit fabric from a a coop and I am searching for patterns.
4/26/04 11:56 AM
Motorposus said...
It's a beautiful suit, and beautifully lined, so you certainly deserve credit for it, even if it was too snug. You also deserve tons of credit for keeping at it. Stretch fabrics can be kind of a crapshoot sometimes. By spring, you'll probably be dying to try again!
8/28/04 3:01 PM
alicia said...
I admire your perseverence!!! Beautiful work.
8/28/04 3:17 PM
KathleenS said...
Your suit looks great; it's a pity it was too small. I'm Southern Hemisphere so this review is definitely interesting to me :)
8/28/04 5:06 PM
cindyann said...
I can relate to the frustrations of swimsuit sewing! So many tries, so few good results. Your final version does look quite becoming on you though. The bust line does not look compressed, but the comfort tells it all. It's a wonderful style and a flattering, modest suit, but still manages to look current. Well done.
8/28/04 5:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Penelope, you are one gorgeous woman! :-) The suit looks great -- front view AND back! Too bad it squishes, but it certainly looks like it fits in your photos. I'm Northern Hemisphere but southern US, so bathing suits are timely 10 months out of 12. Well done!
8/29/04 5:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful suit Penelope. The fabric and the style are both very beautiful and flattering. And what perseverance you have to keep perfecting the fit through 3 suitsl.
8/29/04 11:37 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
This is a challenging pattern! I've been sewing my own swimsuits for a few years now, always from the Kwik Sew master pattern, so when I saw this pattern on sale, I decided to give it a try just for a change. It's much harder, partly because of the zipper in the back - adding an extra 1/4" to the seam allowance seems to make it easiar - and probably fits best on, shall we say, a very young and athletic figure. I'll go back to Kwik Sew, it has a more forgiving fit for a 46 year old body.
7/8/05 11:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Patrones Magazine 286-25 Jocavi Blouse
photo
Review by calcedonia on 3/28/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7608 Jeans
photo
Review by Diane E on 9/10/03
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Cap Sleeve Dress Pattern
Loes Hinse Cap Sleeve Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7129 Pattern
Burda 7129 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us